We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10 for the staff”
Review of Wherry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wherry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We arrived here 2 hours too early to book in, unfortunately I was suffering with a migraine, and needed to lie down. My husband explained this to the receptionist, and she got us into our room straight away. Nothing seemed too much trouble for any staff member, they were all polite, helpful and very friendly. 10/10!
The room was clean and pleasant, with a stunning view, the only problem was that the only window we could open, was in the bathroom, the door to the balcony was locked, with no key. This was because the balcony is unsafe, but I would like to see either a juliette type grill, or at least the small window above being able to open, on a hot day this room was stuffy. There is nowhere to dry hair (or hairdryer), the mirror being at least 6 feet from the nearest power point, and I personally hate trying to do my make-up in a hot bathroom. Breakfast was very tasty, good quality produce, but please can someone cook more than 4 eggs at a time, we waited ages, and were then given a cake slice to try and get them on our plates! B&B 8/10
We ate in the restaurant only because I was still a bit weak and watery, the menu was uninspiring, I was expecting Cromer crab, but even the prawns were off the menu! At it's best it was cheap 'pubgrub', which could have been improved with potato options, and definitely improved with better quality chips, even the seagulls refused them! 5/10

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

The refurbishment is great and the room was spotless with a lovely view over the Broads. The staff were cheery and friendly. But the food in the restaurant was dire – tasteless rubbery steak, soggy tasteless vegetables and grease-filled mushrooms. And the main arrived before the starter much to the confusion of the waiter. Breakfast was even worse – a strangely fizzy/acidy fresh-fruit salad (which should've been binned) and a greasy lank omelette. I was going to have the kippers - advertised as a 'local speciality' on the menu - but when asked if they were fresh the waitress admitted they were out of a packet. Also, when I came down for breakfast the place was deserted and I had to amble around trying to find someone who worked there. Nice rooms, avoid the food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeanPorterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

First reception lady was lovely - HOllie I think. Room was great - clean, comfortable bed. We asked for extra milk carton, but clearly this was too much for reception man - apparently he wasn't logged in yet!! As breakfast we went to sit at a table, and no sooner had we done this than the elusive waitress told us to go and sit at a table (overlooking car park and roundabout!) that was already laid - I offered to move the all too heavvy (!) cup and cutlery and was told to go on then! Breakfast itself was mediocre.
Overnight, it sounded like somone was moving house above us?!?!.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 636Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Visited the Resturaunt today, great air conditioned Resturaunt , comfy seating, amazing views, good food, wish the chips were on a plate instead of a little sauce cup! And garlic bread could be more garlic:)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank RyanWilliams97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We would like to express our sincere thanks to all the staff and Hollie at the Wherry Hotel for all their help in making our anniversary celebration so special.
My husband arranged for flowers and champagne to be put into our room on arrival and everything went to plan the view from the room overlooking the broads was spectacular.
Food service was very good nothing was to much trouble for the staff.
We would definately recommend this hotel and will there again in the future.
Thanks to everyone at the Wherry Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The wife and I visited the newly opened carvery on Wenesday lunch time.

The service was poor, the hotel was busy but customer service skills are not on display here, let's be honest when a place is busy we expect to wait but to be acknowledged is a good start.......not a sign of eye contact here....maybe the dreaded text world we live in does not help this.

The content of the carvery was ok and could have been fantastic with a few adjustments.

Ready prepared carrots never look as good as freshly cut, young chefs are crying out for knife skills.

The gravy could do with a good stock to add some flavour, a nice sweet redcurrent sauce to go with the gammon would have been nice.

Cabbage with brownish edges is never a good start and to leave it sitting in water....is not good.

The stuffing was solid with no real sign of flavour, just tipped out of the bag and boiling water added. Some deep fried chipolata were offered these would have been better to have been peeled and aded to the stuffing.

Cauli cheese was ok just needs a good tasting bechamel with a little mustard added to bring out the flavour.

The roast potatoes which everyone loves need attention.........they were dry with no sign of crispy edges.

Meat was ok and seemed of good quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVEPATTERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

What a wonderful view out onto Oulton Broad from our junior suite at the front of the building! It was extremely comfortable and very modern in decor and fittings. The down side to the Wherry for residents is that you have to queue at the bar to order food and, because it was busy the first night, we had both a long wait to give our order at the bar and a long wait for food which, when it did arrive, looked as if it had been sitting around for some time. Long wait at the bar the second night too but food turned up in ten minutes. Good choice from basic pub style food and coffee OK. Nice staff.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton Broad
0.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
481 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
425 reviews
9.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
22.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherry Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Oulton Broad NR32 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Oulton Broad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Price Range: £49 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wherry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Oulton Broad, the Wherry Hotel offers comfort, friendly service and exceptional views over the Broad. As a business venue, or a place to enjoy a relaxing stay, the Wherry Hotel offers traditional hospitalilty and charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wherry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wherry Hotel Norfolk
Wherry Hotel Oulton Broad, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing