We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is the second time we have had a family lunch at this hotel. Last year it was suggested we all met up somewhere central to where we all live and we chose Ilminster. There were ten of us and again this year. The staff were extremely attentive and the food was excellent and the price was quite reasonable at about £25 per head. We plan to go again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NevilleUpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Firstly make sure u come to this the right hotel and not the Shrubbery Shepton Mallet (same county but 40 miles away ) as I stupidly did at cost to me !!!!!! Long story so ill leave it at that......
Anyway I can offer nothing but praise for this hotel :) . We were there Friday and Saturday night for the wedding of our friends and what a great weekend we had. Pretty much all the rooms were taken by guests attending the wedding so it was a real occasion of fun and frolics with lots of friends together:)
The room's are clean and tidy and have what u need to relax for a long weekend. The wedding reception was fantastic, as the bride in previous post has stated the food and service were excellent and made for a truly wonderful weekend :)
If im ever in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Well done to all from me,my wife and im sure all my other friends in attendance......

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loonasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business for one night recently.The room was comfortable enough although I was a little surprised that it was accessed fro outside at the rear of the hotel. It was nice to have free wifi however the strength of the signal was not very good.The breakfast was perfectly adequate and the staff were all friendly. Overall not a bad place to stay if you were looking for a stopover on your way up or down the A303

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andig36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We held our wedding reception here for 140 guests and everyone stayed 2 nights and they were amazing! The owner, Stuart has been doing weddings for years and knows his stuff.... The reception ran like clockwork and the staff were amazing. We had a full 3 course sit down meal and it was perfect food (we picked our menu) and served quickly, hot and just effect service, evening Buffett of cheese and it was sooooo yummy, everyone loved it. All the rooms were good sized, clean and had plenty of space and we added lots of kids beds in. On the whole they did a wonderful job, brilliant location, amazing food, so friendly, professional and recommended a wedding here for anyone. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millz090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loked the fact the hotel was very easy to find.
When we arrived were very impressed with the hotel and found the staff very helpfull.
We ate in the bar and found the food excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Shrubbery Hotel and we found it even more comfortable than our previous visit which was about four years ago.

We had notified the hotel of our late arrival (around 10.30pm) when we booked and we were warned in the booking of the likelihood of functions on Friday and Saturday nights. This was a Saturday night and a wedding was in full swing. We were shown to our room and told that we could be moved if we found the noise to be too much. A tray of coffee was provided. The bed was comfortable and we were tired so we were asleep before the wedding party finished.

We had booked 'room only' and in the morning chose the continental breakfast option as we had a lunch engagement booked. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of it.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentishchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel was easy to find and we were made to feel very welcome by Ben despite him being very busy with Sunday lunches. Our room which was situated at the front of the hotel was clean and big enough for our needs. One downside was that it was by a busy road and as we like to keep our windows open we had to put up with a lot of noise from traffic. Another small problem was that people who like to smoke congregated under our window and their smoke made it's way into the bedroom.....not nice when you are a non smoker. We stayed for 5 nights and cannot fault the staff especially Ben and Krasi (apologies for the spelling) who had to run the bar, wait at table and man reception. They were so attentive to our needs and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. We ate in each evening and ordered from the bar menu which had a wide choice of food to choose from. Every meal was delicious, The restaurant menu is very limited if you are staying for a number of nights. Breakfast was also of a very high standard and we were able to pick and choose what we wanted. The servings were very generous and were were always asked if we wanted anything else.
Having had a lovely week we settled down for our final meal. Our food was ordered and brought out in super quick time, served as usual by a very cheerful Krasi who made time to chat to us. At this point things went down rapidly when it became evident that the owners of the hotel were entertaining friends on the table next to us. The numbers increased and the group spread out getting nearer and nearer to our table. The owners seemed oblivious to the fact that they had paying guests in the room and repeatedly pushed past our table to fetch wine and sort food for their guests. They made no attempt to acknowledge us and didn't seem to realise that they were disturbing our last meal in the hotel. A comment was made about lack of space on their table for food and we noticed glances towards us. We felt quite uncomfortable and decided to go quicker than we would normally.......needless to say our table was moved very quickly to join theirs to create more room. Thankfully it was our last night and this experience didn't spoil our holiday completely. We are very grateful to all the staff for their friendliness over the week....it's a shame that the owners attitude to guests is not of the same high standard as their staff.

Room Tip: Have a room at the back of the hotel where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chappers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stushep, Owner at Best Western Shrubbery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

I am really sorry you were disturbed by myself and four other customers. There is no escuse for us to ingnore you.. I can only apologise for not being correct in looking after you and causing young nuisance. It was a prearranged supper for an old colleague who had come from Australia. Please don't judge the hotel on our bad behaviour. I will make sure that Ben and Krasi are congratulated and perhaps after 50 years we shoulld have been more considerate.
Sorry
Stuart Shepherd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
4.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
287 reviews
9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
348 reviews
6.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
55 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shrubbery Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Price Range: £66 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilminster in Somerset provides a fantastic base for breaks. Visit this quiet market town and enjoy the stunning countryside that lies on our doorstep. Ilminster is a charming town home to medieval streets, independent shops and regular markets. It is a great base to explore the many cycling routes, National Trust Houses & Gardens that Somerset has to offer. Located just half a mile from the A303 and 10 minutes from the M5, the hotel makes a great base from which to explore the beautiful county of Somerset. Individuals, tours and groups of varying sizes are welcome – the hotel has 23 bedrooms to choose from in a variety of styles. The hotel has ample car parking with easy access for guests. Recently, the hotel’s reception, bar and restaurant areas have all been refurbished. The bar, lounge and Revival restaurant are open all year around. Enjoy a simple snack, tasty carvery or more formal a la carte dining. This 3 star Edwardian Country House is a great venue for small intimate weddings, large receptions and civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel's ballroom (the largest in the area) can seat up to 250 guests for a wedding reception venue and there are 4 licensed rooms where a civil wedding ceremony can take place. Guests can stay in one of our 23 individually furnished en-suite bedrooms. We'll get involved from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. Our aim is to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way. For all enquiries, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Taunton
Taunton Best Western
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing