We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timespan Museum and Arts Centre

Timespan Museum and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Helmsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place is great for the family and has loads of exhibits and displays. Good for all the family. My favourite are the sheds outside where they smoke fish.
I first went there in the early 90`s when it opened and still go there now.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“History comes alive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a fabulous museum. I was there for part of the Translocation Festival. The displays, talks, field trips, etc. were amazing. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant is delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Long Term Test”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I spent most of the summer of 2013 in the Helmsdale area, and visited Timespan on a number of occasions.

At the time of my visit, Timespan were preparing for the Translocation Festival where the population of the Helmsdale area were removed from the land and emmigrated to Canada. Around the time I left the area, a number of Canadians visited, descendants of the original cleared settlers, and Timespan was the centre of this commemoration.

The museum is a wonderful snapshot of life in the Helmsdale area and the pressures of life where the landowner may not necessarily have your interests at heart. The gallery features changing exhibitions by a number of artists.

Keep an eye on the programme of events, because there are a number of tours and talks run by Timespan through the year. I took a fascinating tour round the cleared village of Caen which was subject to a recent archeological excavation. I also attended a couple of presentations, one on the local fossils, another on the life for the settlers once they arrived in Canada. Both were truly fascinating.

Don't forget the cafe. Really good food, with a lovely view over the river.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Excellent knowledgeable staff and excellent exhibition/events relating to the bicentenary of the clearances.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thremps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Worth a break in journey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stopped off here on our way back to Dornoch from John O' Groats. It was an interesting museum about the Highland Clearances. The light was flickering, which we were told was a temporary fault, but I notice someone mentioned this fault back in June, so maybe it needs fixing.

The cafe had home made cakes and a pleasant outside area next to the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Blippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timespan Museum and Arts Centre also viewed

Helmsdale, Caithness and Sutherland
Golspie, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dunbeath, Caithness and Sutherland
Whaligoe, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Timespan Museum and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing