We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
565 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“very pleasant”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

i spent the week at Horsley park on a training course. The room was basic but had everything you need. the grounds are superb though and the food at all three meals are plentiful.
I also manage to squeeze in a few swims when there.
the only downside if that sometimes the signal is poor so you can suddenly get cut off in the middle of a conversation.
i have now stayed there on several occasions and actually look forward to staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear cgab2013
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park & overall comments.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    312
    250
    123
    89
See reviews for
122
458
20
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

At only £19 per night we were fortunate enough to be allocated a room in the Towers, normally reserved for weddings, These are obviously older rooms given the age of the building. Unlike many of the De Vere venues it was a comfortable sized room with all the usual facilities you'd expect. A grand building with a stairway to match. Fantastic grounds positioned next to a lake with a fountain in the middle. Picture postcard material we thought at the time.

As usual energy stations available with free flowing hot beverages. The only downside we found with our energy station in the Tower building was that the stainless steel milk jug was empty and judging by the smell hadn't been cleaned / replenished in quite a while. However all the energy stations in the Management Centre were well stocked with fruit, biscuits and porridge pots as well as all the usual beverages.The mini gym and swimming pool were perfect. Clean and functional and quiet. Maintenance of this lovely old building has been overlooked so it seems (shame) judging by the broken windows and the condition at the rear of the building which we noticed on our relaxing walk around the grounds.

Breakfast was great (buffet style - eat as much as you like) On the Sunday night we were the sole occupiers of this grand old building..... VERY peaceful. Free wi-fi worked well unlike some of the other De Vere venues we have been to, however we found problems using our mobiles anywhere inside any of the buildings and had to go outside to make a call. All things considered,you have to remember this is a conference centre aimed at corporate events and NOT a 4* hotel so its geared up for business use rather than the leisure industry.

Bottom line - would we go back?...You bet

Room Tip: You could always ask for a room in the Towers if you want accommodation with character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear GaznMandy
Thank you very much for your thorough and hugely constructive feedback on Horsley Park; delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Spent a lovely weekend here and found it to be great value for money, we had drinks and a bar snack on Friday which were good with the staff very attentive and charming.
The breakfasts were lovely and couldnt be faulted.
We wandered around the Old Tower including the closters,tiny chapel, grounds and lake, which was beautiful.
We were lucky enough to have the pool and sauna to ourselves on Saturday afternoon.
Reception staff were very helpful in ordering taxis and advice with regard to the local area.
Overall we loved it and I wouldnt hesitate to return and also recomend to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Stable annex which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebirdGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your revent posting and overall comments; for reference the 'stable annex' is Horsley Court, one of the three buildings we have here at Horsley Park.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Booked a one night stay online. On checking in the computer was down so they told us to go and make ourselves comfortable in the lounge and help ourselves to free tea, coffee, fruit and biscuits. Great choices of teas. Had a three course meal there, lovely food, well cooked and presented, also good choices. Fire alarm went off towards the end and all staff acted calmly and professionally in getting us out into the grounds. Gym and pool small but nice to have, gym has good range of equipment. Room clean, ok size not the biggest but was comfortable and very quiet over night resulting in a good nights sleep. Breakfast first class, fantastic choice and quality. Staff all great, helpful, polite and smiling! Reception had 5 receptionists on when we checked in, served straight away, quick and efficient. First class hotel would DEFIANTLY recommend it. One receptionist stuck out in excellent customer service but did not get her name. Relaxing and picturesque surroundings, great walk on nice day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Jeremy
Thank you for your recent review. Delighted to read your overall positive comments.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

stay here was a good experience the grounds were excellent but the check in & check out was to long as not enough receptionists working 15 minutes to check in & out was to long for me Manager said he would get another receptionist but they did not appear as well as the manager the carvery was a disappointment as the beef was not very good we observed that the chef had problems carving AND THAT WAS WITH A SHARP KNIFE SO WE FILLED UP WITH SWEETS The breakfast was good For a devere hotel I was disappointed

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonywoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Anthony
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park. I am sorry that you found issues at the venue, we will certainly look to improve the areas you have noted.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Horsley hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here for three night on business. My room was a middle room, with plenty of light that been said it was tiny. The bed and pillows were comfy and the room was of a very good standard. The bathroom was much worse than I would have expected for a hotel in this price range and I was generally not impressed.

First contact with service was not great - couldn't find my booking and wasn't very helpful, but someone else sorted it and everyone else I dealt with was really friendly and helpful.

They have a pretty big gym which was well equipped and others in my party said the pool and sauna were really good.

The food for lunch is great.... dinner venture out their are lots of great places to eat.

The location is bad, its literally in the middle of nowhere, just a little bit out, but it was only a tenner from hotel in a taxi to dinner (Black Swann) in Ockham.

Room Tip: Request the towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffield1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Sheffield1976
Many thanks for your recent review and overall comments.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights as part of a training course. Bedroom was not clean, with previous occupants unwashed cups still present and a desk chair that wasn't safe to sit on. Complained to the front desk but nothing was done; wasn't a good sign where there person did not make any note of room number.

Would echo the other negative reviews on Trip Advisor and will be avoiding this and other De Vere venues in the future.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear elljones
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park. I am sorry that you found the venue disappointing and would not consider us for future visits.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
542 reviews
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
107 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
793 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#4 of 4 in Cobham
1,610 reviews
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Property: De Vere Horsley Estate
Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing