We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find! - Superb People, Lovely Place. We WILL be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redlands Guest House
Ranked #3 of 3 Bickenhill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2011

It's not often I write reviews but I have to say Redlands is a real find.

The accommodation consists of a number of lovely chalets in the grounds of a lovely house. Each one (There were five of us) was like a show house with attention to detail like nowhere else.

Phil and his lovely wife could not do enough for us. The breakfasts are something I will NEVER forget and the kindness that was extended to all of us was second to none (and I have stayed in some lovely places)

It's close to the NEC yet you feel you are a million miles away from it (if that makes sense)

Wireless Internet was Free of Charge which was a bonus.

We will be coming back here for sure. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

I know we all have differing standards, and perhaps we went along with our expectations too high due to the consistently great reviews, but we would like to comment on how we found it.

Room very compact. Too much furniture.

Mattress very poor quality (you could feel each spring)

No mattress protector and the sheets so translucent that the pattern of the mattress visbile through it. To be honest I didn't really want to get in the bed!

Inferior quality pillows and duvet (foam and hollowfibre). Also think duvet not terribly high tog rating - we were cold! (no spare blankets or bed covers).

Room cold as the radiator (which wasn't even on when we arrived depsite only being 4 degrees outside!) is tucked behind wardrobe.

Whilst anything eye level and below was lovely and clean, the light fitting, ceiling and extractor fan in ensuite caked in cobwebs and dust.

Shower lukewarm at best and not terribly good water pressure. I was pleased I didn't
need to wash my hair that day.

Towels are provided but really they have seen better days

POSITIVES
Great directions very easy to find.

Lovely quiet location.

Rooms dotted around the garden and lots of garden seating - in the summer it must be lovely to sit out listening to the sound of the water feature in the pond.

Lovely welcoming breakfast room with background music (huge plus in my book!) Choice of cereals, yoghurt, juices and fresh fruit salad. However, you're simply asked if you want an english breakfast, which would be fine - but it is HUGE! 3 bacon, 2 sausage, 2 egg, 2 hash brown, toms, beans and mushrooms. If you have an average appetite then ask for just one of everything. There must be an immense amount of wasteage which really isn't necessary - it would be much better if you could choose which items you would like and how many.

Although you are asked what time you would like your breakfast it is apparent that anything later 08.30 is frowned upon.

The transfers to/from pub/NEC etc are fantastic.

Whilst we personally wouldn't stay again, if you enjoy a quiet location and a hearty breakfast then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CromerMaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We stayed for one night in November to see a concert. The pick up service included was great, the log cabin in the grounds was snug, cosy and well decorated. The breakfasts were fabulous, a wonderful choice of continental and cooked breakfasts. The service and hospitality from Mr and Mrs Whiteman was faultless!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed for two nights at the Redlands when we visited the Classic Car Show at the NEC. We chose it because it is close to the venue, has parking and part of the service is transport to and from the NEC. We also liked the idea of staying in a garden cabin rather than a huge modern hotel. We were absolutely delighted with our choice and would certainly stay there again - as well as the NEC it is a great base from which to explore the whole area and would be just perfect for a group of friends or business colleagues. Our en suite room was lovely, warm and comfortable - microwave, tv, hairdryer, kettle and fridge. Breakfast was excellent. As well as taking us to the NEC and collecting us from there in the evening our host also drove us to a local pub for our supper and collected us on our first evening - very welcome indeed. In the evening we sat outside our cabin watching owls in the trees and although you can hear the road and the planes it really does feel as if you are in the countryside. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herald-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

As a B&B owner with good reviews (check out Albany House Isle of Man) we know how valuable trip advisor is in letting people know about good places to stay. The Redlands lives up to everything that has been previously written and so much more that hasn't, you really need to go and experience the 1st class service you receive. We found the location from the excellent instructions on the website, the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the bedding good quality. The surprise was the microwave, the toaster, plates and glasses together with the tea tray, oh and the fridge! This is a B&B but with all these added extra's which I'm sure come in handy for the regular business traveller who doesn't always want to eat out. For those who do want to eat out, don't worry there is a wonderful pub which Phil will kindly without any hassles drop you at and then when you're ready will come and collect you. Their shuttle service to the NEC is FREE and part of the accommodation package, last year we stayed in a Hotel near the NEC and the taxi to and from was £6 a trip so you're saving on taxi's and not paying hotel rates, but let me assure you now that you're getting a much better room. As to the breakfast, the cooked breakfast was massive, but Yvonne will cook you what you want. So please don't miss out, book at Redlands for your next visit to the NEC. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I can only endorse what others have already written, and the real delight is the superb but unobtrusive hospitality provided by Yvonne and Phil.

If I am going to be critical of anything it would be the supplementary charge for WiFi access: especially given that they go out of their way in so many other ways. Why the supplement?

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScreenNameforPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

I have stayed with Phil and Yvonne for 3 years whilst visiting Miniatura at the NEC They are incredible! Extrememly warm and welcoming people, excellent accomodation breakfast has to be seen to be believed! I wont stay anywhere else whilst in that area. I have recommended them to many people and the result is always the same -incredulity at the chalet rooms ( all fully equipped with fridge ,microwave,toaster,kettle,cutlery,crockery each room is individually designed, you will be missing out on something very special if you dont go.

Maggie Parks

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickenhill
0.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.4 mi away
Church Farm Accommodation
Church Farm Accommodation
#1 of 3 in Bickenhill
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redlands Guest House

Address: Redlands Church Lane, Bickenhill, Solihull B92 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Bickenhill
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bickenhill
Price Range: £75 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redlands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Redlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redlands Guest House Bickenhill, Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing