We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break in the Snow!”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in the Snow!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed with our friends for 1 night in The Dolphin Inn and could not fault the service we received from the moment we got there. A very warm welcome from 'Keith' who showed us to our very comfortable and impeccably clean rooms. The food was very well presented and extremely good value - especially the roast dinner on Sunday. Would recommend this B & B to anyone. Now looking to book for later in the year and looking forward to it already. Thank you.

Room Tip: very spacious and all facilties included and very clean. Lovely to have our own access through back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    65
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
52
103
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bse
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed for a weekend with friends; we were unsure as to what to expect as we had booked this without any knowledge of the Inn, however we were very impressed! We were welcomed by a very cheerful young man who we later found out was called Keith. Throughout our stay Keith was always very friendly and nothing was ever too much for him- from booking us a taxi, getting us an extra jug of milk to ensuring that we had a table for sunday lunch. The Inn was beautifully furnished with a very welcome open fire.
Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable with a window seat with lovely views. Lunch was excellent, home made soup and sandwiches which was very welcome and a superb atmosphere. We were most impressed with our hearty breakfast which was freshly cooked and was very tasty. Sunday lunch was again freshly cooked and was most enjoyable, again the atmosphere was good and it was everything and more that you would hope to encounter at this part of the world.
The waitresses were all very pleasant and helpful. Keith is a credit to the Inn and made our welcome that much more enjoyable during our stay. Thank you to Keith for always checking on us and for taking the time to ask us about our day. Booking us that taxi was most appreciated, the walk would have been too ambitious in the weather conditions! We look forward to our next visit.

.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed here overnight with visitors from Canada who were enchanted by the traditional pub atmosphere. The food was exceptional both at dinner and breakfast (sausages were fantastic!). Bedrooms were huge and very tastefully furnished. And all the staff went out of their way to make us welcome. The lovely lady that served us breakfast even spent time telling us of the pre fire history of the Dolphin and the later changes. Little touches like that mean so much to visitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Went here for lunch today with my wife. Superb building in an astonishing village on the Suffolk coast. The staff very friendly and the food and beer were superb. I had fillet of Cod and chips and I can honestly say it was the best Fish 'n chips I have ever had. The interior has obviously been revamped and done very well. If I lived nearby I'd go here every day! Faultless, worth a five out of five.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have been coming to this pub for for nearly 20 years as we live locally, it is a beautiful location and the food is usually very nice and reasonably priced. However on this particular occasion there was something wrong with one of our meals (a gone off and very muddy mussel in a dish of mussels) so, not wanting to cause a fuss we called the waiter over to check whether it was fine to continue eating the rest of the bowlful (having had a bad experience with off mussels previously). His response to this request was completely unprofessional and frankly quite rude. After snatching the plate up abruptly he then proceeded not to apologise but to behave quite confrontationally towards us. We understood that it is not possible to check over each mussel in a bowl for those which are closed/off once cooked but felt that a simple apology and possibly an offer of having the dish refunded would have sufficed. As a result we were left feeling like we were in the wrong for checking with the waiter about the food. It is a shame because as I've said, it was a lovely place to come for a quiet drink or a meal but due to this experience it's somewhere I'm afraid we will now not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstTimeReviewer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Glencairn. Stuart Ogilvie, a millionaire businessman purchased the entire area of Coastline from Aldeburgh to Sizewell in 1910; the farmland was developed into a private fantasy holiday village for his friends called “Thorpness”.
And I’m sure if Ogilvie was alive today he would be very pleased to find what awaits guests at The Dolphin, however, I wouldn't call this a Fantasy but more a Dream come true; we were welcomed by Keith I think a large Hotel might call him a Concierge I would just call him amazing!
We arrived early and needed somewhere to get changed, having spoken with Keith before arriving he ensured the room was ready, and on arrival was there to Meet and Greet and whisk us straight to our room; he was also there to arrange a taxi, be a congenial host behind the Bar and the Matradee in the restaurant, a real asset it must be said.
The Dolphin takes the form of a real Country Pub, with a large Inglenook Fireplace taking center place, and with it being winter giving a real welcome as you walked through the door, the one thing you notice is the fact they don’t rely upon a Pool Table, Fruit Machine or Juke Box to entice their customers, they just go for a warm welcome, good food, excellent accommodation and value for money, its all that’s needed to make me a convert and a definite return visitor to this very special Inn in Suffolk.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireHoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Having travelled to this part of Suffolk for many years now, I have no idea how this place escaped our family, just found out my cousin even worked here!
The service is so, so good, you really can't put a price on staff like this, many, many hotels who charge twice the price to stay here, should visit and learn. We were so impressed, we became mystified that we had paid so much more in previous visits for much lesser accommodation.
The rooms were spotlessly clean (and my husband and I are very picky)! Very well decorated and very good sizes. The food was sooo tasty and again excellent value. It was just perfect to enjoy a glass of wine next to roaring fire.
The staff we so helpful, they really couldn't do enough.
We will not hesitate to stay here again. The pictures on the website really don't do this place justice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rache32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
0.4 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
990 reviews
1.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
644 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
11.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Property: The Dolphin Inn
Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness
The Dolphin Inn Thorpeness, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing