We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wherry Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel(Lowestoft)(Great Value!)
US$73
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Waveney Inn(Burgh St Peter)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Potters Resort(Hopton on Sea)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
182
170
108
45
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
170
108
45
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat carveryjunior suitebalcony overlookingbuffet breakfastpeassunday carveryfantastic locationnight porteran upgraderoom was largepuddingstayed here for one nightenjoyable stayfollowing morningfull englishbiscuitsshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed last year at this hotel as we were visiting relatives and had a lovely large spacious room looking onto the Broads so we booked again for this year unfortunately this time we were put in a pokey room at the side of the hotel above the kitchens to say the room was small is no understatement we had to walk sideways at the end of the bed to reach the bathroom!! I was very disappointed. We went down to breakfast which was fine apart from having to get tea and coffee from the bar rather strange. We had problems the following morning to find a clean unreserved table in the end we just sat at a reserved table. The only reason I would return to this hotel is because it is so close to where my relatives are

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We went to The Wherry for a family celebration and easily managed to get a table for lunch for 7 of us without booking. Some of us had the carvery whilst others ate a la carte, and we were all served within 10-15 minutes, which is great! I can certainly recommend the carvery option which is excellent value, especially Mon-Fri - the price goes up slightly on a Sunday. Great location and reasonable grub. Thank you...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Arrived in Oulton Broad late tired and hungry just wanted a good meal and early night. So rushed over to the Wherry a favourite haunt.
The usually brilliant carvery looked over cooked and dry, so opted for steak and chips with Diane sauce as no pepper sauce.
Ordering the food and drinks took 3 trips and nearly half an hour. Should have been worried when asked what a vodka and tonic was. The red wine was served in an ice bucket.
The medium steaks were very well done the chips dry as if they had been kept warm all day and the sauce thick with a tang. The tomato and mushrooms were nice.
After a long wait the waitress finally came over to see if everything was alright when we said no she asked if we wanted to make an official complaint but as we were not the only ones didn't see the point and went to pay.
When we paid we said we were not happy the manager just disappeared and the woman serving just said enjoy your next visit told her there won't be one.
After many years of enjoyable visits will not be back. Will miss the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank alfresco1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were pleasantly surprised on a recent stay at this large Victorian family hotel. Judging by the amount of Sunday diners on a warm Sunday afternoon, this place is very popular with day trippers and holidaymakers alike due to its fabulous location. Given its size and popularity,we found the place well run, the renovated room bright and quiet ( with flat screen TV and a huge bathroom), the staff friendly and the breakfast generous; not to mention good value for money.Fantastic river views and a sweet little high street with a choice of restaurants ( try the equally well situated Commodore bar next door for a drink or a bar meal)make this hotel a great choice and one we will definitely return to .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

lucky enough to get the last mooring which cost a tenner but 5 pound refund on food that evening. booked for a party of 9 and glad we did as it was very busy, however the staff were friendly and the carvery was well stocked even though we were eating towards the end of service. others in the party chose dished from the menu other than carvery and also enjoyed. power boat racing on the night we were there. choice of 4 meats on the carvery, 2 potatoes abd 5 or 6 veg, along with yorkshire pudds and sausages - good value and very tasty. pudds were on display in a chilled cabinet - hot pudds also available. all in all a good night

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asmababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews