We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wherry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wherry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Found this place on Tripadvisor after looking for a business stop for myself and a colleague. Although only booking standard doubles, the receptionist gave us lake-view rooms which were excellent, with their own balconies looking straight over the Broad and the boats. Great running routes from the hotel round the small park and out into the fens, along marked trials. The food is decent pub grub rather than haute cuisine, but it hits the spot for a night's stay, and is very popular with locals and visitors alike. Pretty good breakfast too... we'll be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    133
    89
    36
    25
See reviews for
105
179
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely location right on the water front. Very friendly helpful staff and the large accessible room had a wet room - some don't. Breakfast was excellent and so was the carvery. A walk round the Broad gives lovely views and there's a cafe for a drink or ice cream. Lovely hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opera-lover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I used tripadvisor to source a wonderful weeks holiday in lowestoft and Gt Yarmouth
We booked 3 nights at the Wherry Hotel on Oulton Broads and this was fantastic. The Hotel and the view of the marina were stunning and the food at the carvery was stunning, Using the Wherry as our base camp we went out to the Africa Live event in Kessingland and had a wonderful day with the animals, Tuesday we took a ride on the Bure Valley Railway steam train and although a bit bumpy was again a worthwhile venture and in the evening drove to the Red Lion at Cromer for a fantastic Sea Bass supper, On wednesday we moved camp up to Knights Court Guest House in Gt Yarmouth and on Wednesday night had a great night out at the Greyhound track where we were looked after by Katie our waitress for the evening, Brilliant Lamb Shank and a lovely venue, Thursday ventured to Hopton to the Black Rock Grill and what a night we had..... Make sure you book. It was a fantastic 4 course meal of bread and dips followed by Prawn Cocktail then cook your own meal on the black rock our meal was scollops salmon lamb medallions and fillet of beef backed up with veg and chips. A definate one for your diary folks. Friday spent day in Yarmouth and went to HMS Hinchcliff and had the best steak ever. If you want a good week out then follow my examples.

Room Tip: Everthing about the hotel was excellent and so quite Check out tripadvisor everytime, I did and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Wherry is ideally placed for an overnight mooring as it is right next to Mutford Lock, the gateway to the sea. We have moored for the night several times, and happily paid the £10 mooring fee which includes £5 off food. The buffet carvery is extensive, well cooked, and the chefs listen to what you would like to eat.

The breakfasts are fab. A full English buffet and continental too. A real top-up before going to sea.

The service is good, with attentive staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you use stern fenders, bow mudweight and loose mooring lines as the tide rises and falls o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinb851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have not stayed Here but come regularly to take advantage of the 2 for 11 pounds breakfast buffet. Can't fault it! Good value for money, lovely staff and great food. Also the setting and the hotel is lovely

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booked at suite at The Wherry Hotel - very disappointed. Basically a small bedroom with another room with 2 upright chairs and a small table. Bathroom fittings hanging off the wall - glass holders with no glasses soap holder no dish. Heated towel rail didn't
Bedroom view over flat roof with power cables and side of car park
On arrival reception was empty, member of staff eating his lunch in reception area went to fetch te receptionist, cold, no apology and uninterested.
Wouldn't bother again pity as it is a lovely location

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slt504221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton Broad
0.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
9.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherry Hotel

Property: Wherry Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Oulton Broad NR32 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Oulton Broad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wherry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Oulton Broad, the Wherry Hotel offers comfort, friendly service and exceptional views over the Broad. As a business venue, or a place to enjoy a relaxing stay, the Wherry Hotel offers traditional hospitalilty and charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wherry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wherry Hotel Norfolk
Wherry Hotel Oulton Broad, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing