We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value at special rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is a fair 3 star hotel with a few extras. The setting is idyllic, especially on a fine sunny day. The rather rambling hotel is next to a mansion (reserved for weddings etc) with a big park and small pond!

There is a constant supply of fresh hot coffee, tea and biscuits. Also a indoor pool (warm) and small gym available. Several communal seating areas, including one with a bar.

I booked two rooms one of which was cleanish.....sometimes that ubiquitous silicone seems just so difficult to keep from cracking! Silicone should be banned from all hotel bathrooms! Family members in the second room stated that it didn't appear that clean and two dustbins had not been emptied. Hopefully, just a one-off oversight. But not pleasant as a first impression on arrival.

Reception staff were welcoming and the breakfast buffet was very varied and good. The hot food was hot!

Sound insulation could be a bit better....modern hotels do tend to beat older ones on this.

I would stay again and 39£ a night (special rate) was a reasonable price to pay for the level of hotel and general comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisfrombelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Chris
Many thanks for your recent review.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 nights through a special offer. Sadly the website crashed and we ended up getting one 19 pound night and one at 39 making an average of 30 quid a night.
Easy to find but main building once through barriers is just a building that looks like anyother cheap hotel. The towers is at the back of the complex and is pretty to look at as are the grounds.
When checking in the receptionist was friendly when she eventually made eye contact. Room was small,we've stayed at other venues and this was disappointing by comparison. We were right next to a walkway so had to keep our blind down for privacy and it was noisey at times.
We spent a few hours in the bar which wasnt outrageously expensive and barman put music on for us.
Didnt eat but everything we saw looked nice.
Free tea,coffee and brownies which was nice. Pool was warm but steps could do with upgrading as top one was very insteady.
Lovely outside areas,there was even a heron in the pond area!
Fire alarm went off,pretty much no staff to be seen and were just eventually told it was safe to go back! When I paid our bill the receptionist didnt really engage in any conversation,didnt even ask if we'd enjoyed our stay!
Overall worth 30 quid a night.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Jade
Thank you for your review of Horsley Park and overall great comments; I shall certainly raise the 'engagement' point with my team - that is hugely important to us at De Vere Venues.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

On arrival it is a little confusing as there isn't a very clear sign for reception and we headed to Horsley Towers, the main hotel reception is in the business centre which on the outside looks a little drab but when inside you wouldn't know.

We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff and this continued throughout our stay, our room was of a good size although we did book a superior double. There is a lovely bar area with complimentary hot drinks and water.

Sleep quality
Firm and supportive mattresses with plenty of pillows, we were not disturbed at any point and I had a good 10 hours kip.

Breakfast
Fantastic quality, lots of choice and no cheap orange juice. Perfect to start the day, it's a Buffett style and for the £8.50 they charge I think is very good value.

Leisure complex
This unfortunately didn't live up to my expectation the pool is adequate size but only has 2 loungers. I chose this place specifically because I wanted to relax by the pool and read. The hotel website was a little lacking on Information about the pool and now I know why. with kids dive bombing and running around I didNt hang about. The changing rooms are tiny and the sauna is inside so you cannot sauna with your partner. The gym looked ok but I didn't venture inside.

My husband objected to a man taking his daughters into the mens changing room when they were of an age to dress themselves. This is a bug bear of ours where any establishment that offers leisure facilities do not provide family and adult only changing areas. This isn't directed at the hotel just a personal opinion.

On the whole a wonderful weekend and I would certainly return in the future if I am ever in this part of the country.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank no1missmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park and overall very constructive comments. I do understand your comments re the changing rooms and it is certainly something we are looking at to see if and how we could overcome.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here the night before we were to play at Effingham Golf club (5 minutes away). On a special price at £38 we had low expecations and had eaten dinner before at the close by pub "The Plough".
Check in was very efficient and helpful in the management centre - the part probably used more for conferences and training.
We stayed in the manor house - on the 2nd floor a short walk away - and the double room with en suite was clean and adequate. The room was built into the roofline and so a little quirky but for such a short stay we were not bothered.
A good size TV with a lot of digital channel options.
Lots of towels and toileteries.

I would say more for business travellers than leisure; but we were on a leisure short stop and found it very acceptable. Better than a Travelodge or Holiday Inn.

We did not use the restaurant so I cannot comment on that part.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Andy
Many thanks for your recent review.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we arrived very late from a long six hour drive,to be greeted by this loverly hotel,staff were excellant and took no time to book us in the hotel looks large but our room was so close to everything we enjoyed the space,and to bed we went,,,great night sleep and in the morning breakfast was very good we went to explore after breakfast and can honestly say this is a nice hotel with all the attractions for a relaxing time ,,,,fantastic gardens space and secure car-park just some of its many attractions...well done all

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pejo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear pejo10
Many thanks for your excellent recent review on Horsley Park - really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on her birthday, the grounds are beautiful and Horsley Towers (part of the grounds usually used for weddings) is especially picturesque.

However, a double room with a bedside lamp and table only on one side, the smallest double bed we've experienced in a hotel, the TV to the side of the bed, one bath towel; all of these led us to the conclusion that our double was a 'business' double intended for a sole business traveller, a conclusion confirmed by reception when pressed.

Coupled with a poor restaurant menu choice I'm afraid we won't return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JulianandOlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear JulianandOlga
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park and overall comments. I cannot disagree that some of our rooms are 'compact' but all have either double or kingsize beds and larger rooms are certainly available as upgrade options.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

One we visit a couple of times a year and so far has always been clean and comfortable. We find it a good base for exploring Historic sites, R.H.S Wisley and beautiful countryside. It also gives us valuable "our" time after visiting the family and before driving up to the North East. Helpful friendly staff, attractive grounds and on this trip only £20 for a night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Gail
Thank you for another review; delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again. RHS Wisley is indeed very close, as is Painshill Gardens and even Denbies Wine Estate.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
610 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,762 reviews
12.5 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#4 of 11 in Guildford
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid quiet, extensive Surrey parkland, De Vere Horsley Estate offers guests free access to its leisure facilities, including croquet lawn, football pitch, gym and indoor swimming pool. De Vere Horsley Estate is made up of 2 venues - Horsley Place and Horsley Court. Bedrooms are located in Horsley Place and include a remote-control TV, safety deposit box and free WiFi access. De Vere Horsley Estate offers good access to Heathrow and Gatwick airports, as well as the A3 and M25 motorways. Horsley Station is 1.5 miles from De Vere Horsley Estate. On weekdays, there are 2 trains every hour from both Waterloo and Guildford. The Steam Bake and Grill Restaurant offers hot dinner buffets, with bar menus also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing