We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Wedding”
Review of Somerford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somerford Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Brewood B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here after a wedding. The wedding was very well organized, staff pleasant & efficient but not intrusive. Lovely venue for a wedding or other big occasion. The food was great & very efficiently served, not always easy with many guests.
Room we stayed in was huge, it could have held 3 double beds, we had a double & small extra room with 2 single beds, all beds very comfortable. The bathroom was of a good size, it looked as if it had recently been revamped.
Breakfast was buffet style & enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aylkea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We attended a wedding on 1st June 2013 and we had a wonderful day. Sommerford Hall is a beautiful venue and the staff were excellent all day. To be honest we didnt even know they were there apart from the obvious waiting staff over the wedding breakfast, which means they are very successful at making your day seemless. The top table is situated in a bay window and was square which i thought was a little odd at first but in fact it was perfect every guest could see the wedding party and the wedding party could see every guest. The food was very good - very tasty and hot. The rooms inside the hall are very spacious and pleasant. The outside space is perfect with lots of room for the children to play - am looking forward to seeing the photographs. My husband had a little moan about the bar area being a little cramped but in my experience thats what you get with country house weddings. All in all its a beautiful venue for a wedding. The breakfast buffet was excellent and I would certaily recommend Sommerford hall as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdie156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Attended my little sisters wedding on Saturday and had a fantastic time. The venue is ideal, minutes away from Wolverhampton but once you are there you could be miles away. A lovely sunny day helped show the venue off to be fair.

We had a large suite with 3 rooms and separate bathroom on the top floor. The bed we had was lovely and comfortable. The one my eldest and his partner had was a little rickety but they didn't complain.

Breakfast was excellent and checkout was quick and easy.

Overall no complaints and would recommend as a wedding venue for anyone looking for somewhere where you will be the only guests in the building.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We attended a wedding on 15/02/2013 and it was a fantastic day a beautiful country hall with excellent staff.
Led by Richard on the day and he made everything happen as if like magic the staff were discreet and hard working and the whole day just flowed from the moment we arrived we were treated proffesionaly and with courtesy.
The wedding breakfast was delicious and hot. The buffet was a delight on the eye and with lots of variety and the bacon baps at 1am were a great suprise and very welcome.
The bedrooms were lovely and warm on a winters day and very comfortable we finished our stay with a full english breakfast and went home very satisfied and happy.
So well done Somerford and all the staff not to forget Jen who looked after us in the evening and Jo who made it all happen

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMSStafordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Superb first class wedding venue. The service that Jo Wiles, Philippa and Richard along with their team provide is outstanding. They are so organised and professional all we had to do was fill in an event sheet (prompted by Jo). Jo is so organised everything runs with military precision. I expected to take control on the day and be busy organising people but everything was already done for us following our event sheet to the letter. All we had to do on the day was enjoy it!!! and they made sure we did. We had a lot of comments in our guest book saying this was the best wedding they had ever been to. The food was superb and the accommodation excellent, we awoke the next morning to rolling fields, beautiful woodlands and a lake what could be more perfect? We were treated so well from the moment we booked until we left. Philippa even came in whilst on maternity leave to look after us.
The gorgeous Ballroom was stunning for the wedding breakfast with our top table situated in the bay window so that we could see all our guests. It was miraculously converted to a dance floor for the disco in the evening and waiters served our guests with a hog roast cooked on the premises smelling delicious all evening. Even my sweetie table was set up for me by the staff much better than I could have done it!!
This venue definitely felt like you were part of a family and everyone was going out of their way to make it perfect. Sincere thanks to the whole team from "The new Mr & Mrs Lilley"

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My partner and I had our wedding reception at Somerford Hall and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue!

The staff were great to deal with and the maître d' made sure our day went without a hitch. The Hall is beautiful - the photographs look amazing! The food was lovely too.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kee89sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We held a party at Somerford Hall and it was excellent, the venue, the setting, the staff, the food absolutely brilliant! On booking the venue i viwed the bedrooms and they were great sometime later I read the reviews on trip advisor but the negative comments regarding the rooms didn't correspond to the rooms that I had viewed. Anyway the party was great and all of our guests that stayed the night thought the rooms were fantastic - I couldn't find fault. My advise is go to the venue and see for yourself

Room Tip: Room 1 great, all others come very close
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manager-CTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Somerford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerford Hall

Address: Somerford Hall Somerford, Brewood ST19 9DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Brewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brewood
Price Range: £59 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerford Hall is an elegant Georgian mansion set in over 200 acres of landscaped parkland. This stunning setting provides the perfect backdrop for a wide range of events – from weddings and special celebrations to conferencing and corporate hospitality - or just the perfect brief escape from today's busy world.Somerford Hall offers an intimate, relaxed ambience. Residents - and their guests - have exclusive use of all of the facilities, including our fully licensed bar and restaurant. Whether you choose to relax in one of our elegant sitting rooms, enjoy a drink on the terrace or take a stroll throughout the picturesque grounds, you're sure to leave us feeling relaxed and refreshed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerford Hall Hotel Brewood
Somerford Hall Brewood, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing