We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Our lovely thatched farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our lovely thatched farmhouse
The setting. The cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Our lovely thatched farmhouse
The setting.
The cottage
The view
The luxury kitchen
Sitting room
Spacious entrance hall
Hall way
Twin bedroom
Master bedroom with en-suite
En-suite bathroom
Shower room
Hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ilminster, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
elainaafr...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and my friends stayed here for a weekend. We stayed in the cottage for the entire visit as it was a relaxing/chill weekend. We were lucky to have beautiful weather so spent a lot of time relaxing in the garden!
The hot tub was good but was a shame that it wasn't next to the cottage,there was also no light in the area so was very dark at night.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
480bungle
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic! Helen Dogs and Children were most Welcoming! Best Part was sitting within the Garden in Evening awaiting Sound A”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A Bolt hole away from the stresses of Life Tranquil! Very Narrow Lanes regarding Sat Nav went a bit crazy from time to time due to location. Helen the Hostess Lovely Lady Warm. Property a little too Rustic. Best of all The Serenity and of corse the 5 Dogs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Seclusion
Liked least: Could be made somewhat better i.e. Flora and Fauna around Cottage!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a wonderfully quiet location.”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family consisting of 3 young children had a wonderful stay in July 2015 - our first solo family Holiday. We couldn't have wished for a nicer place to stay.. everything was as described, clean and well kept. Cant fault the cottage, location or the owner.. we defiantly stay there again if we are in the area!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmac372
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thought I had landed in heaven !!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I would recommend this place to anyone . Photos don't do it justice. Cottage was stunning huge beautiful garden with trampoline and swing/climbing frame for the children. Hot tub was luxurious and well maintained.
Helen and Martin live In the grounds and couldn't have been more welcoming. The best part for me was they had 5 beautiful Golden Retrievers! I nearly took one home !
We are definitely going back next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyk9
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely English country cottage”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely detached guest house, nicely decorated. Big modern
kitchen. Big entry way and sitting room. Two bedrooms
upstairs. Two bathrooms. Hot tub, which we used.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful with information
on the local area, restaurants and sights to see,
For us the best part was their lovely dogs as we
were greatly missing our own dog. If you are not a
dog lover, you do not have to have any contact with
the dogs, but if you a lover of dogs, it is icing on the cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lovely sitting/living room, and the dogs!
Liked least: Weak wifi service as we were in the country.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P
1 review
“Gorgeous little cottage”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage is set in a lovely, quiet location with stunning scenery. It's comfortable, has everything you need, and the hot tub is an added extra. We went to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday, and it was a perfect getaway. There are some nice pubs located a short drive away, we had a lovely meal at The Winyard Gap about 20 minutes away, and enjoyed a day at West Bay (where Broadchurch is filmed), about 45 minutes away. We would highly recommend this cottage for a family or couple's getaway. Thank you to Helen and her housekeeper for all their help and for making our stay enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totallyme...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from a 2 night break with the girls, Beautiful location, fab hosts, clean well presented cottage with more than just your basic features, fully equipped amazing kitchen!. And the hot tub was amazing! Thoroughly enjoyed by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Going Home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing