We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal - booking necessary ”
Review of Crannag Bistro

Crannag Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Award winning Highland restaurant serving local ingredients in contemporary dishes. Organic wines, North Highland whiskies and Cairngorm beers, unpretentious food and a true Highland welcome. Booking always recommended!
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious meal - booking necessary ”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We ate here on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is tiny so booking is essential to ensure a table. The menu is quite small and written on a blackboard but each of the dishes our family ordered were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The owner was very knowledgeable about all the dishes explaining how they are made and where the ingredients come from. My daughter is dairy intolerant and they were only too pleased to accommodate her by adapting some of the dishes - in particular the most delicious pudding. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hanrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelumy, Owner at Crannag Bistro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review - we really appreciate your comments and support. Specific dietary requirements are not unusual and because we cook from scratch, we can do our best to cater for most situations. We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Northern Highlands. Ian PS thank you for reminding customers to book!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    26
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“What a Treat!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Arriving hungry from highland adventures... Getting nurtured at Crannag Bistro... What a Treat!!! Chilled beer, home-cooked food, delicious desserts... You would want to stay forever, feast and chat with the lovely owners Ian and Kathy... And if you run out of fuel: Ian and Kathy find a solution... I will be back FOR SURE...! Arnd, Filmmaker

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelumy, Owner at Crannag Bistro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello! Thank you for your great review! It was a pleasure to serve you and so glad you enjoyed our food and hospitality. You will know now to keep a full tank of petrol when touring the Highlands! We look forward to seeing you again with your camera! Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“What a happy 'find'”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a meal in Lairg and found a parking place that happened to be outside a Bistro. It was 6.10pm and open, and though it was empty the owner said they were fully booked. This was disappointing because he said there was no where else locally. He checked with his wife who ran the kitchen and offered us a table if we could eat but not linger.
We ordered from a good menu and waited at the well stocked bar enjoying his dry Scottish humour. When we were shown to our table the food was excellent, locally sourced and freshly prepared.
Fully intend to return on our next visit north.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelumy, Owner at Crannag Bistro, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are in fact in Bonar Bridge and not Lairg, some nine miles away! We were fully booked on the evening you called in but did mention that there may be food available at the local hotel - their kitchen had been closed the previous night so we weren't sure. However, you were kind enough to vacate the table for the prior booking and we appreciate your help with that - it is always difficult to juggle! Glad you enjoyed your meal and your experience at the Crannag. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit north.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Crannag Bistro”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The food served here is locally produced, fresh and the chef slow cooks the meat at a precise temperature for several hours. As a result the meat (lamb in particular) just melts in the mouth. The desserts are to die for ! And the local beer is chilled and delicious. I have eaten at many bistros around the world and this one would hard to beat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelumy, Owner at Crannag Bistro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review - so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. It was a pleasure to meet a fellow Wicker and family - look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area! Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rave, rave, rave!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's a delight and a relief to find such a superb restaurant locally to bring family and guests to. Not only truly delicious food - every course! - but the perfect degree of attention, there when needed but not hovering. My daughter and I were made to feel very welcome, my wheelchair easily accommodated, the ambience was delightful and , I'm glad to say, there was a full complement of diners - on a Tuesday evening. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelumy, Owner at Crannag Bistro, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! As we are open all year round, it is really important to us to have local support and we appreciate your continued custom. It was a very busy service when you dined with us - we wish it could be like that every evening! You could be the lucky charm - please visit again soon! Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crannag Bistro also viewed

Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Bonar Bridge, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Tain, Ross and Cromarty
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Crannag Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing