We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid room 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our room was very average & in a red brick building called the "Management Centre" which was a fair way away from the actual Towers. It was quite small and as the weather outside was very hot the room felt stuffy.

Do not stay in room 1 if you want any sleep as this is right by the entrance and we could hear people leaving from very early on wheeling suitcases & in one case talking very loudly on the phone from about 5am.

If I had realised I would have asked to swap to a room off one of the courtyards as some areas were nice and the windows are also doors so we could have opened it out & enjoyed the water pool and been cooler. The bathroom was fine and clean

Staff were very friendly & breakfast was excellent but still feel it was a lot of money for a very small, very hot & stuffy room.

Room Tip: Not room 1 ask for one of the inner rooms or rooms away from the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Mandy
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park. I am sorry if your room was too noisy for you and detracted from your stay with us.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I was excited to stay at Horsley park after seeing the grounds. It is beautiful. The communal areas are great, nice bar, restaurant and pool. However the rooms did not match. My room was small with an old school box tv without a remote. The walls were so thin, I coul hear every conversation outside and next door and even someone having a bath above me! Footsteps from upstairs echoded alot. Glad the it was an expenses paid stay!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Ana
Many thanks for your recent review; apologies if you were disturbed in your room whilst with us.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I wasn't really sure if I should give Horsley Park two or three stars. I was here for a wedding, the grounds and the building are pretty fantastic but that is where it ends, I'm afraid the rooms don't reflect same quality or any similarity to the externals. I stayed in in the main building, but the room was like something of a 70's seaside guest house. It was very drab, furniture was of poor design and quality, a window was cracked. There was nothing on the walls, not one picture, and the biggest crime was that there was a fire place which should be the focal point of the room but nothing had been done to made it stand out. The room was just a place to lay your head and nothing else, it was very unloved as was a lot of the interior of the hotel. It is not a place where you would be a repeat customer which is a shame, because it would be an ideal break for a romantic weekend if the rooms were brought up to an acceptable standard and quality.
The good points are the food served at the wedding was very good, all the staff were friendly and very polite and the breakfast which is served in the new part of the hotel is superb, everything you would need. The rooms let the place down big style they just need bringing in to the 21st Century.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your recent review of Horsley Park, we will certainly look at the points you have raised.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

It's been a very long time since I stayed in a hotel which had an old type TV. The screen wasn't much bigger than my laptop. The room was small and the window faced the bar patio area so I kept the curtain closed for some privacy.

The grounds are very nice and there is plenty of space in the grounds or locally to run.

The service was friendly.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Phil
Thank you for your recent review.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We celebrated our wedding day at Horsley Park on 20th July 2014. I have already passed my gratitude on to the venue for what ultimately was the day of our lives. We celebrated the whole day at Horsley and to be quite frank, the staff simply could not do enough to help and make sure we were ultimately relaxed on a day where your nerves are racing around at 200 MPH! We were well aware of the fact the building isn't 110% perfect in its decor, but then what do you expect of a building of this age! That's actually in some respects what makes it even more appealing. It's quirky and the area is amazing for photography with little areas you can go to that are hidden away. I cant thank the team enough and I feel like regardless of how many times I write the words 'thank you', it simply isn't enough!

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suit 5 star :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Steven
Many thanks for a fantastic review following your wedding at Horsley Towers - really pleased you had a fantastic day with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed on business for three nights. Breakfast was absolutely top quality and the location of the venue is beautiful. Staff were generally polite and helpful. However, the rooms are ridiculously small and I didn't think the cleaning standards were very high (ominous marks on the carpets, cushions and pillowcase - the bathroom was a bit grubby as well). Overall, I'd say the rooms were about the same standard you would expect from a travellodge, but not as good as a premier inn. For the kind of money people pay for this hotel I would also expect air conditioning to be found in all rooms. If I'd have paid for this out of my own pocket then I would have asked for my money back and stayed at a premier inn for a quarter of the price.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Bluerosiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your recent review - I am sorry that you found the room poor.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Quite disappointed in the quality of the signature room. I had been upgraded!! There were four windows in my room yet only one opened. No air con and the paint was flaking. I know it isn't a modern building but it is looking rather tired.
Breakfast was excellent and the service in the bar was excellent too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girliegolfer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG_Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Girliegolfer
Many thanks for your review of Horsley Park and overall comments.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
610 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,762 reviews
12.5 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#4 of 11 in Guildford
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid quiet, extensive Surrey parkland, De Vere Horsley Estate offers guests free access to its leisure facilities, including croquet lawn, football pitch, gym and indoor swimming pool. De Vere Horsley Estate is made up of 2 venues - Horsley Place and Horsley Court. Bedrooms are located in Horsley Place and include a remote-control TV, safety deposit box and free WiFi access. De Vere Horsley Estate offers good access to Heathrow and Gatwick airports, as well as the A3 and M25 motorways. Horsley Station is 1.5 miles from De Vere Horsley Estate. On weekdays, there are 2 trains every hour from both Waterloo and Guildford. The Steam Bake and Grill Restaurant offers hot dinner buffets, with bar menus also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing