We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights with a small group from York. All had great praise for the hotel, really friendly, helpful staff and excellent food. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from centre of Ilminster, which is a good centre for exploring parts of Somerset, Dorset, Devon. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We found this to be a good hotel with pleasant friendly staff. We thought the standard and variety of food prepared for our group to be excellent and the service good too apart from one breakfast when there were a few mix ups in orders. We would be happy to stay again. A problem with our shower was dealt with immediately and the problem part replaced with new. Drinks both alcoholic and otherwise were good value, and there was plenty of seating in and around the bar. The bedroom was extremely clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

on arival we were greeted with the message, are you looking to eat this evening only we have a large 200+ private function, the rooms were already laid out ready so we agree to go out for something.
The following evening there was a staff members 40 birthday party this took over the whole hotel, on our return we had to struggle pass people sat on the stairs to gain access to our room, the noise went on until gone 1am it sounded as if there was no sound proofing in the function room. There was no one we could complain to as the hotel does not have a member of staff on duty pass 11pm.
This was a shame as the staff on duty that we met went out of their ways to ensure all was okay, they were very friendly, the hotel room although a little tired looking was kept very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Dear Sir

my parents in law - Jack & Mary have just returned from a stay at your Ilminster Hotel. whilst they were staying my mother-in-law was taken quite ill and a doctor had to be called. I just wanted to let you know how wonderful your staff were to them both during their visit. nothing was too much trouble and they even went to the shops to purchase a couple of new nightdresses, a newspaper for Jack plus some sweets and lucazade!!

I hope you can pass this thank you on to whom it may concern.
thank you so much from us too!

yours sincerely
Lynn

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I were privileged to stay a week at the Shrubbery .From the owner down to each of the staff, we received gracious considerate service. The Hotel is quite charming, and we highly recommend it to anyone travelling to the Somerset area of the UK.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Stanley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 391colinm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had friends visiting from America, so wanted to party for New Years Eve. We all had a great time, we stayed overnight six of us. The whole event was very well organised and good to see everyone made the effort for the black tie event. The carvery was good plenty of food and good choice. Hotel room was very clean, good size and everything we needed. Breakfast in the wasn't too early and nothing was too much trouble. We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
4.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
268 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
676 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shrubbery Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Price Range: £85 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilminster in Somerset provides a fantastic base for breaks. Visit this quiet market town and enjoy the stunning countryside that lies on our doorstep. Ilminster is a charming town home to medieval streets, independent shops and regular markets. It is a great base to explore the many cycling routes, National Trust Houses & Gardens that Somerset has to offer. Located just half a mile from the A303 and 10 minutes from the M5, the hotel makes a great base from which to explore the beautiful county of Somerset. Individuals, tours and groups of varying sizes are welcome – the hotel has 23 bedrooms to choose from in a variety of styles. The hotel has ample car parking with easy access for guests. Recently, the hotel’s reception, bar and restaurant areas have all been refurbished. The bar, lounge and Revival restaurant are open all year around. Enjoy a simple snack, tasty carvery or more formal a la carte dining. This 3 star Edwardian Country House is a great venue for small intimate weddings, large receptions and civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel's ballroom (the largest in the area) can seat up to 250 guests for a wedding reception venue and there are 4 licensed rooms where a civil wedding ceremony can take place. Guests can stay in one of our 23 individually furnished en-suite bedrooms. We'll get involved from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. Our aim is to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way. For all enquiries, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Taunton
Taunton Best Western
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing