We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, rooms are very basic”

Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 9 Helmsdale B&B and Inns
Buehlertal, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good service, rooms are very basic”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The service was excellent. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms are very basic, bedlinen smelled like cigarette smoke despite no-smoking-policy, bare light bulbs on display, DVDs not helpful for me as I am not travelling far to spend time watching DVDs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dufftown, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great place, great people and great food.friendly welcome and helpful throught the stay, room perfect and very clean, great food well portioned,good selection of DVD's in the room.Very little noise from the main road very much recomended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My Wife, and two teen age sons spotted Jutta's B & B as we drove on the road leading to John O'Groats, nearly the northernmost point in Scotland. It was on the road but it looked charming and had a wonderful view of the water. We went inside and met Bernard, who runs the B & B with his wife and child. They are a German couple but speak English wonderfully and we found them delightful and interesting facts about where to go in the area, ie, hikes, the old steps that lead to a former whaling an fishing launch.

Bernard, whom we dealt with more, was charming with a great sense of humor. Our two teenage boys loved the accommodations as did we. I think they particularly loved the selection of movies and dvd player that Bernard has available in the two rooms he lets out. But it was the homey charm that they trully loved. We walked across the road and down to the coastline - which is gorgeous, and one of the few places you can gain access to the water along the Eastern coast. Bernard mentioned that students and researchers often go there in search of fossils.

We really enjoyed out stay with Bernard and his family. Though the B & B is right alongside the road it truly is charming. There was no traffic noise whatsoever as it's an old stone B & B with thick walls. Also - there's a lovely heater in the rooms!! What a plus!! The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was great! If you're traveling north on the road to John O'Groats, or anywhere on the Eastern coast in Northern Scotland, do stop in Juttas's B&B for a stay. It's delightful.

Room Tip: Thought the B & B is right alongside the road it truly is charming. There was no traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuerth, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at Jutta's B&B in September this year and it was great. The views from the rooms are great (sea view) and the rooms were clean and comfortable! Our hosts were very helpful and gave us advice on restaurants and sights in the area. Breakfast was plenty (we even got a vegetarian option). We'd love to stay there again! We'd definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wini423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntisland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great stay
Rooms are spotless
Right by a main road but you would never know once you are in the rooms

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j55axa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsdale
6.5 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
3.8 mi away
Bannockburn Inn
Bannockburn Inn
#4 of 9 in Helmsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Invicta House B&B
Invicta House B&B
#3 of 10 in Golspie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
19.9 mi away
Bonnieviews Bed and Breakfast
21.7 mi away
The Antlers
The Antlers
#2 of 5 in Lybster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast

Property: Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Portgower, Helmsdale KW8 6HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Helmsdale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsdale
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms ensuite. All rooms with seaviews. All rooms with LCD-Freeview-TV and DVD-Player.All rooms ensuite. All rooms with seaviews. All rooms with LCD-Freeview-TV and DVD-Player.From 25.oo Pounds per person per night incl. breakfast.German and english speaking.WIFI Internet !Children are welcome.Dogs are welcome.Full english breakfast or continental breakfast or vegetarian breakfast. 200 Metres to the beach, 20 metres to the Highlands. A paradise for walkers and cyclists.Gold panning possible in Kildonan (8 Miles), equipment available.Salmon fishing in the Helmsdale River. Collecting fossils at the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast Helmsdale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing