We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mess - CLOSED

The Mess
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We live locally and had previously been to the Mess and were very disappointed. The breakfast took over 30 mins to come out - and we had only ordered two pieces of toast. They had ran out of orange juice and croissants and it was only 9.30am! The service was erratic and the staff were given no guidance as to what they should be doing. They had to come back to ask what we had ordered - toast was the answer. Definitely a style over substance cafe and overpriced. Whilst we applaud the use of great local ingredients - it's no good if the service doesn't match. We really wanted it to be successful as it would bring business to the area. On the day of the Aldeburgh Christmas lights we thought we give it another go as there were a lot of people about. We walked there at 10.30am and the milk was still outside on the step and the door was closed. We went elsewhere. There is so much potential there, I hope they can get things right before the Summer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    5
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Value/Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I visited The Mess on Saturday 23rd November. We have a holiday home in Aldeburgh and enjoy long walks and lunches in the surrounding villages, so were looking forward to trying the new café. I'm afraid that it was a total disappointment. We ordered a Smoked Chicken sandwich and a BLT along with drinks (a beer and a coke, which were fine). The Chicken sandwich was £6 and tiny, looking sad and lonely on it's large white plate; no salad leaves, crisps, cutlery or napkin and delivered wordlessly by a tattooed young chap from the kitchen. Hungry after our 10 mile walk, I ate half whilst we waited for my wife's BLT. And waited. And waited. We asked for an ETA. And waited. I gave my wife the other half of my sandwich. And still we waited. 30 minutes later (is there no bacon in Thorpeness?) the BLT arrived which we eagerly shared, despite it being no larger than it's tiny chicken partner, and again no salad or crisps. Sorry guys, but first impressions count and £17 for two miniscule sandwiches and drinks just won't cut it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Is this Cafe actually finished...........?????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We visited the Mess for coffee today. We have lived in the area for almost 20 years so were very keen to see what the new place is like...... It is not finished we think? It looks very bare, flooring cracked and rough, wires sticking out of ceiling, toilets untiled, just hardwood that is waiting for something to be done, a hook on the loo door. I like rustic but this is a joke? The coffees were almost stone cold, and were replaced on request, and very expensive £2.45 for a small cappuchino! No savoury nibbles such as cheese scones or sausage rools, 3 types of cake though. The cake we shared was nice. It was very lacking in atmosphere, only 2 people in there, staff not chatty. The point in its favour was they were playing great music, Leonard Cohen! I hope they get their act together, and decide what they actually trying to achieve...........Its like a cross between a bric a brac shop and a farm shed! Sorry, wont be going back until we hear its improved!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank muggySaxmundham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monmouth Coffee in Thorpeness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

When staying at the in laws near thorpeness we used to always head to Aldeburgh for coffee and cakes! Not any more! The mess have been really well revived and the new cafe is simple, yet tastefully done. The food, like the decor is simple but very good and they don't burden themselves with a complicated menu. Best of all they serve Monmouth coffee, and whilst the service is a little slow (but always with a smile)i think that kind of fits in with the surroundings so just relax and wait that little bit longer for your coffee. A nice selection of magazines and papers are on the tables. So glad to have this place on the door step from now on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“sunday breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

time to share my new regular sunday breakfast cafe. The Mess cafe in Thorpeness, Suffolk do the best bacon sandwich ever with bbq local bacon and scrummy salad and even a to die-for locally produced mayonaise. Last week I tried their dippy eggs with soldiers - o-so-tasty. comfort food at its best. what a nice way to spend a lazy morning reading the papers and chatting to the friendly staff. not expensive and quality of food is worth every penny.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mess also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing