We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B I've Stayed In”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Culgower House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Culgower House
Ranked #1 of 9 Helmsdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saratoga Springs NY
Level Contributor
218 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The Best B&B I've Stayed In”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I'll start with the delicious coffee bread and tea provided by Catriona on our arrival. The house is 150 years old and has been modernized without sacrificing the charm. We strolled through the garden, marveling at how John and Catriona have utilized their acre to provide a self sustaining operation that has been recognized for its "green" contributions to the environment. They have chickens, a mulch area, photovoltaic cells placed so you don't really see them (except for the small array on the tipi, which has an adjoining toilet), in the garden. Their garden is amazing.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, the hospitality never ending. They made reservations for us at a popular Chippie in Helmsdale and John sat up with us and answered all our questions until we finally went to bed.

The food is outstanding. Excellent Full Scottish Breakfast as well as delicious continental offerings and smoked salmon. I can't say enough about this B&B. It all sounds quite expensive, but it isn't. It was the best value we had on our 2 week jaunt around the highlands.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 22man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubnut23, Owner at Culgower House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review, really glad that you all enjoyed your stay and I hope the rest of your trip went well. The garden is still going strong and currently producing lots of plums and apples. Best wishes to you all, Catriona and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a roadtrip around the northern highlands. I can't fault this place. Our room (Loth) was large, spotlessly clean, with a huge bathroom with rolltop bath and view towards the sea. The hosts were very friendly and struck just the right balance - they were happy to give advice and were available when needed but weren't around all the time so you never felt awkward in the house as you can with some B&Bs. Breakfast was delicious with a really good range of food. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here, the quality of the rooms competes with some top hotels l've stayed in. Great value for money too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is the kind of B&B that gives Scottish hospitality a good name! Tasteful and elegant house with charming and attentive hosts. Catriona welcomed us with tea and homebaking and the next morning breakfast was to die for. Had a great sleep in good quality bedding with a fabulous view. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubnut23, Owner at Culgower House, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Many thanks for your kind words; I can see from the rest of your reviews that you had a good trip and thank you for choosing to stay with us. All the best, Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WICK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife arranged a surprise visit to Culgower House at the end of July for our 25th wedding anniversary. We travelled from Wick and were welcomed by Catriona and John on arrival. Our room overlooked the front of the house and the sea which was very pleasant indeed. Our room was very comfortable and the facilities were excellent. Catriona provided us with refreshments which we enjoyed very much, the home baking offered was very tasty. The guest house is in a lovely location just off the main A9 road and Brora and Helmsdale a short distance by car . We had breakfast in the spacious dining room with other guests who were staying at the house and the breakfast was delicious, fresh home cooked full breakfast for me ; my wife had the home made pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Very tasty. After breakfast we had a wander around the garden and enjoyed looking at the variety of plants and flowers. We both had an enjoyable stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARATHONMANWick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubnut23, Owner at Culgower House, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
I'm so glad you had a good time with us on your surprise trip and thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We hope to see you again sometime. Best wishes, Catriona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was our first stop on a tour of northern Scotland. Lovely house, comfortable room with stunning view over the coast, delicious breakfast including home grown rasps and homemade rhubarb muffins. Good value and a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMJPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubnut23, Owner at Culgower House, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review; it was a bumper week for reviews and they all made us smile. I hope the rest of your trip went well, best wishes, Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our first trip out of the US. I booked this B&B based on the strong reviews on this site and it did not disappoint. The John and Catriona are even more incredible than the room our stay was in, which is truly remarkable. We stayed in the Garty and it was fantastic. The first night we drove up from Stirling. It was a long stressful drive, as this was the first time I have been out of the US, and we got in pretty late, but were greeted warmly by our hostess. We climbed one flight of stairs to our room and wow, it was amazing and very spacious. We also had a private bathroom that had plenty of room with a bath and a separate shower. If I were going to be extremely picky, the water pressure in the shower wasn't the greatest, but I am hesitant on even mentioning it because this place is such a treasure that it would be an injustice for someone not to stay here because of that. The next morning we were up and going early for a day trip to Orkney and Catriona packed us a wonderful to go breakfast, which is just one of the many ways they went above and beyond. As we were leaving, I soaked in as much of the spectacular view as I could. I don't know how good the public transportation is from this spot and it would be my guess that you would almost have to have a rental, but providing you have rented a car the house is well located. My advice to anyone thinking of staying here for a couple of days is to not only do it, but stay a couple of more. Culgower House gets my highest level of approval.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Travelling to Orkney with my partner and a friend, we broke our journey at this lovely B & B. Very stylish house, extremely comfortable rooms, luxury bath with Highland Soap Company toiletries. Fabulous breakfast with (unusually) decent vegetarian options and delicious home baking, home-made jam etc. Proximity to A9 meant some traffic noise in the evening (a very hot night so all windows open) but it got quieter through the night. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsdale
6.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
17.8 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
17.6 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
Bannockburn Inn
#4 of 9 in Helmsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culgower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culgower House

Property: Culgower House
Address: Loth, Helmsdale KW8 6HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Helmsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culgower House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1850 as a farmhouse for Sutherland Estates, Culgower House lies between Helmsdale and Brora on the scenic East Sutherland coast of northern Scotland and has glorious views over the sea. We offer tranquil, contemporary, high quality bed and breakfast. A great base for touring the north Highlands, en-route to Orkney or whilst driving the NorthCoast500. We look forward to welcoming you to our home and sharing with you the wonders of this very special part of the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culgower House Helmsdale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing