We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dolphin Inn...A great find!”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Anglia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Dolphin Inn...A great find!”
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Whenever i travel i like to stay at small pubs/B&B's . I am happy to say i'll be coming back here. David is a very welcoming and accomodating host. He was always happy to assit in any way make my stay more comfortable, which was appreciated. i particulary enjoyed the guest beers over my stay, 'rusty bucket' was especially good! The room was clean, comfortable and pretty well furbished with Tv, kettle etc. I also tried the food, the steak was perfectly medium cooked- so often overdone. i'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westisbest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    67
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
53
106
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend break at The Dolphin Inn. The service from the whole team was brilliant from the moment we walked in. The room (no. 2) was spacious, clean and very comfortable. There's a wide range of local ales to choose from and this, coupled with the roaring log fire in the bar, made it perfect for the cold winter evenings. Finally, but by no means least, the food was absolutely exceptional. The huge breakfasts set us up for the day ahead and meant we didn't need to eat again before dinner in the evening! Chris the chef is a star and does an amazing job. To top it all, he even gave us a jar of his chutney when we said how good it was!! Thank you to David and ALL your team. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thorpeness24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We have just stayed in the village for a family weekend (14 of us) and on arrival around 2pm we went into the pub for drinks until our accomodation was ready which would have been around 4pm, however the pub closes at 3pm and it was obvious there could be no exception made and we were virtually thrown out. And again later the arrogant manager/landlord refused 4 of our party entry at 10pm on the saturday evening even though the closing time was clearly stated as 11pm and there were still people drinking in the bar.... the manager wouldnt even open the door and was very rude stating THEY WERE CLOSED !!! (nothing more than that,no conversation) Needless to say the lunch that we had booked for the sunday was promptly cancelled and our money was spent at a lovely village pub near Leiston who couldnt do enough for us.... what a contrast just a few miles down the road. !!! We will not be visiting this pub again neither be recommending to any of our friends.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLou94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidthorpeness, Owner at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
First off I would like to say that I am sorry you did not have a great experience at the Dolphin, however, although we are open all day every day during the summer during the winter we shut down at 3.00pm and then open again at 6.00pm.Simple reason, there is no one about late in the afternoon and as explained at the time the barman(not owner or manager) had to to take the waiteresses and kitchen staff home.I am confident readers would understand that as you could not give us an indication of when your guests where expected or did not organise this before hand the barperson had a good reason to ask you to finish up and we are not unique in closing our restaurant and pub in the afternoon.There is also a very good hotel just up the road from us that is open all day and night and I think I must be clear that the accommodation you were waiting for was not ours.
I believe your colleagues came in after the barman had called "last round" and was busy doing the cash up while waiting for the last of the locals to finish up.It was Halloween night, this was evident by the clothes they wore and your guests seemed to already have had a good evening. The barperson, who is anything but arrogant, made a judgement call and I stand by it. Again I am sorry that as you only got to know us for an hour during your entire stay in Thorpeness, I believe you have the wrong impression of us as since taking over the Dolphin and later the local store, we have worked extremely hard on placing ourselves in the heart of the village, it surely doesn't pay us to be rude or arrogant to our customers.I do hope that when you are next in the area, you pop into the Dolphin Inn again and hopefully you will enjoy the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I recently visited the Dolphin for lunch with my other half and my 3 year old son. What a great place. We're fairly new to the area and live in Ipswich so took a spontaneous trip to the coast towards the end of the school holidays. We spotted the Dolphin and thought we'd give it a go, they have a lovely varied menu, something for everyone and to suit our budget. I have a wheat and dairy intolerance and they were more than happy to create me something that wasn't on the menu but was equally tasty and mouth watering. The sprawling garden kept my little one entertained and there was even colouring books and toys inside. Although it was a very busy Saturday lunchtime the service was efficent and friendly and the food was fantastic. This place is a gem and we will be back very soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzogenrath, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Stayed for a week at The Dolphin with my children. The room was spacious and very clean, with a bath and shower. The staff (David and his team) is friendly and caring and food served there is very pleasant - speaking of which, Margaret's breakfasts comprised of an omelette on toast are simply delicious :)) .

The Dolphin Inn is within a short walking distance from the nearest beach and just a short drive to the nearest township Aldeburgh. Indeed a very nice place for spending a short holiday.

In short - look no further - a very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJerinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed at The Dolphin Inn as we attended a wedding at Thorpeness Country Club (which is literally 5 mins walk away). We were met with brilliant service and it never stopped the whole time we were there. Our room (No.3) was more than adequate for our needs; clean, well furnished and comfortable. Other than the service, the best thing about staying there was the breakfast - it was probably one of the best breakfasts we have ever had at a hotel. Everything was cooked to perfection and even the toast tasted better ! The area around Thorpeness and Aldeburgh was lovely. We enjoyed a nice long walk from Thorpeness along to the coast to Aldeburgh (about 40 mins), where we enjoyed very good fish and chips whilst sitting on a bench facing the sea. A thoroughly enjoyable weekend, and we will return to this area and The Dolphin Inn again one day soon, I hope !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassellPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Dolphin Inn during a trip England for the Benjamin Britten festival in Aldeburgh. It is locally a highly esteemed restaurant, and deservedly so. The food is innovative and excellent. The rooms(there are only 3) are comfortable and well appointed (the only caveat is that my room had a tub with a hand held shower; that didn't bother me, but it might bother others). However, all this is secondary to the fantastic owner of the Inn, David James. He personalizes you visit and goes above and beyond to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. He was spectacular, and makes your time there memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DREWMMITTELMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
2.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,001 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
653 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
688 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
775 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Property: The Dolphin Inn
Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness
The Dolphin Inn Thorpeness, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing