We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing short break”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A lovely place for a short break. Lovely location, peaceful setting, great food and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.The bed was fantastic and the room relaxinglly pleasant As a lone traveler I appreciate the help and the friendliness particualarly

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dolphin Inn in August and really loved the place. The staff, led brilliantly by the owner are very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. This even extended to sausages for breakfast for our dog!
Our stay coincided with the Thorpeness Regatta and in spite of the fact that the Dolphin was incredibly busy, the service and hospitality remained spot on.
I would definitely recommend it to friends and family, in fact I have already!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, we had room 2 and found it comfortable. It was a little cramped for 2 adults...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin for two nights whilst attending a local wedding. The landlord was welcoming and all the staff friendly and very helpful. There is a separate entrance for guests which was good for getting back after hours.
The room was very comfortable, big comfy bed, very clean, fluffy towels with everything we needed, we particularly enjoyed having the DAB radio. Lovely big bath with plenty of toiletries provided. Tea and coffee with fresh milk on request (no biscuits but we bought some lovely home made ones from the shop next door!).
Lovely breakfast, very relaxed, good beer and cider on tap. we were there the weekend of the village Fete which was held in the pub garden, this obviously took a lot of planning with stalls, BBQ and live music, we still felt that we were given their full attention.
We ate at the Dolphin our first night and although every table was booked they still managed to squeeze us in before the rush. The next day all tables were booked too so it is obviously very popular.
With regard to the area it is just gorgeous, the beach at Thorpeness was stunning and we walked twice down to Aldeborough which was about a 45 min walk along the beach path another lovely place to see. We had two goes out boating on the Lake which was hilarious mainly because I didn't know we had a rudder! The village is very small so the Beach and lake are only a couple of minutes walk. There is a lovely village shop next door linked to the pub and it sells lovely pastries, biscuits etc. You have to order your paper the night before if you want to purchase one.

We spent our last night in Southwold but much preferred it here at the Dolphin in Thorpeness.
We would definitely stay again and would have loved to stay longer.
Thank you to everyone at the Dolphin.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely, it really doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My Wife and I have just returned home after a four night break. Echo all the previous complimentary remarks concerning the inn comfort and food. One thing not mentioned is that the three guest bedrooms have en suite facilities have baths with attached mixer showers. No way can these be 'hooked up' and the wall tiles are only three deep over the bath. As elderly guests near 80 years of age we found that non provision of proper showers a no no! The whole stay in extremely hot weather was marred by the lack of proper shower facilities. We have never experienced this oversight in recent times. Otherwise the Dolphin was excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scaldwelljrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have been staying in Aldeburgh and had a meal at the Dolphin Inn based on a recommendation from my brother who had previously stayed there. We both had steaks and they were delicious. Decided to book in for another meal a couple of days later and we were not disappointed - it was a very busy night (a lovely sunny night and everyone had decided to pop to the pub for their tea!). The staff did an amazing job of keeping everything running smoothly and still kept smiling! We will definitely be trying the accommodation at the Inn in the future for a short break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Another lovely weekend spent at the Dolphin. For the 3rd consequtive year... great food, comfortable beds in immaculate bedrooms and a lovely atmosphere.
Highly recommend a w/end in Thorpeness staying here & enjoying the quirky village,coastal walks and the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: room 3 is a double aspect corner room but all are lovely & 1 & 2 have window seats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aubin785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A gang of us have been coming to Thorpeness each Spring for over 50 years, and we usually choose The Dolphin for drinks and lunch. There were 13 of us this year, so we'd booked a table and, after a morning walk, were looking forward to our lunch.
Drinks were served by a highly efficient bartender and the Adnams was excellent. After being shown to our table, orders were taken and served by very pleasant staff who regularly visited the table to check all was OK.
We ate from the very varied choices on the set price menu and the quality of the food was first class. The local sausages in the sausage and mash dish were especially enjoyed by those that chose them.
Thanks to all at the Dolphin for making our annual pilgrimage so enjoyable. See you next Spring!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TobyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
2.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
1.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
354 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
698 reviews
6 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range: £83 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness
The Dolphin Inn Thorpeness, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing