We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Weekend Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Westdene

The house from the huge, south-facing, back garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the huge, south-facing, back garden
Updated front double with handy single The beach - great for long walks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The house from the huge, south-facing, back garden
Updated front double with handy single
The beach - great for long walks
Lounge/diner lots of space for all
Front of house - loads of parking space
The cosy front room, with space for all, from the other end
Bit of Laura Ashley
Double with single
The boating lake - over the road
Sunny bathroom
Our street
New oak furniture
Golf course - up the road
Newly decorated downstairs garden-facing double
Our kids used to love running up and down this hallway
Our street
Real fires - logs and coal provided
Tennis over the road
Sunny kitchen
The garden - great for a bit of football or cricket
Sea fishing for beginners or the experts
Massive sky
The sea
The boating lake - over the road
New oak furniture
Christmas by the sea
Views
The busy beach
Kitchen with all mod cons
Golf course - up the road
Large Lounge/diner, with dvd & book library and board games for all
First tee on stunning Thorpeness golf course
Unique House in the Clouds and Windmill
Winter tennis
It's never busy and the sun always seems to shine
Secret treasures to be found on beachside walks
Views from the nearby beach (about 500 yards away)
Beautiful beachside walks
Sunset on the Meare
The patio area with loungers, garden furniture and tables and chairs for outdoor dining
The huge garden's waiting for you
Views round every corner
Gorgeous walks, big skies
Bluebell walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Thorpeness, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary A
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Together with a group of friends, we stayed at West Dene for a weekend break.

We were not disappointed with this pleasant and spacious house. Just around the corner from the one pub in the village (the Dolphin).

Staying in the village of Thorpeness was an enjoyable experience with all the nice-looking and very different designs of the various properties.

Would definitely consider West Dene when going back to Thorpeness.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for your kind words - glad you loved it :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40carolen
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly place to spend Christmas”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Westdene is a big, very warm house in a lovely village by the sea, a great place for a holiday at any time of the year. We spent Christmas here with family and everyone had a great time. Only complaint was the cleanliness of the kitchen. I think the oven had been well used by the previous occupants and overlooked by the cleaner. The house could maybe use some updating but the fact that it's a well loved family holiday home is part of its charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely village, proximity to the sea
Liked least: The oven
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
It's all been updated and oven cleaned once a week!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona & C...
Broadway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to escape to for all ages!”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a great time, the half term weather was perfect. The house was very homely and had everything 2 families with dogs needed.
The owners were even extremely kind enough to return some items our little boy left behind!
We would definitely like to return and recommend this to others, even though we'd like to keep it our secret find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thank-you and a pleasure - hope to see you back again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny309
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect House in a Perfect Place”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We arrived at Westdene on Christmas Eve and stayed until the day after Boxing day. We found the house had such a family feel to it. There was so much room. The kitchen was really roomy with lots of crockery and utensils to enable us to cook our christmas dinner. Two big bathrooms made it ideal too. The bedrooms were really roomy too with plenty of hanging space for clothes.The lovely large lounge /diner was so cosy and plenty of sofas and chairs to chill out on. W had a great Christmas evening playing games. There is also a massive garden which would be fabulous to sit out in in the summer the children still had a good old run around and a jump on the trampoline!. We would thoroughly recommend staying at Westdene it is a real family home.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
Thanks for your great review. Do come back. It's even better now :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing