We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, gret hotel”
Review of Vale Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vale Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great staff, gret hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Having stopped here for a couple of nights, I feel the need to write the most positive review.
The rooms are spacious and our twin room had 2 queen beds with plenty of space and a balcony over the golf course.
The bathroom was large and had a bath and seperate shower. The spa was fantastic.
However 2 things make this hotel stand out.
The first being the staff, I have never encountered friendlier staff, everyone from reception to the cleaners you pass in the corridor always make time for you.
The second is the cost, for a hotel of this standard and location, the bar menu and price of drinks are more than reasnoble.
I would not hesitate to use the hotel again, it suits everyones needs, and look forward to returning

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    396
    208
    102
    51
See reviews for
260
493
28
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Befast, NI
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I travel quite a bit for work and leisure - this was leisure.
I try and write reviews as honestly as i can - giving both good and bad points....
The room was really good - great size - very comfortable bed. Check in was so swift. Hotel has a real chilled out vibe to it. We were attending a wedding and it was just such a serene setting - lovely !
Disappointments though were still there - food at breakfast isn't really of a great standard.. bacon was so dried out i couldn't chew it and the hash browns were soggy... small things but for this standard of hotel there is no need for this !
We had lunch in the Grill bar and the food on offer is tasty and they have nice healthy options. Myself and friends who were also staying had tried to order some room service after the wedding party.... there are items on the menu that are available 24/7 however none of us could get an answer on the room service number !
My last point is on the morning we were checking out I asked reception staff if there was a computer terminal that i could use and advised them i just quickly needed to check our flight departure time for later that day. I was told I could buy an internet code for 30 mins for £5 or £8 for an hour ! I only needed 2 minutes to check one airline website ! I think this charge is far too high and from working in hotel and hospitality establishments over the last 10 years I would have thought the reception staff could have offered to check this for me.
Overall i do think this is a lovely hotel - just a few hiccups along the way..... I will definitely be back !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels-a-lot1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Booked the Sunday Spa offer for 4 friends which included Dinner Bed & Breakfast as well as 2 spa treatments and it was excellent value for money. Easy to find, just off the motorway but seemed much more rural, surrounded by the golf course and countryside.The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The food at the Grill restaurant was very good, but most of all the staff were brilliant, very pleasant and accomodating. I have been to more luxurious spa's and the treatments seemed rather rushed in comparison (25mins each) but for the price paid they were good. enjoyed a leisurely breakfast before heading for nearby Cardiff, for great shopping.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

I truly enjoyed the trip, friendly staff, nice gym and big swimming pool. it was a delight. The food was nice although i would have prefered more of it. i had a nice stay. stayed for 3 nights and we found activities inside the hotel in our stay. The kids had a creche' and they stayed there for about 3 hours while we got pampered in the spa. will definetely be going there again

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ye2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Rooms are comfortable and spacious, there are plenty of amenities. However the breakfast rooom reminds us of a canteen since it was moved and refurbished. The choice is varied but the food is tired and lacklustre. The other meals are overpriced and very ordinary. Ok for an overnight but not for an extended stay. Disappointing. We just felt processed.
I guess its the best in the area so will have to recommend it. A good if pricey bar!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Had a lovely time at the Vale. Room was fantastic with great views, dinner was fantastic and the spa treatments booked were lovely. Staff were all very friendly & helpful. Lovely time & can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca_597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Business conference, our gala dinner, like most mass catering was a little disappointing, but a enjoyable breakfast, and also a relaxing swim in the morning, unfortunately the jacuzzi and sauna were out of use.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hensol
1.5 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
3.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
482 reviews
9.4 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,137 reviews
8.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,264 reviews
5.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale Resort

Property: Vale Resort
Address: Hensol Park, Hensol CF72 8JY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Hensol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vale Resort is one of Wales' favourite four-star Resorts. Set in over 650 acres of beautiful countryside, the Resort is home to a luxuriously appointed 143 bedroom hotel, Wales' largest spa, two championship golf courses and an award-winning AA rosette restaurant. Leisure facilities are world-class and provide guests with the opportunity to work-out, relax with a swim or join in one of our many fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Vale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Hotel Hensol
Vale Resort Hensol
Vale Of Glamorgan Hotel
Vale Resort Vale Of Glamorgan/Hensol, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing