We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bickenhill
Yateley
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable but Dated”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel, was a bit difficult to get to, due to the road works, however was very comfortable. The hallway carpets really need replacing. My room was very comfortable and clean, but the tiles in the bathroom were quite marked and the grout quite black in places. The extractor fan was clogged with dirt. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym were really good. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Watch the road works
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCYateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear DaveCYateley,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us on your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had an opportunity to make the most of the facilities.

We have an on-going refurbishment programme in place to focus on the accommodation that may need some attention and this is being prioritised. Over 50% of our bedrooms were refurbished last year and we will continue a pro-active maintenance programme.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    499
    366
    181
    113
See reviews for
235
438
65
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived and checked in. We went to out room which was still dirty from the previous occupants, even the toilet was still filling so clearly someone had just been in there. We for upgraded to a champagne room. This was very basic, the shower had no power and the spare pillows were dirty.

I would not stay in this hotel again or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJB3303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear AJB3303,

I appreciate your feedback, I can assure you this is a very unusual incident and will be following this up with my housekeeping manager and front desk manager.

I apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you and I imagine some level of distress during your stay, we have robust procedures in place to prevent this, which I will be personally revisiting to see how this has broken down.

I hope if you are in the area again, you give us an opportunity to show you an altogether different stay experience.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bickenhill hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a couple, as my husband was attending a course held at this hotel. We were supposed to stay again for another course but decided to book a better hotel.

The rooms were not badly decorated but the older rooms we saw were quite bad. For some reason we received our toiletries packs at reception instead of in the room and only one pack had shampoo which was one tiny bottle for two people over three nights. The beds were particularly hard but clean. We were repeatedly locked out of our room, at least once per day as the key would randomly stop working, leaving us on the top floor about as far away from the reception you can get, locked out. My husband complained and a manager was not available for over 24 hours, then was completely useless and we were again locked out the next day.

The food included in the course was of an average standard, nothing special, however they wanted £15 per person and this food was dished up for you out of the buffet as if to limit the amount you were allowed. There was not enough food for my husband and i chose not to eat it.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t1m111y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear t1m111y,

I was very disheartened to read your review. It sounds like we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay.

The welcome pack on check in should have been one per guest, not per room and they are there to compliment the additional toiletries in the room or as a gift pack to take home.

I will pass your comments with regards to the food and the restrictions in place to my Food & Beverage Manager and I will look at reviewing how this is served to our Event guests. We are currently in the middle of reviewing surveys from our guests to get feedback on the product we offer, and this feedback will be valuable as part of this process.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On 2nd August we celebrated our wedding at this beautiful hotel. Richard Billingham was our wedding co-ordinator and he really couldn't have done more for us both in the 2 years leading up to our big day and to ensure everything ran smoothly on the day! The service from all the team was second to none and they all helped to ensure we had the most amazing wedding day; they were all so friendly and nothing was too much trouble! All the guests thoroughly enjoyed every element of the day and have also fed back to us about how impressed they were with the level of service we all received. The food was better than we could've imagined and there were lots of clean plates after the wedding breakfast. We opted to have a barbeque on the evening and this too was amazing! We were all treated so well during our stay there and the rooms were clean and well kept. We decided to stay for Sunday lunch the following day which was incredible and great value for money! We will definitely be returning regularly to this wonderful hotel in the future! If you are looking for a venue to mark a big occasion, to stay or to visit for a meal then look no further, The Arden Hotel really do have the best team of people and will look after you every step of the way!

Beckie and Mark

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. What a lovely review.

Come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleta de Fuste, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Richard Billingham the hotels Wedding Co-ordinator organised everything for us, great food, excellent service and on the day liaising with the registrars so we didn't have to worry about a thing. We had an amazing day in December 2011 and since then have returned to the hotel on many occasion to stay both for business and leisure. The Arden Hotel is a great place to have business meetings too, with it being so close to the M42, NEC and Birmingham Airport.
All in all its a great hotel with good leisure facilities, friendly staff and good food.

We look forward to our next visit soon.

Lindsey & Mark Elwell
Fuerteventura, Canary Islands

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyMarkE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Lindsey & Mark,

Thank you for your lovely review!

I am pleased that you had such a great day in 2011 and will make sure your feedback is passed onto Richard.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to us!

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

One night stay while visiting NEC. Very happy with the experience. It's a big busy place with a big turnover of guests but there were plenty of cheerful,helpful staff around and there was no hanging around for service. A little jaded in places but excellent value. Really good evening meal in restaurant. Breakfast not quite as good( but we were two of the last guests to arrive). Management might like to consider improving direction signs as it is a bit of a warren - making the theme of our stay " which way do you think we go?" Walking to the NEC/airport/station really easy. Walking back we discovered that leaving the concourse by the wrong exit resulted in a mammoth trek around the M42! A simple map would help!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank vayno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear vayno1,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review us, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us again when you are next in the area for the NEC.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveleys
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Room clean and tidy , breakfast was nice, the swimming pool Jacuzzi and sauna where spot on .It as a gym as well . , , And the evening meals were nice to . If you fancy eating out go out the hotel 5 min drive there is a Toby carvery on your left next turn of . Or to the right a mile down the road there is a Salisbury , Tesco and loads of shops down to Indian and Chinese take aways ,you can only turn left out the hotel drive down to the next junction and come of to turn around to head back ,, ,

Room Tip: If its a hot day ask for a room with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartcleveleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Stuart,

Thank you for your lovely review.

Sounds like you managed to maximise your time with us and enjoyed the facilities.

I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickenhill
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
1,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 8 Coventry Road, Bickenhill, Solihull B92 0EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Bickenhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bickenhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arden Hotel & Leisure Club is ideally located adjacent to Birmingham Airport and NEC, just a 15 minute walk to the Genting Arena and Resorts World Birmingham. Our 3* AA rated hotel boasts 216 Bedrooms, 12 Meeting & Event Rooms, and a full health club with indoor pool onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arden Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Hotel And Leisure
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club Bickenhill, Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing