We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Somerset grub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Somerset grub”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We returned to the Shrubbery Hotel having stayed there on four previous occasions.

The hotel was quiet with few guests using the bar and restaurant. However this did not spoil our enjoyment. The food both at breakfast and dinner was of a good standard, well prepared and politely served.

The rooms are nicely furnished the only downside was, on this occasion our bed was too hard.

The deals on offer make this an attractive place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    97
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
37
115
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Level Contributor
217 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Having booked this via the bw diamond and at last minute got a very good price. Hotel is an older style hotel and was shown to my room which was a large double. Room was spotless comfy bed and powerful shower. Ate in the bar and food was excellent only fault i could find was the internet in my room was so weak it was useless but in the bar it had good signal. would stop here again if working in the area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A Best Western Hotel. It is an older type hotel but clean and cared for. I had a double room with the usual tea and coffee facilities. No biscuits which was a bit of a disappointment. Housekeeping was very good, room spotless. Had a very good nights sleep. Shower was a bit "tired" but adequate. Seemed to be plenty of hot water whenever I used it. Only ate in the restaurant once of an evening and found the food very good. Breakfast was excellent. Free wifi and an unusual feature of providing a laptop in reception for guest use. Quiet.Plenty of parking space. The town is a short walk away from the hotel where there is a Tesco Superstore and a choice of pubs serving food..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we spent two nights here recently, only bed and breakfast, but having read some mixed reviews enjoyed this hotel a great deal. friendly staff who looked after us really well. the breakfasts were great, freshly cooked and well served in spite of a busy dining room one morning. only minor criticism was a slightly hard bed.
this is a proper well run hotel , a change from the faceless boxes found on motorways and trunk roads. we went home feeling happy with our visit.

Room Tip: room 24 has easy parking,tho fair walk to main hotel, maybe they will fit asofter mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUNCAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just spent four nights in this family run hotel. On checking in we were escorted to our room; an old fashioned courtesy we appreciated. Help with our luggage was also offered, again sadly a rarity these days.
Our room was spacious with a large bed and spotlessly clean. As well as the usual tea, coffee and biscuits on the hospitality tray there was also a litre bottle of tap water which was a welcome addition. To complete the picture we had a glorious view across roof tops to the hills beyond.
Next morning we were greeted at breakfast by a delightful member of staff who took our tea or coffee and cooked food requests. The buffet table had fruit juice,cereal, fresh fruit salad, grapefruit and prunes. The hot food was beautifully cooked and tasty. On different days I had eggs fried, scrambled and poached and all cooked perfectly.
During our stay we had bar meals in the evening. While not 'fine dining' they were all well cooked, well presented and tasty.
The hotel was fairly quiet while we were there (Monday-Friday) although the local Rotary Club had a midweek murder, mystery evening. In spite it being a formal dress occasion, no one minded us being in the bar with them in our casual attire! It was all very friendly.
This is not the hotel for you if you like trendy, modern establishments, but, if you like old fashioned charm and comfort together with friendly, helpful staff then The Shrubbery may well suit.
Ilminster itself has a similar charm. The town centre has many small, independent shops and one can completely avoid the Tesco on the outskirts. The town lies between Taunton and Yeovil, about 20 miles from the coast with several places of interest near by.
We hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and have the view over the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Couldn't stay in previous hotel as was full on last night so moved onto this place, which I found on the web. Sometimes use BestWeestern but this was the nicest one so far, Sunday night was very quiet, one person seemed to do everything, but did it fine. The bedroom was particularly nice, quite new I think and very clean. Evening meal was pleasant surprise also. Just to prove this isn't a fake review I was surprised to see rust on the shower rail in the bathroom, everything else was good!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights with a small group from York. All had great praise for the hotel, really friendly, helpful staff and excellent food. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from centre of Ilminster, which is a good centre for exploring parts of Somerset, Dorset, Devon. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
4.4 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shave Farm
Shave Farm
#1 of 12 in Ilminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 12 in Ilminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shrubbery Hotel

Property: Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilminster in Somerset provides a fantastic base for breaks. Visit this quiet market town and enjoy the stunning countryside that lies on our doorstep. Ilminster is a charming town home to medieval streets, independent shops and regular markets. It is a great base to explore the many cycling routes, National Trust Houses & Gardens that Somerset has to offer. Located just half a mile from the A303 and 10 minutes from the M5, the hotel makes a great base from which to explore the beautiful county of Somerset. Individuals, tours and groups of varying sizes are welcome – the hotel has 23 bedrooms to choose from in a variety of styles. The hotel has ample car parking with easy access for guests. Recently, the hotel’s reception, bar and restaurant areas have all been refurbished. The bar, lounge and Revival restaurant are open all year around. Enjoy a simple snack, tasty carvery or more formal a la carte dining. This 3 star Edwardian Country House is a great venue for small intimate weddings, large receptions and civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel's ballroom (the largest in the area) can seat up to 250 guests for a wedding reception venue and there are 4 licensed rooms where a civil wedding ceremony can take place. Guests can stay in one of our 23 individually furnished en-suite bedrooms. We'll get involved from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. Our aim is to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way. For all enquiries, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Taunton
Taunton Best Western
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing