We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”
Review of Vale Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vale Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visit
My wife and I enjoyed a three night stay at the very welcoming Vale Resort in Glamorgan. Upon arrival we were greeted by very helpful reception staff. We booked a basic room and this was very nice with all the amenities that you would expect from a four star establishment.

We put our bags away and wandered around the hotel to find a pleasant (but soulless) bar area, an excellent gym and spa and a nice golf club bar and terrace. We also saw Warren Gatland (Wales and Lions Coach) in the bar and later Ole Gunnar Solskaer (Cardiff City Manager) in the gym which added to the experience.

Golf
I played the Wales National Golf Course and I must say that it was the best £20 green fee (twilight) that I have spent. It was immaculate and challenging to say the least and it should be on your 'to play' list if you are visiting Cardiff or the surrounding area. I didn't play the Lake Course but it certainly looked charming and I will if I return to the area again. The staff in the shop were also very welcoming and they answered every question I had about playing alone at a busy time of year. They found a tee time that ensured I had a swift round (3hrs 15mins) on a 7000yd course!

Food
Breakfast included the usual selection of cereal, fruit, and a full Welsh and was served up by a great egg chef and very helpful staff. You had a choice of places for lunch including the bar area and the golf club. We dined in the restaurant one evening and had a great meal. I'd recommend the lamb and the house red to anyone that visits. The service and experience in the restaurant was fantastic.

Spa and gym
My wife enjoyed an Indian Spa treatment and she said it was one of the best she'd had. We both visited the gym and were welcomed by great staff again. The fitness instructors were very friendly and seemed to care even though we were only there for a few days. The facilities in the gym were extensive and there was enough equipment to go around, even at the busiest of times.
The sauna, pool and jacuzzi area were also very nice indeed with views out over the tennis courts and sports training facilities.

Evening entertainment and bars
The choice in the evening was limited to the restaurant, the bar and a champagne bar. Unfortunately the bar and champagne bar were very quiet indeed and they could do with a little invigorating. We are not party animals but some life would have been appreciated in the bars.

The low point
We were awoken two mornings running at 8am while a refurbishment was going on. We rang reception on the second day and they delayed proceedings for a short while but we still had to get up reasonably early for an away break.

The high point
The staff were amazing from start to finish in all areas. A special mention to the senior gym instructor that remembered our names.

We'd certainly recommend The Vale for a short break to anyone. Thanks for a lovely stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale-Resort, Front Office Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Anthony W,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your experience at the Vale. We will take onboard the pros and cons that you have noted in the review. It is great to see that you have had a great experience at the resort. Especially as you were able to make use of the excellent and wide range of facilities we are able to offer our guests.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to the Vale soon.

Best wishes

Andrew Williams
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed with a group of 8 friends for a golfing break. The facilities are excellent in the hotel, rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed with everything you would expect from a four star hotel. The hotel was quiet and we all slept well, the restaurant served an excellent choice of meals to a high standard, I paid a small supplement for a fillet steak which was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was similar with a wide choice of hot and cold food, eggs were cooked to order and a variety of chilled juices.We had great service throughout and the hotel offers two excellent golf courses which was the main reason for our visit. It compares very well with any outer similar resort we have used including the better known Celtic Manor, would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale-Resort, Front Office Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Steve M,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your recent golfing break. It is great to know that we provided you with an excellent little break away and that in your opinion we compare very well with our rivals.

We trust your golf went as well as your stay and we hope to get the chance to well come you back in the future.

Best regards

Andrew Williams
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I attended my brother-in-law's wedding at Hensol Castle last weekend and a large number of the guests, including myself had booked rooms at the Vale Hotel for the night of the wedding.
Mine and my partner's room had been one of the rooms reserved by the Groom and at £135 per night we expected it to be quite special. How disappointed we were.

We were directed to our room in an obviously older part of the hotel because we had to walk through a corridor where the carpet was covered in plastic as we assume there were upgrades going on. For a start this wasn't a very pleasant site and we ended traipsing dust and dirt into our room. Also, ours was the only room of our party not to have a terrace/balcony.

Next, on retiring to our room after the wedding festivities, we got into bed only to realise we didn't have a "double" room; we in fact had two single beds pushed together but dressed as a double. It was quite uncomfortable to sleep on with a seam running down the middle of the bed. After a broken sleep we were woken up in the morning by the delightful sound of drills and hammers doming from the rooms being upgraded in the adjoining corridor.

Breakfast was ok, but cold. I like the idea of a buffet breakfast but everyone knows it's hard to keep everything hot. You'd think for the price you pay to stay there, there would be additional breakfast options that are cooked to order. I've stayed in cheaper and larger hotels where this is possible.

Finally, to top it all off, check out was extremely slow: we had to join a queue that spanned the width of the reception area which included large groups and there were only 2 staff at the counter. At check out time, on a weekend, in the summer at the height of wedding season, you'd expect a hotel like this to better staffed and more equipped to deal with situations like this.

Overall, for one of Wales' top hotels and spa resorts you'd expect a better quality of everything for the price paid. I've paid less money for hotels rooms that have been bigger, more comfortable, had better service and better quality food. Would not rush back or recommend.

Room Tip: Don't stay there unless you have to for a wedding or business conference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank RachPugh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale-Resort, Front Office Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear RachPugh2014,

Im sorry that you have left the Vale disappointed with your stay in the hotel. Where as the area of the hotel you were staying in was not an older area, it unfortunately during the time of your stay it was an area where upgrade work was taking place. Please accept our apologies that this had a negative impact on your stay.

A complete investigation of the issues you have raised has been completed and the necessary actions will be taken. I am aware that you checked out in the middle of a nine minute rush, just after our checkout time but I can assure you there were three receptionists and the reception manager assisting guests during this period. It is a shame you were not aware of this fact at the time.

Please rest assured that your feedback will be dealt with. We hope that you enjoyed the Wedding at Hensol Castle as it is a truly stunning venue.

Best regards

Andrew Williams
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Eight of us spent a very relaxing overnight stay and spa day which was brilliant. Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms all modernized. Star of the stay was the delicious food... Dinner was lovely, well presented and cooked as was breakfast. Spa had lovely heated waterbeds and we had excellent value for money. Hope to enjoy this excellent resort with its friendly professional staff again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollytol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale-Resort, Front Office Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Ollytol,

It is great to know that your group had a really enjoyable stay with us. I am aware the group stayed in our refurbished rooms and it is excellent to receive positive feedback following the work that has been completed in them. I hope you all left feeling very relaxed after being able to experience the lovely facilities within our Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Vale in the near future.

Best wishes

Andrew Williams
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Vale last weekend for our son's wedding in Cardiff. We had 5 rooms between us. On arrival at our room, we found a dirty sock left on the floor under the chair. The balcony was very dirty with bits of leaves, twigs and even a dirty tissue - it obviously had not been swept for a long time! The room was comfortable, but quite dark, meaning we had to have lights on during the day. They were a bit dated - one light bulb was out.

One of the rooms was booked to be a twin the first night but it was set up as a double, and we had to ask them to change as our two sons were staying in there. The next night, the Hotel had agreed they would change this room to a double for one son and his partner, but when coming in late from the reception elsewhere, this had not been done and they had to have two single beds.

Food was ok - the staff we dealt with were fine and pleasant. We had arranged for a table for the 10 of us to have breakfast together on the Sunday morning which they agreed they would do but on arrival at the restaurant in the morning, this had not been done, though the staff did move tables to make room for 8 of us, but we then had to move another table to make it up to 10.

Altogether, what we thought would be a luxury hotel, was a bit of a disappointment and not worh the £150 per night we had to pay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline-Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale-Resort, Front Office Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Pauline-Alan,

We hope that you had a great time at your son’s wedding. Please accept our apologies for the issues that have occurred during your stay, which have spoiled your visit to us. Our housekeeping team will investigate the issues you have raised with the bedroom, as we have multiple checks to ensure the bedrooms are in good condition. Clearly they have failed on this occasion and I thank you for providing this feedback so we can get to the bottom of the situation.

With breakfast normally we do not reserve tables as parties have tended to come down at different times. Which can cause issues with peak periods, if guests all try to come down at one time. However we are currently in the planning stages of a redesign / build on the restaurant which should alleviate this issue and provide a smoother service in future.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope the new couple have an excellent honeymoon.

Best regards

Andrew Williams
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A group of good to average golfers visited The Vale hotel and golf resort this weekend to play in a tournament. We chose this venue because it has the WELSH NATIONAL GOLF COURSE. One may have thought that we were on a winner! Well let me tell you I could have stayed at home saved a lot of money and played the local Municipal golf course which in far better condition than either this course or its sister course the LAKES. We played three rounds on the National the first day the greens had at least 3 days growth on them and the bunkers had not been raked for about as long. The excuse was that it had rained the night before-which indeed was forecast , so the work should have been done before hand. The second day true the greens had been cut (after our complaining), but the bunkers remained un raked and by now were heavily infested with foot prints and various hollows in them. The bunkers were the same for our third round despite the staff being told about them. The courses maintenance leaves a lot to be desired and no one seemed to care at all. Indeed it was difficult to find any greens staff on the Saturday or Sunday but a few were to be seen on the Monday. The restaurant service was also poor. I ordered a pot of tea for two and not even offered a tray on which to put them for my journey to the table. One lady member suggested that we should have asked for a tray!!!! This is a 4 star establishment. The driving range supplies balls at a reasonable price thank goodness, because half of then are relatively unplayable anyway. NO NOT A PLACE TO GO FOR AN ENJOYABLE WEEKEND OF GOLF_AVOID.

The Vale hotel itself is acceptable but the meals in the restaurant very pricy forcing people to seek external restaurants. Again the wine list is extortionate. We were greeted by a very rude concierge and despite having three cases and a set of golf clubs were not offered any assistance to our 2nd floor room in one of the lodges separate from the hotel. Again a 4 star hotel. It is sad if this represents the Welsh Hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PETERPAMEN75AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale-Resort, Front Office Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear PETERPAMEN75AG,

Im sorry that you have left us disappointed with the experience. Your comments and opinions will be passed onto the relevant areas, for the managers to review and deal with moving forward.

Hopefully we will get the chance in the future to welcome you back, so we can turn around your perceptions of the Vale. Please accept our apologies that you did not have the experience we aim to provide.

Best regards

Andrew Williams
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We attended the venue for a wedding celebration, and stayed the night afterwards. We found the hotel very comfortable, the grounds on a beautiful day were certainly well worth the time we spent outdoors and the staff were predominately young (younger than us anyway!) but very helpful and pleasant. As a first experience of the premises we thoroughly enjoyed and have already booked a second visit with the intention of trying out the spa and facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Malwale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale-Resort, Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Malwale,

It is excellent to know that you enjoyed your recent stay and as a result of your experience have already booked to return. Hopefully you get the opportunity during this return stay to make use of all the facilities we have to offer.

Thank you for taking the time to share this review and recognise the efforts of our staff.

Best regards

Andrew Williams
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hensol
1.5 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
3.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
531 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,930 reviews
5.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
10.6 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale Resort

Address: Hensol Park, Hensol CF72 8JY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Hensol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Price Range: £64 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vale Resort is one of Wales' favourite four-star Resorts. Set in over 650 acres of beautiful countryside, the Resort is home to a luxuriously appointed 143 bedroom hotel, Wales' largest spa, two championship golf courses and an award-winning AA rosette restaurant. Leisure facilities are world-class and provide guests with the opportunity to work-out, relax with a swim or join in one of our many fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Vale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Hotel Hensol
Vale Resort Hensol
Vale Of Glamorgan Hotel
Vale Resort Vale Of Glamorgan/Hensol, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing