We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly nice food, but be prepared to wait for it.”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We popped in here to book a table for an evening meal during the day. When we arrived that evening, we had to wait 10 mins until they sorted out some confusion over our table. We then waited another 10 mins for a drink and then 40 minutes for our food. When it eventually arrived it was fine, although £11.50 for a bowl of cous cous and aubergine wasn't great value. The staff were friendly, but lacking direction. This is a lovely country pub spoiled by poor service. Shame.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank LHS115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Charming village pub. A great selection of beers! Roaring fireplace in the winter and large beer garden in the summer. Bar staff are always smiling and very welcoming. There's a selection of board games to play and boules outside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank ADonny1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Visited this establishment twice, once for a drink and once for a meal.The staff were so welcoming when we went for a drink that we booked a meal for the next evening.The menu was a bit limited but the food we chose was fabulous - well presented , high quality , good portions and good value with very friendly efficient service.The pub/restaurant had a very welcoming/relaxing atmosphere.If we visit this area again we will try their rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We visited Thorpeness for the first time, went to the Dolphin for a bite to eat, I personally did not find it to be value for money and I did not like my food on a piece of wood I would prefer a plate. The staff were all very pleasant but value for money it was not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank 454visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in Thorpeness which is a lovely mock Tudor village dating back to the start of the 20th century. The Dolphin is the only pub and we were happy to have lunch there.

The pub's dining rooms are attractive and the beer is Adnam's. We had the smoked fish platter and the meat equivalent. The food was good, local and attractively served.

Staff were friendly and service was efficient. The garden would have been tempting had it not been almost raining

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in one of the rooms for three nights. Whilst working locally. The staff couldn't be more friendly. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic. I tried something from the menu in the evenings and I have to say all the food was amazing. The presentation looks like something from master chef. At very reasonable prices. The pub had a very nice cosy country feel to it and a massive garden. A lovely pub. I would definitely recommend. Especially if you're looking to stay in the village for a few days.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank stefan78clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was part of a party of six who stayed at The Dolphin for three nights. We played golf at Thorpeness, Aldburgh, Ipswich and Stowmarket (the latter en route). There are three twin rooms, so ideal for room sharing. They were very well presented and smart. The bathroom was fine, no shower cubicle. We dined on two nights. Dinner and breakfast was very good. The venue was very busy and the staff were friendly and efficient throughout. There's a good range of wines, Adnams beers (as might be expected so close to Southwold), with alternates, including Wherry's. Convenient for the Suffolk destinations, highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank bobsoundgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
0.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
1.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,513 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
825 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range: £83 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness
The Dolphin Inn Thorpeness, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing