We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get-together”
Review of The Old Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Temple Cloud B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family get-together”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed as a family party of 30 having booked the whole venue for the night. My room was really comfortable and we had a great evening. Everywhere was really clean and cosy and its a lovely building. We would definitely consider using the venue again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    52
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
35
199
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed in the old court house for a night. We arrived as pre instructions at our allotted time (which seems odd for a B&B) and was warmly welcomed by Nancy who showed us our room which was the barristers room at the top of a flight of stairs. It was a comfortable size with a large four poster bed, tea and coffee, gas fire, TV and on suite toilet. The main bathroom was down stairs.

The bed was comfortable as was our stay with a good breakfast in the morning.

The noise from the traffic on the main road could be heard all night in this room and would disturb a light sleeper.

We did not stay in one of the cells so cannot comment on those although we did look in one and they looked a bit small for anything longer than a single night’s stay.

Our biggest problem was cats, the stair to our room had a terrible smell of cats pee !! This was obviously a long term problem as there were many air fresheners on the steps and small window but they did not stop the problem.

As described it’s a quirky place and fun for a night’s stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GloucesterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed as part of a group and it was a nice experience. Our room was possibly the littlest but the breakfast was pretty okay. It's certainly a quirky spot in Somerset and Nantcy the manager was very freindly. I think we will come again with my friends. Thank you.

Room Tip: don't have the jail ones. pay more for the bigger ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sipaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I hired out the Old Court for three nights for a family Xmas break and the whole experience was amazing. Nancy provided a lot of information beforehand which made the stay easier. The building and rooms are very unique and will consider coming back next year. The whole family had a fantastic time. Thank you Nancy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravz_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

my husband and I spent two nights in a cell at this amazing hotel.Very different for sure,
very comfortable beds,lovely breakfast,our host Nancy and her team were extremely accommodating.I definately recommend the whole experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisheyfishey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently hired The Old Court for a group of 25 for my sister's hen weekend. As we were such a large group, Nancy very kindly made another private area of the house available to us and provided me (the organiser) with lots of information and advice before we came to stay.

Our whole weekend was perfect, we had an in house spa experience with 4 therapists using the room off of the main hall as a treatment room whilst the other guests waited around a big open fire. We also had a cocktail making class in one of the evenings and the main hall was big enough for all 25 of us to sit down and eat. The house is full of character and big enough so that everyone could have their own space but also come together in the main hall. My sister said the Jacuzzi was her highlight but I know that everyone thought that it was a fantastic venue. Nancy left us to get on with things so we had full reign of the kitchen and and it really felt like a home away from home. Thank you Nancy for a great stay and experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottescrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We hired out The Old Court for my hen weekend and what a fabulous and unique time we had! The house is absolutely beautiful with loads of quirky details which we all loved. As the bride-to-be, I shared the Judge's Master Suite along with my bridesmaid and another girlfriend - we slept like logs and didn't want to leave! Another highlight was the jacuzzi - so much fun! I'd love to come back to experience Nancy's famous and fabulous sounding breakfasts - which could probably be the only downside of having this amazing place all to ourselves!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjuliaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Cloud
2.1 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
658 reviews
20.7 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
3.0 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#1 of 1 in Stanton Wick
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cameley Lodge Hotel
Cameley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Temple Cloud
95 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 5 in Norton St Philip
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court

Property: The Old Court
Address: Temple Cloud, Temple Cloud BS39 5DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Temple Cloud
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Cloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Court 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I can't find any email address to write to you! It is very frustrating.Firstly I have been clicking on Awards and my Award for Excellence 2011 from you all can not be found. I need this by email to send to my advertisers! Pls help. I can not spend more time on this looking and not finding. I find no email to talk to you!Secondly, this is the second time I am saying that I have 4 stars from the Tourist board...not 2 like you are showing! This is awful.Thirdly, your special offer page is non usable....I have 8 different rooms with different prices...and it is sterling based which isn't even an option! What should I do. Please oontactme. thx. Nancy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court Hotel Temple Cloud
The Old Court Temple Cloud, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing