We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellet value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I paid about £55 B&B to stay here which was outstanding value for money. I didn't take full advantage of the facilities as I arrived late and left early. If I had to give an opinion on the room I would say it was the equivalent of a good Premier Inn but cheaper.
I'm not a foodie person but do appreciate decent food when I have it and I was impressed by the scrambled eggs of all things at breakfast.
One minor criticism: When you arrive at night and it's pitch dark and you don't know your surroundings, making your way to the reception can be a bit confusing. So listen to what the person tells you on the intercom at the entrance barrier. Also the postcode I entered on my satnav took me up what is now a cul de sac of posh houses. The hotel receptionist told me that this used to be the hotel entrance. It's better to follow the signs rather than the satnav when you get into the village.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoggyDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear templeorum
Many thanks for your recent review of Horsley Park and overall comments. I would agree with the directional signage and would ask all guests to follow the directions as per our website directions.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Went for a family wedding reception. Wonderful setting, master of ceremonies did a fantastic job, food was great even the Fussiest eaters were sorted out with minimum of faff and fuss. Room where disco was set up was a little warm to be comfortable but there were plenty of places to cool off.

A few little niggles - as a wedding party of over 150 with vast majority booked into hotel I would have thought there would be more than 1 on reception to check people in.
The room we stayed in on 3rd floor was clean except the bathroom which still had other people's hair in. Was in a bit of disrepair with black patches at the bottom of the bath and paint cracking all over.
A little more information in the room would have been nice.
Signage down to the management centre where breakfast was provided for us should have been better. Breakfast was plentiful with loads of different options. Just wish the cooked items had been hotter. We sat on a freshly laid table only to find 3 out of 5 cups hadn't been cleaned properly and still had coffee/tea stains on.

Just a little bit more attention to detail would make a good stay great

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Jen F
Thank you for your review of Horsley Park. Delighted with your overall comments and will certainly pick up the detail with my team, I absolutely agree that it is hugely important to do so.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very clean, very corporate, if you have stayed at a De Vere before then you know what to expect here.

Everything is clean, comfortable and designed in my opinion for the business end of the market. Day time seems full of corporate conference types and the evening seems to be those plus business travellers.

You cannot really fault the place, staff were professional, food was good. Would stop again for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simplemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear simplemick
Many thanks for a great review.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at the castle, which was very magical. The room was nice (even though the windows had just one glass layer - not good during winter stay I guess).

The location is interesting - around resindential area of wealthy English man. Nice woods where I ran (and get lost).

The food was very good, service was helpfull.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear hraju
The Towers is indeed a 'magical place' - thank you for your recent review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

For £40 a night no one should complain. Front reception staff were very helpful when I arrived. Especially Holly. Really nice bar meal. Breakfasts were quite good but expensive at £10. Asked for a bottle of water to be brought to my room around 3,pm as I had a bad migraine. I kept trying to call but wasn't getting any answers so rang outside number from my mobile. Finally got it at 7.30! This and no bath are the only negatives. For the money very good and also curtesy bus to station. Very much a business hotel but would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank confused555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear confused555
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park & overall comments - apologies for the delay in getting that request to you.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We found the hotel lacking in directions, both outside and inside. We were initially disappointed by the menu on display for dinner which looked very basic but, when we arrived for our meal, we found it was a buffet and not the waiter service we had expected. (The menu had not specified this.) The choice was excellent - much more variety than had been indicated on the menu - and the food was very good. Breakfast was also very nice, with something for everyone, although we were surprised there were no croissants which we would have liked. Having checked in advance that the hotel had a sauna, our biggest disappointment was to find that, rather than the shared experience we had been looking forward to, the saunas were tiny cubicles in the two changing rooms. The pool was small and could have done with more loungers around it. Luckily, we were checking out on a Sunday so we did not have to be out at 9.00 a.m. which is the weekday checkout time and which seems exceptionally early.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamond2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear diamond2607
Thank you for your recent review; I was delighted to read your comments regarding our great food, this is hugely important to us.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I chose to stay here in January simply because I wasn't prepared to pay what I considered to be outrageous prices at the nearby Hilton. The prices on offer here for B&B were, quite literally, half that of the Hilton.

As I'm sure you've already spotted, this is a management training/conference centre and is geared accordingly. It's a sprawling complex and takes a few minutes for you to get your bearings. In fairness, De Vere do provide free-of-charge site plans, so there's little excuse for getting lost.

The venue is clean and well furnished throughout. But, on the day I visited, it seemed as deserted as the Marie Celeste. The staff were polite enough but......functional. No hint of a smile or small-talk. Added to the emptiness of the venue, it felt cold and sterile.

I ate out. So, I can't comment on the restaurant's dinner menu. Breakfast (a buffet) offered something for everyone and was perfectly acceptable.

Despite the reasonably comfortable, well furnished and clean rooms and decent breakfast menu, I'll not be rushing back here anytime soon. For a businessman travelling alone, it was just too cold, too sterile for my liking. It's no fault of the venue: It is what it is. Had I been here as part of a team on a management training course, I think I may have had a totally different perspective.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan_Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Duncan
Thank you for your recent review and overall comments.
The venue has indeed been a bit quieter this month but as we move into stronger trading months the volume of guests (and hopefully atmosphere) will certainly improve.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
571 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,950 reviews
6.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range: £57 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing