We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for a wedding. We were quite disappointed with the first room we were given as it was very small, up and down several sets of stairs and had many broken bits in there. We called reception and we were moved to a much nicer and bigger room. Complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits available. Lovely breakfast buffet and restaurant menu. The chef was delightful to talk to. We thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. The wedding was beautiful.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sweetpotato25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear sweetpotato
Many thanks for a great review, delighted you enjoyed the venue and had a great weekend with us.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Having been offered a free night stay to lure us into booking our wedding here I wouldn't bother.
Our 1st room - like a bucket of water been thrown on the carpet - they did clean it but still damp. Moved rooms. Bedside table round wrong way - to find it had a broken handle. Cracks in coving. Overpriced food. Other than that - the staff are an asset to the tired management centre

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Caroline
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park - I am very sorry that the venue was obviously not to your liking and you feel that you would not return.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was the second visit here. Had 3 nights so upgraded to a bigger room.
I think this hotel is good considering the price and it includes a buffet breakfast which is very good.
Only thing I think the rooms could be cleaner in the corners of the bath, wall of the bathroom needed wiping.
Swimming pool was nice and clean but unfortunately the sauna wasn't working.

Room Tip: If you upgrade it's only a bigger room, no extras like robes fridge etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie2812UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Debbie - many thanks for your review.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here with a walking group over New Year. The hotel is really a management centre, but the room had large, comfortable beds and were good quality. Food was a buffet, but was excellent, as it was constantly replenished and chefs were on hand.
Just a shame there were so many families staying and large queues for the New Year buffet

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review - delighted to read that you enjoyed yourself.
Very sorry that you felt NYE was too family orientated - that was very much the way we intended it to be.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here a few times while my Daughter was at University in Guildford. Lovely buildings and grounds with character. The first time we had a small double which was good value and we made use of the indoor swimming pool etc. The only complaint was that it was a wet and wintry night and impossible to read the directions and signs around the grounds as they were written in pale green and beige. The second time we stayed in the old house which was nice and the room was much larger. We had to walk across to the modern building for breakfast but umberellas were provided in a stand by the front door. No staff seemed to be around in the old building. The third time we visited we were given a room on the first floor in the main new building, which was bigger than the room we had before on the ground floor and I think it was a superior room. Unfortunately it was a cold November night and the room was freezing cold, we hardly slept all night. When I mentioned this at Reception the following morning I was advised to turn up the radiator but couldn`t find one in our room, so asked a housekeeper we happened to see and she gave us an extra duvet and the second night we slept much better. Apparently there are going to be some mobile heaters in these upstairs rooms. Lovely to have drinks machine and fresh fruit available free of charge 24hrs a day, our only complaint is the hot sausages and bacon at breakfast is put on blocks of wood under hot lamps but unfortunately still goes cold and greasy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear travel fan - many thanks for your review, albeit 'mixed' - I shall certainly pick up on the points you have made.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas with my husband and in-laws. Booked our 4 double rooms back in July during the De Vere 48 hour sale and got them for £20 a night each not including breakfast but free hot drinks were available 24 hours a day - bargain! The rooms were clean, cosy and quiet although I imagine it might have been a lot noisier if the hotel had been busier.

The swimming pool was only 1.2 metres deep all the way across (about 15 metres) but we had it to ourselves most of the time so it wasn't a problem. Towels for the pool were available from reception. Could only fit about 4 people in the sauna but as noboby else wanted to use it at the same time as us it didn't matter. Did not use the small gym.

The grounds were lovely to walk around and we were just around the corner from St. Martin's Church where we went to a service on Christmas morning.

Plenty of room for us to all sit together and relax in the bar area where we opened our Christmas presents and played board games. We had breakfast together on our last morning. Pre-booked the night before it was £8.50 each. Lots to choose from including the standard fry up and cereal, but also fruit salad, porridge, pastries, smoothies, omelettes,cheese and cold meats. Check out time wasn't until 11am over the Christmas period.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WitBabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear WitBabla
Thank you for a great review - delighted to read how you enjoyed your Christmas at Horsley Park.
Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Lovely clean and pleasant hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Plenty of free tea or coffee in the lounges and free wifi everywhere.
This hotel mixes modern with old perfectly. Take time to explore.
The only fault I have is the diner menu was very poor and overpriced. The night we stayed it was Dab in cream sauce, chilli or cheese & onion pasty. Try going to Kirthon Indian about a mile down the road it is superb.
The swimming pool changing area is quite small and if there was more than 2 in there was no room to move.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Shirley
Thank you for your review and overall comments.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
573 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,954 reviews
6.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,656 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing