We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel we left disappointed. On checking in we were taken to our room which entailed a trip through a bar, down a corridor, through a meeting room into a type of annex. First impression of the room was clean until I dropped an earring on the floor only to notice the cleaning was not that good, lots of dust and cobwebs!! We were quite surprised to turn the bed clothes to find sheets and blankets!!! On wanting to leave the hotel to go out for the evening and taking the route back the way we were taken, we found there was a meeting in progress in the room we had to go through to get back to reception! Not ideal for guests in a hotel. Fortunately having looked around we found a door which took us in to the car park, no thanks to the hotel staff. Breakfast was average. Service from reception on checkout poor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grahams1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stushep, Owner at Best Western Shrubbery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Good Evening, My name is Stuart Shepherd, I am the manager of the Shrubbery Hotel.
I have read your comments, and can only make apologies for any of the problems you had,
The hotel is a converted Victorian house and has difficult areas to get to.

I am sorry about cobwebs or dust , I have a good housekeeping staff, and , and I shall obviously make sure your comments are made to the head housekeeper,

You should have been told about the meeting.
We have a long debate about blankets and duvets,, some like one the other like the other,
Please accept my apologies and I hop you can visit us again when we can show you our full potential,
Regards
Stuart Shepherd
0146052108

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had an executive room for an overnight stay. It was large,bright and spotless with a pleasant view marred by an empty swimming pool in a state of disrepair. There were none of the usual little 'extras' often found in this category of room. The hotel lacked 'atmosphere' and one got the impression that it was struggling. In the evening there were insufficient staff to deal with a wide range of duties and the only two visible, worked extremely hard. Breakfast, served in a very pleasant dining room, was totally satisfactory.
We would need to see some changes, before returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We'd never tried The Shrubbery Hotel before but it seemed a good option for the rate we paid for a room only.

For once my Diamond Card was acknowledged at Reception for an upgrade and we were offered a very nice room albeit at the front of the Hotel overlooking the minor road into Ilminster but it was a decent size, had a comfy four poster bed, lounge area and an excellent bathroom.

Clearly this hotel has a thriving business meeting side to its operation glancing at the "What's on" board/banner in reception which seemed pretty full and on the night we were at the hotel there were two functions on; this didn't affect the service we received.

We were down in Somerset on business and needed to use our 7.5 tonne truck and found the car park to be very amenable to parking so if you have a larger vehicle the Shrubbery car park should be more than adequate.

The gardens have a nice outlook at the rear although the swimming pool seems to be in disrepair and sectioned off by railings which didn't add to the outlook BUT overall the setting was nice and relaxing when we went for a walk before dinner.

Like many Best Western hotels the friendly chap on Reception was the same person who served us at the Bar before dinner - we relaxed to a nice drink and considered the Set Menu Dinner option; it looked good.

We were shown into the restaurant, an all white/cream affair, but pleasant enough and relaxing and a nice lady served us - the local cooking was extremely good and enjoyable, complimentary bottled water was offered and when I mentioned how much I enjoyed the Orange Chocolate Pot I was offered another - it was tempting but I had enjoyed what I had had without need for any more of the excellent food.

Once more I can report that in its price category Best Western Shrubbery Hotel offered very good value for money and nothing to complain about at all - nice friendly staff including the chap who checked us out - we would visit again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade into one of the four poster bedrooms, despite being at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANSE1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My wife and I spent a total of four days at the Shrubbery in Ilminster (not Taunton) visiting family. Our rooms (16 & 17) in the newer section were large, well-equipped and very comfortable. They had fine views of the hills to the south. Our breakfasts were good, as was service in the restaurant. The place has real character. Only complaint was congestion in the parking lot when the hotel hosted a function.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CanadianTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a lovely weekend break here. Room was huge, staff were friendly and hotel was warm and cosy. We had a great bar meal one night and breakfast was cooked to order. The hotel is in a good location for exploring the area - museums, cider farm, countryside.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What is always interesting with the Best Westerns is that you although you are booking a chain hotel, when you arrive, they are often run by individuals and it feels like it's not. The Shrubbery had quite a history, with the key staff having worked there for many years and the hotel seemed at the hub of the local community going by the list of organisations holding meetings/functions there. But as it's not very big and has kept that small hotel feel. Very helpful on reception ( Mike ) and we were upgraded to an Executive room (in the newer part of the hotel ) which was quite large with a good view over the gardens to the hills beyond. Food excellent, quite a small restaurant but food also served in the bar. I would imagine if there was a function on, it would take it over. Staff very helpful, whoever we encountered. A short distance out of town, good situation to explore the are. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rauma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Situated in a nice part of the world the Shrubbery has recently had a makeover. The staff are pleasant and efficient, local home from home folk who enhance the stay. Food is good but menu is repeated for the three nights we were there. Breakfast is excellent. Busy hotel with dance, wedding and 16 year old party.... Often recipe for disaster but was well handled and no disturbance during the night. Good hotel if you want to stay in Illminster

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
4.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
281 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shrubbery Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Price Range: £65 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilminster in Somerset provides a fantastic base for breaks. Visit this quiet market town and enjoy the stunning countryside that lies on our doorstep. Ilminster is a charming town home to medieval streets, independent shops and regular markets. It is a great base to explore the many cycling routes, National Trust Houses & Gardens that Somerset has to offer. Located just half a mile from the A303 and 10 minutes from the M5, the hotel makes a great base from which to explore the beautiful county of Somerset. Individuals, tours and groups of varying sizes are welcome – the hotel has 23 bedrooms to choose from in a variety of styles. The hotel has ample car parking with easy access for guests. Recently, the hotel’s reception, bar and restaurant areas have all been refurbished. The bar, lounge and Revival restaurant are open all year around. Enjoy a simple snack, tasty carvery or more formal a la carte dining. This 3 star Edwardian Country House is a great venue for small intimate weddings, large receptions and civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel's ballroom (the largest in the area) can seat up to 250 guests for a wedding reception venue and there are 4 licensed rooms where a civil wedding ceremony can take place. Guests can stay in one of our 23 individually furnished en-suite bedrooms. We'll get involved from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. Our aim is to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way. For all enquiries, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Taunton
Taunton Best Western
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing