We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little B&B”
Review of Kindale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kindale House
Ranked #2 of 9 Helmsdale B&B and Inns
cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Little B&B”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stopped one night in october 2013 at Kindale . Its a Great B&B and every think you want. Try the Fish & Chip shop in the village very nice too .... thank you to Kindale for a very nice stay . i will be back in 2014.. all the best ScottyDog

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
31
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for one night (we were travelling with friends who occupied the other first floor room) on our way north to Orkney. Kindale House is quiet, though in a central position, which makes access to the village very easy. Parking was on the road (I don't think they have any private parking) but this gave no problems.

The welcome was friendly and helpful. Our rooms were of a decent size, and very comfortable, with good en suite facilities. The only slightly disconcerting moment came when we were asked to give our breakfast order for the following morning five minutes after our arrival - but it turned out to be a very good breakfast.

It's not the most exciting B&B we've ever stayed in, but we agree with the mass of other reviewers in recommending Kindale House. We'd certainly want to stay here again on our way to or from Orkney; another time we'd be interested in trying the evening meal option, since other people speak highly of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willgrstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Sharon was most welcoming and we had a lovely large airy room. It was all spotless and we had a fabulous breakfast. Would recommend this B&B to anyone. Lovely little village to walk around and we had a good meal in local restaurant.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent in the front ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Excellent room, very large with comfortable sitting area. Very clean, good hosts. The evening meal was excellent. My husband and I both had fish that was caught the day before. The breakfast was extremely good. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbafalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A lovely room in a clean and tidy place. Beds not to hard and the room was generally cosy. Friendly owners as well. It even got better after having a really good meal within the premises. Lovely food to an affordable cost. Also breakfast was brilliant.
There was a nice walk down to the harbour and we even saw a seal sticking its head up. What more can you want. We really do recommend this B&B.
The Sweds, Annika & Klas

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

lA good all round bed and breakfast. Rooms clean, bathroom spotless, comfortable bed and quiet nights sleep. Owners friendly and helpful. Breakfast very generous. I would recommend it to anyone. One recommendation, install a grab rail on the wall under the shower for older guests.

Room Tip: We had room 2. Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_chappie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimpton, Herts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

If in doubt, book this. It is a friendly home from home style place whose exterior belies a gem of a b&b. This was our last stop over on the way to John O'Groats. After using the mainly Travelodges all the way through GB, Kindale seemed very luxurious, and welcoming. Cannot recommend the welcome accommodation and food highly enough.

Room Tip: Search online and this appears to be the only place in Helmsdale. There are others but Kindale is fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RideTheLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsdale
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Helmsdale
43 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
10.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
781 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bannockburn Inn
Bannockburn Inn
#5 of 9 in Helmsdale
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kindale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kindale House

Property: Kindale House
Address: Kindale House Lilleshall Street, Helmsdale KW8 6JF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Helmsdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsdale
Hotel Class:4 star — Kindale House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Stb Guest House With En-suite Facilities .spacious Rooms ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kindale House Helmsdale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing