We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awe inspiring building in a magical coastal...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
The Tower
Thorpeness Meare
Thorpeness beach
Scallop Shell Sculpture
Aldeburgh
Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Thorpeness, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark N
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring building in a magical coastal setting”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We booked the Tower as it looked impressive and was suitable for a party of eight. It has a real wow factor, the conversion is brilliant ( it was a chapel in its original form ) and we loved it.
The kitchen was fine, the heating and hot water excellent and the place was clean. The local area is special, the Suffolk coast is quite unspoilt and full of places to explore, we all loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2017
Hi Mark, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness. Lovely to hear the house suited your requirements and you found this unique house perfect for your party of 8. The house is in a great location to explore Suffolk and only a few minutes walk from the sea. If you wish to return to Suffolk please do get in touch with us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D
1 review
“Perfect for 4 couples enjoying an autumn break in a quirky converted Chapel by the sea”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Very well equipped house. Warm and comfortable. En suite bathroom to lovely high ceilinged bedroom. We cooked on the first evening and enjoyed an excellent, good value supper at the Dolphin pub which is only a 4 minute walk - but be sure to book. And it's good, too, to book your paper from the local newsagent.

For the potterer its a lovely stroll to Aldeburgh; for the serious walker (and dogs) there are great footpaths along the coast or inland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
Hi Simon
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness. It's great to hear you found the house well equipped and you enjoyed its comfortable furnishings and warm ambience. The house is perfectly located being so close to the beach and local pub. A real find in the Suffolk coastline which is unique as the property is a converted church and offers a truly different experience. If you wish to return to Suffolk please do not hesitate to contact us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina221
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A perfect autumn weekend break”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We were eight – four couples – and the house and location suited us perfectly. We had great walks in the autumn sunshine, along the beach to Sizewell and Aldeburgh and inland to Snape Maltings, and although the kitchen had everything we needed we treated ourselves to dinner one night in the excellent local pub (the Dolphin), an easy five-minute walk from the house. My husband and I slept in one of the ground floor bedrooms and were very comfortable. The bed linen was lovely, the shower first-rate and the whole house very clean. We plan to return in the summer.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
Dear Robina
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness. I am delighted to hear the house was perfect for your stay and you had everything you needed for your stay. The house is in an ideal spot only a stones throw from the beach and short walk from the local pub. This unique property is perfect for large groups and ideal to explore the Suffolk coastline.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness. I am really sorry to hear you found issues with the housekeeping this has been immediately addressed with our housekeepers. The Tower is a converted church which has reclaimed concrete which is porous in places and when the heating is on this can cause a slight damp smell in places. However this is being checked for any issues. The property is very unique and the majority of the building is the actual church. I am also sorry to hear you had a problem with the lights this has been addressed with the maintenance team. We are saddened to hear that your experience of the The Tower was not as you would of liked, we have taken on board all your comments and these are being addressed. We appreciate your feedback as this is important to us to maintain quality standards. Should you wish to return to Suffolk we hope you will contact us again at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Z7494PUjo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky, spacious, great views, only 50 yards from beach”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Booked this for family stay, with three generations. Very well equipped ( only missing any sort of coffee machine ). Kids loved it. Great for the beach, also boating on the Mere. Lovely village and only 5 mins from Aldeburgh.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Thank you taking the time to review The Tower in Thorpeness. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family. The Tower is perfect for family gatherings and is perfectly located for all the amenities.Great to hear the kids loved the property also. Should you wish to return to Suffolk again please get in touch with us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwate...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“In need of TLC”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Tower is a fantastic building, quirky and interesting. As newcomers to Suffolk we had a great family holiday, 3 generations in one holiday home. The area is somewhere we will come back to and highly recommend. Whilst we had a good time, there are some points that the letting agent should address.

Things that should be clear in the property description.
The parking whilst not in front of The Towers is more suited for average sized cars, anything like a people carrier or 4 x 4 will struggle to fit in the allocated space. Solution is to park close to The Towers (within 50m’s) on a side road. Garden is to the front of the property and quite small and to be honest difficult in terms of proximity to the kitchen, nor has the garden any lounging chairs. Wooden benches and tables provided, but no umbrella.

Issues to address
Kitchen, a little tired around the edges, kitchen chairs uncomfortable, and the table a little tight for a full house.
Frying pans need replacing, and were unusable.
Ironing board uncovered in one ground floor bedroom, along with the highchair and drying rack in a wardrobe, no instructions on where these were in the welcome book. Fridge door does not close properly so the inside of the fridge quickly freezes, as does your food.

Washer and dryer, in a dirty damp basement accessed from the opposite side of the building. Both machines raised so you cannot see where you are putting conditioner etc.

Beds on floors 2,3, and 4, mattresses well and truly worn out. Sofas and chairs in the sitting room, as per the mattress, springs and foam seen much better days.
Bathroom on 2nd floor for all bedrooms on 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors:- toilet kept breaking and then broke completely, meaning use of that toilet was either impossible or required a bucket of water to flush through.
The shower in that bathroom is over the bath only, therefore not a shower – solution for bedrooms on floors 2, 3 and 4, walk down spiral stairs to use one of the downstairs showers. Insufficient towel rails in bedrooms or 2nd floor bathroom for number of guests.

Sitting room on 2nd floor, all chairs padding/springs etc are well and truly worn out. One guest commented is there a comfy chair in this house. TV small for the size of the room, therefore sound from TV compromised

We left on Friday evening, as we couldn’t face another night on poor mattresses, with no toilet on 2nd floor and uncomfortable seating in the sitting room. I think that says it all really

How would I describe this house, so much potential but not quite there, we would not book this property again, but will come back to the area again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Tower. We appreciate feedback that enables us to improve things to ensure we get things right for our guests.

We were pleased to hear that you liked the setting and the surroundings. Unfortunately, parking during the peak holiday season is always a problem throughout Thorpeness. However, The Tower does provide some dedicated parking, this is off-road, for one large (eg estate or 4x4) car or for 2 small cars, and there is also the possibility of off-road space for one further car. As you mention there is usually space 50 m or so further down the road.

With regards to the garden we have had no previous expressions of concern about the garden. I am sorry you found this area quite small. The Tower is in a relatively open space and sunshades are at risk of being either ‘borrowed’ or blown away by a gust of wind.

The issue with the fridge door, this does in fact shut properly. It is just that the panel holding the door itself is very slightly warped and gives the impression of it remaining open.

We have taken on board your concerns about the relative comfort of chairs and beds. Several of these have been already replaced with new items where needed and there will be more space around the kitchen table.

Regarding the bathroom on the first floor, the description of the property states there is a shower attachment – there is nothing to indicate that this is a separate shower in this bathroom. Given the fact that there are already two showers elsewhere in the property there is no need for this.

We were very sorry that one of the toilets broke during your stay. Our maintenance team attended to this as soon as we were informed about it, but as you know, there was a need for a spare part to be obtained and this was not available locally. We kept you in touch with the progress of this but there was nothing more that we could of done until the replacement part arrived.

Your feedback is very important to us and we take all matters very seriously to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. If you should be thinking of returning to Suffolk we look forward to hearing from you at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gingertig...
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unusual, historic property with loads of space.”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Helpful and attentive host, although we never met her. Unusual but interesting property with plenty of space. Kitchen well supplied with equipment and utensils. Clean but could have done with a lick of paint in places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Dear Jo
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Tower in Thorpeness. We are pleased you found the property interesting and unique from most properties. We are aware the property is in need of repainting in places, the owners are planning to undertake this after the busy summer season.
We do hope you will return to Suffolk in the future please do not hesitate to get in touch with us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing