We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here for events in Birmingham and nearby!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redlands Guest House
Ranked #3 of 3 Bickenhill B&B and Inns
TW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay here for events in Birmingham and nearby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We just wanted to say a big thank you for our stay and your hospitality. The room was good, well equipped and clean, just what we needed. The breakfast was huge! It was nice to have a freshly cooked breakfast rather than a ‘buffet’ that could have been cooked 15-20 minutes ago! Very filling! It was also great to have a free minibus service to/from the NEC, as it turned out it saved us a lot of hassle with the awful traffic on our return. Phil’s driving was amazing, not only a free shuttle service but off-road driving as well!!!! We will certainly look to book with you first if we come that way again and would recommend it to anyone staying in the area, and we are not easily pleased! Your directions to avoid the traffic grid-lock on our way back home to Kent worked a treat as well, we got back in about the same time it took us to arrive mid-afternoon, just what we needed after a long day at the food show. We met people who have been staying here for years, that says a lot. A big thank you again!
And free WiFi to watch City beat Wigan on our iPad!!! lol
Well recommended, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anabella N Stev... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    19
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
7
44
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed bed and breakfast for two nights, as we were going to the NEC , and the owner very kindly takes you there and picks you up after, which is a godsend,the queue for a taxi was very long. they also run you to the local pub first for a meal and then pick you up from there. this at no extra charge. Breakfast was amazing, filled you up for the day, the only problem was the latest time for breakfast was 8-30 am which i felt was much to early especially on a sunday morning. however they had many returning guests, so guess they were all happy with it. i would have liked it to be 9am. but apart from that, lovely hosts.

Room Tip: the rooms are in individual small cottages, so very private with TV and nice shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredcoupleBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

FAB Guest House with Lovely Gardens. We were there with friends for the Caravan Show at the NEC, we stayed in two of the garden rooms which were quite small but lovely and clean and more than adequate. It was a dry night so we had drinks in the garden (which we had taken with us) before going to the local pub for a meal which was recommended by Phil and it was lovely. Taxi to the pub is £5 each way although if you time it right Phil might take you there. He kindly took us all to the NEC Centre which was an absolute godsend having seen all the traffic queuing up to get in! he knows the short cuts and got us there easily. We then rang him at the end of the day and he came and picked us up!!(an excellent service) Fantastic full English breakfast which sets you up for the day. We will book to go there again next year without hesitation.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malpal1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The wife and I booked with The Redlands about 3 months before we arrived, as we had booked tickets to go to Top Gear Live. When we arrived there was plenty of space in the drive to park the car.

Once we checked in we were led to the back of the garden and to our surprise a lovely little cabin which had plenty of space inside. The quality of the cabin was extremely good and there was everything in it that we needed. The en-suite shower was a little small but otherwise very good and the water pressure is excellent.

There are no facilities to eat in the evening at the guest house but pay a visit to the Boat Inn which was about a mile away. The service was exemplary and the food was fantastic, albeit a little pricey. We managed to get a lift with the guest house owner, which I thought was a lovely gesture. A taxi back to the guest house from the pub is only £5 which is quite reasonable.

The breakfast in the morning, which in my opinion was the best breakfast I have had at any hotel, was excellent, and is a credit to the couple who own the guest house. The breakfast is not something you want to miss!!

Making our way to the N.E.C. wasn't a problem either, as there is a free minibus to and from the N.E.C. which means you can relax and enjoy the day safe in the knowledge you can call the minibus at any time. Please be warned - if the minibus isn't available you may have to get a cab back from the N.E.C. but I was informed that this never exceeds £10.

It doesn't get any better than this!! Thank you Phil and Yvonne for an excellent stay!!

Room Tip: Ignore rating for pool and fitness centre as there wasn't a pool or a fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I don’t think I have ever stayed at a B&B with as friendly and accommodating hosts as Yvonne and Phil. I was there for a trade show at the NEC. Phil picked me up at the airport and dropped me back there when it was time for my return to the States.

Phil drove me to the NEC every morning and picked me up each evening. This was not only a savings on taxi service, but the most convenient and friendly service I’ve had at any B&B. Phil was also delighted to drop me off at pubs in the evening for dinner and I took a taxi back.

Yvonne was a pure delight. You must be warned, in the morning you best be very hungry or request lighter portions! Cold cereal, fresh fruit, juice, coffee toast, and then the actual full English breakfast. 3 large slices of bacon, 2 large sausages, 2 eggs, 3 hash brown patties, beans, tomatoes and mushrooms. After the first morning I asked for a much smaller serving.

My only criticism is that there is no chair in the room or a lounge where one can sit up and read or work on a laptop. There are many delightful areas in the garden where you can sit, but when it’s cold or at night, these don’t work.

All in all I would stay there if ever I visit the area again. In a word, Delightful!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoTraveler83815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice B&B easy to find and a very hearty breakfast. Not sure they are used to younger people staying. Our group was aged from 30-45 years and the owners go to bed before 10pm. We were a group of ladies staying for two nights and I am not sure that the owners are accustomed to this. I think for one night this place is great but not for more. The rooms are clean and small and although there was a microwave in the room we were told we could not eat in there so we had to eat outside and then asked to be quiet so we whispered for the entire evening. Bit unusual.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not close to the house as the owners like to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjpro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here to see a concert at the NEC. The breakfast was so big i had to ask for a smaller one on the second day. We were dropped at the train station to catch the train into Birmingham for the day, and picked up on our return. We were taken to a very nice pub for tea prior to the concert and picked up and taken to the arena. Following the concert we were collected and brought back to Redlands. Nothing was too much trouble, it really made our stay very special. I would not hesitate to stay there again. The accomodation was in the form of chalets, very cosy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KernowPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickenhill
0.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redlands Guest House

Property: Redlands Guest House
Address: Redlands Church Lane, Bickenhill, Solihull B92 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Bickenhill
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bickenhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Redlands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redlands Guest House Bickenhill, Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing