We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Retreat!”
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area
Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Upstairs open plan living
Upstairs lounge with balcony
sunset from balcony
Twin single room
spacious balcony
Private secluded garden to enjoy
beautiful field views over farm land
private enclosed garden
south facing private gardens
watch the sun drop from the private balcony
dining to seat 10
covered out door hot tub
large bedrooms with en suites
tastefully decorated
sit under the shade of the walnut tree and relax
beautiful sunsets from balcony
open all year round
large bright rooms
large wide corridors
tastefully decorated
large spacious bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oulton Broad, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura P
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Retreat! ”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've had an amazing family holiday at Walnut House, celebrating my 40th birthday. Wendy and Chris are amazing hosts, we received a very warm welcome and they made the stay extra special with thoughtful gestures. The house and facilities are fantastic and were enjoyed by everyone from 6 to 72 years old. The sunset from the balcony overlooking the fields was beautiful. Would highly recommend to anyone and would love to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollsun
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loverly, relaxing, quite holiday.”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What can i say. Never booked a holiday with out going to a travel agent and booking it but must say i was a bit nervous but then it turned out easy to book and pay for. Chris And Wendy was only a email ir phone call away if had any questions. We received a email confirmation and a letter by post.
Chris and Wendy are loverly, very friendly. Was there to welcome us and show us round the loverly home that was ours for the week.
The house has everything you need. If you will need something they will have it. Nothing is to much for Chris and Wendy. They made us feel welcome and said if we needed anything just ask.

The house is amazing. My lil boy got so confident in the pool and i learnt to swim myself. The pool was best part of our holiday with us spending most of our time in it.
The balcony coming of the living room is another amazing thing about this house. The view and sunset is great to sit and watch. You often see wildlife lil rabbits ect that my 5 year old loved to watch.
Will miss this place and ill look forward to booking again very soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
We are so happy you all enjoyed your time at Walnut House, it was a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to welcome you back again one day. XXX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul A
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal for a large family holiday.”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Arrangements for our holiday were easily organised and all our questions answered by either Chris or Wendy by phone. We expected to have a great holiday and were not disappointed. Our party age range was from 2 to 70 and there was something for everyone. There was plenty of room in the en suite bedrooms with ample storage and even a separate bathroom. The lift was a great asset on arrival and ensured that we could quickly settle in.

There was so much to do within the property and grounds that the odd rainy day was not a problem. The pool was fantastic and our youngsters gained so much confidence in the water. The hot tub was popular, particularly with the teenagers, as was the pool table. The balcony was a great place to congregate with superb sunset views of the Suffolk countryside. The garden was an excellent, sunny and sheltered situation for enjoying the sun and playing games. Not forgetting the barbecue and large field for football.

Catering facilities were excellent with two kitchens, one upstairs and one downstairs. Not that we didn't eat out too as there were lots of local dining opportunities. We found the property to be large with so many areas for small groups to enjoy and lots of things to do.

We loved Kessingland Beach, Speedboat racing at Oulton Broad and our trip to Southwold. There was so much more to do but we ran out of time.

Chris and Wendy were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. They helped make a perfect holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
It was our pleasure to meet such a lovely family and we thank you for your kind words.
It means so much to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay.. We are pleased you have made some great memories here in Suffolk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwlfcfan
Beaconsfield, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walnut House Has Everything”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Eight of us spread across three generations stayed here and all of us thoroughly enjoyed staying at this house. There is so much living and leisure space. We had a great time in the indoor swimming pool and also the hot tub and the non swimmers were able to use the pool table in the evenings. The garden is very secluded and sheltered and there is a huge balcony leading out from the first floor lounge that is covered in artificial turf and affords wonderful views across the adjacent wheat field.

There is a grass field which is 60 yards long where golfers can practice a few pitch shots or the family can play football or cricket.

The current owners Chris and Wendy are very hospitable and have fitted the house out to an exceptionally high standard.

In the area we visited
1) Africa Alive Wildlife Park at Kessingland
2) Merrivale Model Village in Great Yarmouth
3) Joyland in Great Yarmouth (rides geared to the under 10's)
4) Bure Valley Railway Aylesham to Wroxham steam train
5) Wroxham Minature Worlds model railway, toys etc and
6) The wonderful soft sands of Gorleston Beach

Our experience was best summed up by the grandchildren "we want to stay here forever"

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
We than you for your lovely review and so happy that you all had a great stay. Best Wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in Everyway”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have had 2 wonderful weeks at Walnut House. From the welcome from Wendy and Chris to the end of the holiday. The welcome Hamper and the lovely treats for our 3 dogs was well recieved. The weather was a bonus as we had sunshine for 2 weeks. But there is plenty to do if the weather was bad, you could easily enjoy the days in the indoor pool, hot tub or play pool, darts or board games. Very wheelchair friendly as we had our 91 year old Mum with us and having the lift and wide corridors made it so much easier for us.
Thank you Wendy and Chris and hopefully will see you both next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you do much for your lovely words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Walnut House and we look forward to seeing you all again next Summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
89KB89
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Outstanding again - family holiday heaven!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just spent a week at Walnut House, as a family of 9 plus dogs. This was our second stay, so we knew what to expect & were hoping it was as good as last year. I am pleased to say that for us, it was even better than last year & I hope we are able to visit every year now!

The house is beautiful, with a great layout & very well equipped. Chris & Wendy are just great at what they do & it really shows with all the repeat custom year after year. They are so kind, accommodating & friendly. They are seconds away should you need anything, but also leave you to have your holiday so you barley even know they are there! The pool was lovely & warm for my little 16 month old & he loved swimming every day. The hot tub was great for us older ones to relax in & the balcony is so stunning to enjoy the sunsets each evening.

The games room & swimming pool have a great interlinking sound system for playing music so you can swim to music – either bring your own CDs or link up your phone via Bluetooth. The pool table & darts board provided good entertainment each night especially as none of us are really any good at either of these! Downstairs in the games room there is a nice widescreen TV with Sky & upstairs in the lounge is a widescreen TV with Freeview – having these gave us the option to split off & watch what we wanted in the evenings as having an age gap of 83 years from oldest to youngest meant that what we liked to watch often differed.

The bedrooms have lovely comfy beds with two twin rooms, one double & two king. All have en-suite bar one twin room, which has its own bathroom right next door. The bathrooms are all very clean & well maintained. We took a travel cot for our little one but one can be provided on request.

There are an abundance of local attractions just a stones throw away & within the games room hallway is a leaflet display to help you pick what you may like to do each day – most of these also contain money off vouchers… bonus! Although I must say, most days we didn’t even want to drag ourselves away from the beautiful house as there is so much to do here.

There are lots & lots of things I could say about this place but bottom line is that it’s a fantastic self catering property owned by a lovely family who really do seem to think of everything. My son even enjoyed it so much it’s the best he has ever slept while we where there! I will always cherish my memories of the holidays spent here with my family.

Thank you again Chris & Wendy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review.
You are a lovely family and it would be a pleasure to have you return. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here in Walnut House..
Best Wishes to you all. XXX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing