We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wherry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wherry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Brantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“weekend trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

went for the weekend,room 109,small room with a big wardrobe sticking out at side of bed and in front of bathroom door,when you go to toilet in night you bump into bedside table and give your toes and nee a big knock,we booked a evening meal and there were a wedding on so had to wait a long time,but exept that when there is a wedding on,but i had spare rib as the main meal and it were cold ,but there were staff about because they were under presure with carvery,/ next room ,wedding ,/ and then our room,my partners new spuds were cold ,so after we had a early night ,then wedding music ,but you expect that,were up early went down for breakfast ,were spot on self service eat what you want and as mutch as you want,will go again but with a view because the hotel were full so we did not get a view ,morning sun rice from the front is fab,

Room Tip: rooms with a view ,but dont know about if there is a big wardrobe takeing all room up like room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    134
    90
    36
    25
See reviews for
106
180
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked a double deluxe room but were upgraded to one of their suites on arrival- the balcony had a gorgeous view of Oulton Broad and more than enough room for our toddler to run around in! They provided a travel cot which was handy. The breakfast buffet was great and we ate at their restaurant several times- the carvery was really tasty and good value. The service was always friendly and the location was great for all the local attractions. We would definitely come again.

Room Tip: The views over Oulton Broad are stunning- try to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A party of four adults, we were on a week-end break in Lowestoft. We came upon the Wherry Hotel by chance, looking for somewhere to eat early Friday evening. A large but clean and inviting restaurant as part of a hotel. We all chose the carvery option which is cheaper on a week day than at week-ends. Order and pay at the bar whilst getting the drinks in, a pretty standard operation these days and as it was fairly quiet it took no time at all. The food was very good, hot and fresh, although the veg a little hard for some of the party. We all agreed it was very nice and no complaints at all.
We returned to eat here again on the Sunday, although this time all of us chose meals off the menu. Again all was of excellent quality, I enjoyed the Chicken Tikka Massala and Sausage and Mash and the Gammon also got a thumbs up!
Lots of choice on the menu, attentive staff and depending where you sit, a lovely view over the water.
I recommend the Wherry for no nonsense good value dining in pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthamptonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

There are a number of key elements to a memorable stay and the Wherry Hotel ticked most of them.
The welcome was good, car parking excellent, bar & restaurant was clean, light and spacious.
Our room was excellent with a 180 degree view across the broad.
Great shower, good food and I booked again immediately.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view certainly deliver as promised
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a double deluxe room for 1 night online & on arrival were told we had been upgraded to one of their 2 executive suites. This was a lovely treat and the room had lots of space and was clean and tidy with amazing views of Oulton Broad. There was a small balcony that even though it was April it was lovely to stand out on. We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the only thing I could fault them on was the lack of coffee at breakfast. The young lad serving it was very slow and in the end we didn't bother. We had previously moored up outside The Wherry in June 2013 and will definitely go back again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sians77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
217 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Booked this hotel last minute after speaking with reception and negoiated 2 deluxe double with view room for single occupancyfor £75 a room. Arrived at the hotel and went to the room and was not disappointed. Modern clean room with several electrical sockets. Bed was comfy and modern bathroom with powerful shower and nice view out towards the broads. Breakfast the following day was good all staff friendly and helpful. Would happily stop here again at the price i paid but not at the listed prices they want

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Ate there yesterday (9th April 2014).Had the carvery meal and got more or less what I expected.For the price it is hard to argue and to be honest any vegetarian would have been happy.

The beef has come from the back end of an ancient animal but I knew that,the pork and turkey were ok as far as overcooking white meat is better than undercooked.As said the vegetables were fine,I had cauliflower with cheese and mashed swede alongside my beef and pork and both were very nice.

The bar service was slow and laboured as was actually trying to pay for the meal,apart from the waitress who cleared our table the staff are pretty shocking.

We used to say about NAAFI........No Ambition And F..all Interest but that was an insult to NAAFI.

I knew what to expect so no huge criticism other than OVER £3 for a glass of draught Pepsi mostly full of ice?

Little wonder drink driving is so common around Oulton Broad!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarntmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton Broad
0.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
9.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherry Hotel

Property: Wherry Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Oulton Broad NR32 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Oulton Broad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wherry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Oulton Broad, the Wherry Hotel offers comfort, friendly service and exceptional views over the Broad. As a business venue, or a place to enjoy a relaxing stay, the Wherry Hotel offers traditional hospitalilty and charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wherry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wherry Hotel Norfolk
Wherry Hotel Oulton Broad, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing