We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here a few times while my Daughter was at University in Guildford. Lovely buildings and grounds with character. The first time we had a small double which was good value and we made use of the indoor swimming pool etc. The only complaint was that it was a wet and wintry night and impossible to read the directions and signs around the grounds as they were written in pale green and beige. The second time we stayed in the old house which was nice and the room was much larger. We had to walk across to the modern building for breakfast but umberellas were provided in a stand by the front door. No staff seemed to be around in the old building. The third time we visited we were given a room on the first floor in the main new building, which was bigger than the room we had before on the ground floor and I think it was a superior room. Unfortunately it was a cold November night and the room was freezing cold, we hardly slept all night. When I mentioned this at Reception the following morning I was advised to turn up the radiator but couldn`t find one in our room, so asked a housekeeper we happened to see and she gave us an extra duvet and the second night we slept much better. Apparently there are going to be some mobile heaters in these upstairs rooms. Lovely to have drinks machine and fresh fruit available free of charge 24hrs a day, our only complaint is the hot sausages and bacon at breakfast is put on blocks of wood under hot lamps but unfortunately still goes cold and greasy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear travel fan - many thanks for your review, albeit 'mixed' - I shall certainly pick up on the points you have made.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas with my husband and in-laws. Booked our 4 double rooms back in July during the De Vere 48 hour sale and got them for £20 a night each not including breakfast but free hot drinks were available 24 hours a day - bargain! The rooms were clean, cosy and quiet although I imagine it might have been a lot noisier if the hotel had been busier.

The swimming pool was only 1.2 metres deep all the way across (about 15 metres) but we had it to ourselves most of the time so it wasn't a problem. Towels for the pool were available from reception. Could only fit about 4 people in the sauna but as noboby else wanted to use it at the same time as us it didn't matter. Did not use the small gym.

The grounds were lovely to walk around and we were just around the corner from St. Martin's Church where we went to a service on Christmas morning.

Plenty of room for us to all sit together and relax in the bar area where we opened our Christmas presents and played board games. We had breakfast together on our last morning. Pre-booked the night before it was £8.50 each. Lots to choose from including the standard fry up and cereal, but also fruit salad, porridge, pastries, smoothies, omelettes,cheese and cold meats. Check out time wasn't until 11am over the Christmas period.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WitBabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear WitBabla
Thank you for a great review - delighted to read how you enjoyed your Christmas at Horsley Park.
Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Lovely clean and pleasant hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Plenty of free tea or coffee in the lounges and free wifi everywhere.
This hotel mixes modern with old perfectly. Take time to explore.
The only fault I have is the diner menu was very poor and overpriced. The night we stayed it was Dab in cream sauce, chilli or cheese & onion pasty. Try going to Kirthon Indian about a mile down the road it is superb.
The swimming pool changing area is quite small and if there was more than 2 in there was no room to move.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Shirley
Thank you for your review and overall comments.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I booked exclusive use of Horsley Towers for our wedding reception which was held on a Sunday during peak season. We were assigned a wedding co-ordinator who was my point of contact and was excellent in responding quickly to the many emails I sent with various questions and queries! Our wedding co-ordinator left and we were assigned a new wedding co-ordinator 2-3 months before the wedding but the transition was seamless as all the details were passed to the new co-ordinator who was superb, both prior to the wedding and on the day. The day went without a hitch and all the staff were really good and could not do enough for you. Steve, the toastmaster, was brilliant and a delight to have there on the day to keep guests happy. The wedding breakfast was very good and the service in bringing the food out was managed very well. The venue and grounds are superb with so many photo locations, including some beautiful indoor locations which is great if you get a very wet day and need a plan B for photos! Overall, very impressed with the venue and staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBride2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Happy Bride
A very happy bride and 5 stars - not much more we could ask for. Delighted to read that your day was all you wished for - congratulations and thank you for choosing Horsley Towers for your special day.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

So having stayed here before in 2012 we decided to choose this again on xmas day evening after the hussle bussle of visiting families etc. We got a good rate, and after avoiding all the fallen down trees we arrived around 720pm. Receptionist was pleasent. But BOOOOM the room wasnt so good this time. The TV is in need of upgrading unless you want to go back in time to 1990s. The heater never worked thankfully it wasnt too cold outside the towel heater didnt work, only found one working plug socket and the shower drain plug took for ever and a day to filter so near on flooded over the top. Hairs on the shower head we noticed but was the morning so too late to ask for a cleaner room so had to do the cleaners job for them PLENTY of dust in the room not the best cleaners we would assume. The kettle worked but took me ages to clean out the limescale. If it wasnt xmas day and after having a busy day we would of asked to be moved right away but needed the sleep and no doubt the other rooms would of been just as poor. In future we will pay the extra £15-20 to stay in a newly refurbished and comfortable premier inn

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank luke14ott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Like
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park. I apologise if the services and facilities were not at their usual standard and your stay was not great - I will certainly pick up on the points you have made.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

There is a modern new part and a Historic building.
You need to know which you are staying in. I love the old part, which is a listed building with creaky floors, massive rooms and quite quaint. Perhaps best for couples. Only disadvantage is you need to walk across the grounds to eat/drink.
The other part is just like many other modern hotels with smallish rooms. I have used this part on courses, for which it is fine and I have always found to be clean.
The food is 4 star, mainly buffet, but excellent.
The hotel has a meeting and conference centre, so will be full of business people, not so many children.

Room Tip: Ask if you are in the old part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Gordon
Thank you for an overall great review - shame about only 3 stars?
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was an overnight stay for a wedding. The Hotel and grounds are impressive, the conference centre complex is extensive clean and well appointed. Reception and facilities are very good. Our room was a classic double in the centre; the rooms are clean but very small, designed more for one smaller person than two average and above. the shower room toilet was equally tiny. If I was attending a conference and just wanted a place to sleep it would be fine. but for more than one unless you are very small it may not suit you. If it wasn't for the room size my rating would have been higher.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nogtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Nogtraveller
Many thanks for your review - whilst some rooms are smaller than others we do have a fair selection available to suit all guests.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
573 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,954 reviews
6.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing