We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a Deal!”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“what a Deal!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I ate in the Dolphin last night(Saturday 1st March) and had an excellent meal. The place was very busy, especially in the bar, but we were out of the way and the service we had was very good. There was a fixed price menu in addition to the main menu and the specials board, at £12.95 for two courses. We chose salmon and crayfish terrine followed by venison(3) sausages with fried onions and mash, and all was really tasty and well presented. Wish we lived nearer so we could go more often!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglandPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    65
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
51
103
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just got back from an all too brief stay at the Dolphin in Thorpeness. The room was immaculate, extremely clean, spacious and well set up. Plenty of tea and coffee, shampoos, soft towels etc and a superb breakfast. I'm not often impressed by the cooking of others but the vegetarian breakfast that we received was really well thought out and presented beautifully. Top marks all round. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating, it's one of those time when I'm almost reluctant to tell other people about it in case I can't book myself in next time because they are too busy!!! Will be staying there again given the chance.

Room Tip: We had room 3 and can't comment on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent a lovely three nights at the Dolphin Inn a couple of weeks ago. The staff were welcoming, our room, no.1 clean and of adequate size, the food excellent both breakfast and evening meals.
The only downside for us was the configuration of the bathroom. There is only a hand held shower over the bath and it was difficult to maintain a steady water flow and constant temperature. My husband, who finds it difficult to get into a bath and cannot sit down in one, required my assistance. A shower curtain and hand rail would have helped. We did know about this as we had asked at time of booking and was informed of the situation.
On leaving, my husband left his wash bag this was packaged and sent on to us. Thank you Dolphin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgtstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were a group of 6 trying this pub for the first time on Sunday 12th january. From the reviews it sounded a really nice place and was as far as interior and furnishings. Food and service were however terrible. Someone ordered fish and it was only cooked one side and raw on the other. Yorkshire pudding was missing from the roast. The other roasts were served with nearly raw vegetables, and watery gravy. They did not have 2 of the most common wines first ordered with no apology. When I asked to see the manager Dave I was told he was not available. No compensation. Never again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent a night as a group of six at the The Dolphin, occupying all three of their available rooms. The rooms are spacious, stylish and spotlessly clean. The welcome from the owner was very warm and personal and we were very pleased with the accommodation and value for money. The breakfast was excellent and copious and could be customised to suit your tastes and preferences. We dined at the Dolphin on Saturday evening and the food was delicious and enjoyed by all. The rib eye steak is truly awesome, but all of the food met without party's approval wholeheartedly. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back ............

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Room 3 has a double aspect , rooms 1 and 2 have lovely window seats, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Visiting relations and dropped into The Dolphin for lunch: had not dined there for many years, My wife and I enjoyed a beautifully cooked two course meal from the fixed price menu. Both had steak, ale and mushroom pie with mash and green beans and both had very tasty desserts. Very friendly and excellent service and would certainly visit again. TONY ROWLAND. Rushmere St Andrew

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at the dolphin last November and on our return we received the same welcome - excellent,friendly service. There is an ambience at the dolphin that is hard to beat - as is the food. A walk on the almost deserted beach before breakfast, a trip to southwold and a visit to aldburgh made it a fabulous , charge the batteries, short break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
2.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
11.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
7.2 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Property: The Dolphin Inn
Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness
The Dolphin Inn Thorpeness, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing