We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had great fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Came here for girls weekend for two nights - £40 each. Had an excellent time. The hotel is big and sprawling with lots of interesting corridors and outside areas. There are some lovely walks in the grounds (it was snowy when we were there) and we also had alook around the Big House (the Chapel is defintiely worth searching for - through a secret door!)
The room was fine (very fine for the price) and had everything we needed (including an outside patio area which was perfect for cooling the wine!)
The swimming pool is a good size and the lounge areas are excellent. Lots of free tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits.
We ate in the bar one night and the food was delicious - and not too badly priced. We were room only but paid £7.50 for breakfast onemorning and it was excellent: plenty of it, hot and tasty. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
All in all we had a fabulous, relaxing time - thank you.

Room Tip: we had rooms 11 and 24 which, although on different corridors were both on the ground floor with acc...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear FairsWestSussex
Thank you for your review ~ delighted you (and the girls) enjoyed yourselves ... come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Horsley Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

I recently stayed in room 21 and the room was basic, there was no bed side light either side,
no shelves in the room or bathroom at all. This was just a basic requirement and should be adressed.
Also the barrier code changed within 10 minutes or less of asking reception, there does not seem to be any comunication with reception etc.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear ted87
Thank you for your review of Horsley Park.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Was given this as a xmas treat by the kids for a time out for mum and dad to chill out after christmas and new year.
They paid for us to have breakfast as well but on booking in was told that it was not so,after a phone to my son he said leave it with him. Returning to the hotel later that afternoon was told it was all sorted,but on the second morning was told again that we had to pay. The room was i would say for a single person ok it had a small double bed only one chair one bed side light and two spot lights that was the lighting. In the drawer of the dressing table was a fixed hair dryer by the mirror but no light so you could not see, just as well my wife took her own but to do her hair had to stand outside the bathroom door as this was the only place where there was enough light and a mirror.On top of the dresser was one of the oldest TV you could find i have thrown away better only had four channels plus sky new`s.Hanging space was a single wardbrobe with two shelves and a sliding door,which fell off on the second night just missing my wife`s feet and the running rail on top just missing her head.This is such a shame as the staff are very good and the location is perfect for sight seeing at national trust

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WestCountryNelson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear WestCountryNelson1
Belatedly, thank you for your review of Horsley Park.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed here in Janurary 2012 with my partner. Overall was happy for the price of £19 per night which was a winter offer. Wouldn't have been to impressed if I had payed the normal rate of £89. Would definitley go back again though.

Good Points - The swimming pool & gym very clean and well equipped. Most of the staff were lovely; helpful & happy. Help yourself to any hot drink 24/7 with fruit & biscuits all complimentary was great. Scrabble & Draughts behind bar for anyone to play kept us entertained for an evening. Surrounding area is beautiful & peaceful also. Warm Chocolate Brownie was delicous. Funky lights that turn on as you walk beneath them on the way to bedrooms. Traficless drive to Guildford and surrounding towns.

Bad Points - Hotel is not as it appears on any website. The hotel isn't in the towers but in the 'management centre' which looks fairly simple from the outside. The bedrooms are small and also simple with a very small & old fasioned television with not many channels and the ones it did have were fuzzy. Mugs in the bedroom were dirty. The WiFi connection was terrible, could barely connect the whole time we were there. The public computers were also very slow with restricted webpages. Minimum of £10 spend at the bar on card and no cash machine within walking distance. En suite bathrooms very small and couldnt barely bed in the shower. No bath :( We went for late breakfast and it was a help yourself buffet for £7.50pp. But it looked as though it had been there a while and just had pastries & tea definitly not worth that amount of money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for your recent review of De Vere Venues Horsley Park.
Whilst I am delighted that you overall experience was great and you would return I shall certainly pick up, where I can, on a few of the points you made.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have stayed at a number of the De Veres hotels and booked for a night away and were totally disappointed. My only advise is if you are a couple looking for a romantic night away dont both booking here as you will end up in a conference centre basic 'hotel'.
We booked an executive room which worked out well as it was tucked away at the end of the corridor and we spent most of the night in there. We did venture down to the bar and had a couple of drinks, but didnt stay long. The breakfast was good, the room was clean but wont be staying there again.

Room Tip: Book and executive room!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ridleyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for your recent review of De Vere Venues Horsley Park.
I am sorry that the property did not match your expectation. We are indeed a business based conference venue, but equally offering great value leisure and weekend breaks. I would agree that there are indeed various levels of rooms available to match the requirements of all our customers.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The best asset here by far are the staff who are amazing followed by the grounds.I have stayed here many times there are a few negative points ...Only 4 channels on the tv...tatty changing rooms for the sports area and them seem to have removed the Spa in the pool area which is a great shame on my last vist the sauna was broken and ongoing maintenance issues with the pool have been sorted out.It is more of a buisness centre but i would say the main building would be an ideal wedding venue.The internet connection can be hit or miss and the pc's in receiption can be very slow.food is generally excellent.Overal not perfect but sometimes the room rates are very good

Room Tip: Ask to be away from main "Hub" area
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytriplad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for your recent review of De Vere Venues Horsley Park.
I am delighted with your overall experience of Horsley particularly your comments regarding the 'amazing' staff and 'excellent' food - Thankyou. With personal experience I would have to agree that Horsley Towers is indeed a fantastic wedding venue. I shall certainly pick up, where I can, on a few of the constructive points you made.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Its not a bad hotel but I guess you need to pay attention to the "venue" tag. Its certainly setup for that market. Dinner in the evening was a self service, a bit like a carvery I suppose which isnt what we were expecting but the food was nice not withstanding that.

I also thought the bar was quite small for the size of the hotel. The service was very efficient however and I have no complaints about the room, except it only had a shower and not a bath and although I wasnt bothered my wife was a bit upset but its only a small thing. I cant fault the cheerfulness of the staff or the service though.

Yes, I would stay here again and now I know about dinner its not an issue, was just a bit of a suprise.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scowners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for your recent review of De Vere Venues Horsley Park.
Horsley Park is indeed a 'venue' within the De Vere portfolio but as your comments indicate we are well suited to both the leisure and business markets. Your commentrs regarding the food, service, team & rooms are much appreciated - thank you.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
567 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,631 reviews
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range: £56 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing