We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Horsley Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here when attending a wedding.

Overall, our first impressions were good: the decor was inviting and there was ample parking. Check in was swift.

However, our initial impression was soon tarnished by a number of things:

Firstly, there was a hole (yes, a hole) on the door of the bathroom in the room. Don't tell me they could have missed that. No, they must have seen it but decided (1) not to fix it and (b) that it was acceptable to give that room to people who paid good money for it. This is completely unacceptable for a hotel of this standard and price - in fact, for any hotel.

Secondly, when we asked for a packed breakfast for the next morning because we were leaving early to catch a flight they said no. Very disappointing. Last year we stayed at a B&B which cost about a third of the price of this hotel and even they did a packed breakfast. We obviously missed the breakfast but from what our friends said it was very generous with lots of pastries. Given that the hotel is staffed 24/7 I don't really see what the problem was with shoving a couple of pastries in a plastic bag and handing them to us our way out, rather than sending us off on an empty stomach. We would have even paid for it extra if necessary.

Finally, when we were checking out the staff at reception took some time to agree on what price we should pay / what the discount for the wedding guests was. We sorted it out in the end, but we could have done without this while in a hurry to catch a flight.

Don't think we'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IluminatioMea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear IluminatioMea
Thank you for your posted review and comments - I am sorry that your overall experience was not a positive one; I will certainly look into the comments you have made.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    299
    233
    108
    82
See reviews for
116
435
17
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here on business and after seeing the set up was very excited. The grounds are gorgeous, it's just a shame the rooms are SO dated. The rest of the hotel is great and the staff were v helpful. The bathrooms were gross and felt slightly dirty. I also had no curtain for the morning! It's fine but could be better!

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Portugal611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Portugal611
Many thanks for your review and great overall comments. Apologies if the rooms were not as you expected, you will note from recent responses that we are about to embark on a significant upgrade to our bedrooms, that will certainly lift their decor.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here as As a stop gap to Redhill from the west country. Venue was good, rooms well decorated and clean. It is a massive place so you may have to walk a lot to get to your room. Facilities are good, gym swimming pool, pool table, restaurant and bar meals (a bit limited). The hotel itself is hard to find and has several entrances so could get confusing if you don't know where you are going. Overall would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyJoe37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Chafchi
Many thanks for your recent review - delighted you had a great time.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed for the weekend due to attending a local wedding. When booking, please note that your bedroom will be in the main building, not the beautiful old Horsely Towers which is at the end of the carpark and used for private functions.

Also bear in mind this is a management training centre - conference rooms all over the place, and bedroom corridors that stretch for miles.

However, we found it delightful. The rooms are perfect for the many single occupants who are attending a conference, but a little small for 2 people. bed is a standard double and everything was very clean. Shower room was fine, but lacking shelf space. Space is tight, but if all you want to do is sleep here, you will like it. There is a small desk for writing and free wifi at a decent speed.

For some strange reason there are no coat hooks in the bedrooms, so you end up hanging jackets and coats on the mirror. Very strange.

We had a quick drink at the bar and a good nights sleep. Nice and peaceful location, clean room and comfortable, but this is no luxury hotel with expansive suits, or multiple TV channels or room service.

Breakfast was superb! If you read my reviews you will see I am very critical of breakfasts - many hotels just do not make any effort. Breakfast here was delightful - i may well stay again just for the food! Array of fruits, cereals, breads, pastries and fresh hot items cooked in front of you ( flame grilled bacon & sausages - YUM!) then served on a chef attended buffet. This really is what breakfast should be like. Endless juices, yoghurts and everything else you might need.

I would certainly stay again, and if you are looking for a comfy bed, clean room and great breakfast its superb. if you are looking for a romantic suite with excellent views and spending hours in your room, you may prefer somewhere more suitable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellerocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear travellerocity
Many thanks for your fantastic (& balanced) review - look forward to seeing you again at Horsley Park.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
476 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here last weekend for 3 nights, the hotel is set in the most beautiful surroundings, with plenty of free parking, and security barriers to get in and out, so you feel very secure.

The welcome we received from Kelly was fantastic, we asked for a quite room. We were given no 33, but unfortunatly it was right over the front door, as soon as we pointed this out she moved us to a room at the back overlooking the pond no 46. However all these rooms are really small, the bed was not even a standard double 4'6"x6', My husband who is 5'8" his feet were at the end of the bed, the ensuite shower room was equally as small.This part of the hotel looks quite new so why make the rooms so small, We will not return because of the nights sleep which was very uncomfortable, it was not hot last weekend, in fact it poured all the time, but because there is a silly little window that only the top bit opens it was very hot, in the summer months it must be unbearable. We asked to see an executive room before we left and boy what a difference a large 6' bed room to walk around and a large window that a third opened. We would only go back if we could get one of these rooms.

However the breakfast was fanntastic, plenty of choice, and dinner was very nice as well.

The hotel is well situated for National Trust properties, as well as Denbies Wine Estate, along with other places of interest,

Room Tip: Larger rooms ask to be in the 200s
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Jacandhow
Thank you for your recent posting. I am sorry that the bedrooms did not match your expectation but as you say, there are upgrade options available to larger bedrooms, perhaps more suited to leisure guests staying as a couple.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This place really sells itself well but it fails to deliver. Admittedly we got a good price on our one night stay but we had expected much more. The grounds are wonderful but inside, the hotel has no soul. The reception staff (and we saw at least 4) ranged from nice-but-clueless to downright-rude. The room was tiny and noisy - despite being in a rural setting it is set up to cater for large corporate groups!! The literature everywhere declared it is championing British hospitality - we didn't any sign of it. The pool and leisure club were awful - like something out of the Eastern Bloc! The only good thing I can say was - the breakfast was alright. I would have been livid if I'd paid the full price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellydeancumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear nellydeancumbria
Thank you for your recent review - please accept my apologies that you stay did not live up to your expectations. Whilst we are indeed a corporate training centre I would hope we do offer excellent service & value for leisure weekend breaks if visiting the Guildford area.
Your comments regarding our pool & gym are unusual but again, maybe our facilities just did not match your expectation.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on the devere spring offers deal for a visit to Thorpe Park which is only 30 mins drive away. They have no family rooms so I had to book a seperate room for my two teenage daughters which I think they were grateful for. The hotel itself is quite hard to find and not very well signposted abd the sat nav takes you round all the private estates at the back of the hotel. The rooms were small but adequate and clean. Could do with new tv,s as they are a bit old. When I went to Thorpe Park with the kids my partner used all the facilities. The gym is small but good and the pool is large enough for a good swim and the surrounding area is lovely for a walk. The hotel is missing an opportunity for hiring out bikes as the local area is great for cycling around the woods. Good breakfast on the last morning to see us off. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smo4ggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Smo4ggy
Many thanks for your overall positive comments, delighted you had a good stay. As per the last review response a refurb is indeed winging it's way to us this Summer. We have updated our online directions regarding misleading sat nav's to try and overcome the very issue you faced & I'll take a look at the bikes idea - sounds like a good one.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
6.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Property: De Vere Horsley Estate
Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing