We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good for an overnight stay at a very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
166 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“very good for an overnight stay at a very good price”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here the night before we were to play at Effingham Golf club (5 minutes away). On a special price at £38 we had low expecations and had eaten dinner before at the close by pub "The Plough".
Check in was very efficient and helpful in the management centre - the part probably used more for conferences and training.
We stayed in the manor house - on the 2nd floor a short walk away - and the double room with en suite was clean and adequate. The room was built into the roofline and so a little quirky but for such a short stay we were not bothered.
A good size TV with a lot of digital channel options.
Lots of towels and toileteries.

I would say more for business travellers than leisure; but we were on a leisure short stop and found it very acceptable. Better than a Travelodge or Holiday Inn.

We did not use the restaurant so I cannot comment on that part.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Andy
Many thanks for your recent review.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    311
    246
    120
    88
See reviews for
122
456
20
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we arrived very late from a long six hour drive,to be greeted by this loverly hotel,staff were excellant and took no time to book us in the hotel looks large but our room was so close to everything we enjoyed the space,and to bed we went,,,great night sleep and in the morning breakfast was very good we went to explore after breakfast and can honestly say this is a nice hotel with all the attractions for a relaxing time ,,,,fantastic gardens space and secure car-park just some of its many attractions...well done all

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pejo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear pejo10
Many thanks for your excellent recent review on Horsley Park - really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on her birthday, the grounds are beautiful and Horsley Towers (part of the grounds usually used for weddings) is especially picturesque.

However, a double room with a bedside lamp and table only on one side, the smallest double bed we've experienced in a hotel, the TV to the side of the bed, one bath towel; all of these led us to the conclusion that our double was a 'business' double intended for a sole business traveller, a conclusion confirmed by reception when pressed.

Coupled with a poor restaurant menu choice I'm afraid we won't return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulianandOlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear JulianandOlga
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park and overall comments. I cannot disagree that some of our rooms are 'compact' but all have either double or kingsize beds and larger rooms are certainly available as upgrade options.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

One we visit a couple of times a year and so far has always been clean and comfortable. We find it a good base for exploring Historic sites, R.H.S Wisley and beautiful countryside. It also gives us valuable "our" time after visiting the family and before driving up to the North East. Helpful friendly staff, attractive grounds and on this trip only £20 for a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Gail
Thank you for another review; delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again. RHS Wisley is indeed very close, as is Painshill Gardens and even Denbies Wine Estate.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone kent uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much for a fantastic night
We held our masonic ladies night there 22-24march 2014
The setting was fantastic , best meal I have ever had at a hotel catering for 100 people dinning , staff and service out off this world . The management must be so pleased as there staff are a credit to them .Thank you again for making our ladies night so special

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank oldboot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear oldboot42
Many thanks for a great review following your recent visit to Horsley Park - delighted you enjoyed the event we hosted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
543 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

i spent the week at Horsley park on a training course. The room was basic but had everything you need. the grounds are superb though and the food at all three meals are plentiful.
I also manage to squeeze in a few swims when there.
the only downside if that sometimes the signal is poor so you can suddenly get cut off in the middle of a conversation.
i have now stayed there on several occasions and actually look forward to staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear cgab2013
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park & overall comments.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

At only £19 per night we were fortunate enough to be allocated a room in the Towers, normally reserved for weddings, These are obviously older rooms given the age of the building. Unlike many of the De Vere venues it was a comfortable sized room with all the usual facilities you'd expect. A grand building with a stairway to match. Fantastic grounds positioned next to a lake with a fountain in the middle. Picture postcard material we thought at the time.

As usual energy stations available with free flowing hot beverages. The only downside we found with our energy station in the Tower building was that the stainless steel milk jug was empty and judging by the smell hadn't been cleaned / replenished in quite a while. However all the energy stations in the Management Centre were well stocked with fruit, biscuits and porridge pots as well as all the usual beverages.The mini gym and swimming pool were perfect. Clean and functional and quiet. Maintenance of this lovely old building has been overlooked so it seems (shame) judging by the broken windows and the condition at the rear of the building which we noticed on our relaxing walk around the grounds.

Breakfast was great (buffet style - eat as much as you like) On the Sunday night we were the sole occupiers of this grand old building..... VERY peaceful. Free wi-fi worked well unlike some of the other De Vere venues we have been to, however we found problems using our mobiles anywhere inside any of the buildings and had to go outside to make a call. All things considered,you have to remember this is a conference centre aimed at corporate events and NOT a 4* hotel so its geared up for business use rather than the leisure industry.

Bottom line - would we go back?...You bet

Room Tip: You could always ask for a room in the Towers if you want accommodation with character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear GaznMandy
Thank you very much for your thorough and hugely constructive feedback on Horsley Park; delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
538 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,545 reviews
4.5 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Property: De Vere Horsley Estate
Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing