We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere pub”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere pub”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went here as a family of 7 for dinner over the easter weekend, it was extremly busy so luckily we pre-booked a table, however the service was still really good and it was a really friendly atmosphere. Staff were really nice and polite, food was lovely and it was 2 courses for £12 something which i thought was really good value for money!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    65
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
52
103
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We were visiting thorpeness for the Easter break for my husbands birthday. As it was Easter I booked a table for the Saturday evening weeks in advance and asked if I could bring our small dog and was told yes we are "dog friendly". We even called in for a drink when we arrived the day before to confirm our booking and as I had overheard a conversation about only some tables being dog tables i asked again about bringing the dog. I was told that I hadn't been allocated a "dog table" but they would sort it for Saturday and said it was a good job I had mentioned it.
On the Saturday evening it was very busy and we were shown to our table and given a menu and wine list and got settled and the dog was under the table, after a few minutes we were then asked to move as we couldn't have a dog at the table we were sitting at !! I explained all of the above but we had to move to a table in the bar area, which incidentally was less than 6 ft away from the original . It was crowded and noisy and we had to eat our meal with people stood around our table and using it to put their drinks on, we couldn't hear ourselves think , so much for a nice birthday meal at a country pub. The food was ok but overpriced and all in all not a good experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We went for Sunday lunch. They were able to fit us in after a call on the Sunday morning.
We are both vegetarian and there was a vegi option on the menu. The starters of mushrooms on toast was lovely and very tasty. The main was peppers stuffed with giant cous cous. It was tasty enough but it just wasn't enough as compared to the meat eaters options that we saw going to other tables. Just because we are vegi it doesn't mean we are healthy! I would have loved roast potatoes, veg, yorkshire pudding and some kind of vegi option like goats cheese en croute for example. Pudding was sticky toffee pudding with salted caramel ice cream. Nice, but too salty.
However, the food was good, the location is lovely and the overall atmosphere and decor are really pretty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liveinaryokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I ate in the Dolphin last night(Saturday 1st March) and had an excellent meal. The place was very busy, especially in the bar, but we were out of the way and the service we had was very good. There was a fixed price menu in addition to the main menu and the specials board, at £12.95 for two courses. We chose salmon and crayfish terrine followed by venison(3) sausages with fried onions and mash, and all was really tasty and well presented. Wish we lived nearer so we could go more often!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglandPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just got back from an all too brief stay at the Dolphin in Thorpeness. The room was immaculate, extremely clean, spacious and well set up. Plenty of tea and coffee, shampoos, soft towels etc and a superb breakfast. I'm not often impressed by the cooking of others but the vegetarian breakfast that we received was really well thought out and presented beautifully. Top marks all round. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating, it's one of those time when I'm almost reluctant to tell other people about it in case I can't book myself in next time because they are too busy!!! Will be staying there again given the chance.

Room Tip: We had room 3 and can't comment on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent a lovely three nights at the Dolphin Inn a couple of weeks ago. The staff were welcoming, our room, no.1 clean and of adequate size, the food excellent both breakfast and evening meals.
The only downside for us was the configuration of the bathroom. There is only a hand held shower over the bath and it was difficult to maintain a steady water flow and constant temperature. My husband, who finds it difficult to get into a bath and cannot sit down in one, required my assistance. A shower curtain and hand rail would have helped. We did know about this as we had asked at time of booking and was informed of the situation.
On leaving, my husband left his wash bag this was packaged and sent on to us. Thank you Dolphin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgtstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were a group of 6 trying this pub for the first time on Sunday 12th january. From the reviews it sounded a really nice place and was as far as interior and furnishings. Food and service were however terrible. Someone ordered fish and it was only cooked one side and raw on the other. Yorkshire pudding was missing from the roast. The other roasts were served with nearly raw vegetables, and watery gravy. They did not have 2 of the most common wines first ordered with no apology. When I asked to see the manager Dave I was told he was not available. No compensation. Never again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
0.4 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
993 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Property: The Dolphin Inn
Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness
The Dolphin Inn Thorpeness, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing