We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gildersome
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey channel,islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our third stay at the Woodlands and sadly whilst the service in the restaurant and the bar was up to standard there was no wifi and no working telephones in the rooms. We had booked at short notice and no mention of this had been made at the time despite this being known. We needed the wifi for work purposes and were forced to go to another hotel. Whilst the staff were apologetic every assurance that the wifi was no working proved to be incorrect and a promise for the manager to call and discuss the problems with us never materialised. All in all very disappointing stay which has left us with a lasting poor impression. My recommendation is to give the hotel a wide berth unless you have specific confirmation from them of the basics you require and even then treat any confirmations with healthy scepticism.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    117
    37
    23
    13
See reviews for
97
166
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our third visit to Woodlands over a period of 8 years and it did not disappoint. We stayed at the hotel midweek. The restaurant served the best hand cut chips we have ever had and the rest of the evening meal was very good. Breakfast was a full Yorkshire (other options ie for continental etc were available). We were upgraded to a deluxe double, room 6, a strangely shaped but well-spaced room. Bathroom was a bit small but it had a lovely whirlpool bath which worked perfectly. The bottom shower seal could have done with a good bleaching and scrub but everything else was clean. The bed was standard double with comfortable bedding and decent pillows. The room was very warm even with windows open but a fan was provided in the room. Our only issue was the intermittent wi-fi which did not reach to our room. This meant I could not do important work in the evening and had to do it down in reception where wi-fi signal was stronger. All in all, a good stay in a solid hotel with attentive staff. Thank you.

Room Tip: Email in advance to check suitability for you personal requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaghetti007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Attended a wedding reception. Very nice quiet location, just out of the city with good road links.
Staff worked very hard to ensure that everything ran smoothly. I had the soup starter followed by the roast beef dinner, the food was freshly cooked and tasty, the portions were adequate but only because several hours later we would be attending the buffet at the same venue. As for the buffet it was on the hole fine. Some of my fellow guests commented that the drinks were a little bit on the expensive side. I have just one minor grumble, the evenings entertainment and buffet were held in the marquee, it was unusually cold for June, I was sat at a table near one of the fire exits with my back to the fire escape doors. The doors were left open so that the people that smoke could pop outside. After a while I felt distinctively chilly. Overall though a very enjoyable experience in very nice surroundings.

Room Tip: Book early, especially if you are attending a wedding reception. We tried to book rooms 6 months bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escallops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in my room number 4 was absolutely fantastic, not only was my room enormous with the most comfortable bed but I also had a beautiful bathroom with the most powerful shower and also a jacuzzi bath. Then I found another room that was a separate dressing room, luxury. We stayed there as part of a large wedding group and the day was perfect made so by the friendly helpful staff. The food was so good and service was great. This hotel is the perfect venue for a wedding set in beautiful grounds, or the perfect place for a relaxing weekend of luxury .

Room Tip: Ask for room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leannef859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My daughter and new son in law recently got married here and it was a perfect venue .

It was a beautiful day and everything ran smoothly thanks to Lauren and Nigel. The staff were wonderful and very attentive.

The weather was warm and sunny so the guests were able to utilize the lovely garden and outdoor spaces too .

Our room was absolutely lovely ( Damask room 3 ) with tasteful decoration and an amazing bathroom......just beautiful.

The wedding meal was really good and breakfast the next morning was exceptionally good.

I can highly recommend this lovely hotel and would like to thank all the staff for making this a really special event .

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor had an outside seating area, an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Me and my husband got married on 14th June 2014 and every guest that I've spoke to since has said it was the best wedding they've ever been to. The hotel has various different areas that our guests were able utilise but still small enough for it to feel intimate.

Lauren and Nigel we're fantastic at ensuring everything ran smoothly and thanks to them I was able to really enjoy the day instead of worrying about the order of things. I think I enjoyed it a bit too much, and made use of both bar areas, ha!

Everything I requested of the hotel was accommodated, whether this was playing beer pong or having the World Cup game on at 11pm for our guests. I can't recommend the woodlands and their staff enough! It was fantastic and I'm gutted that it's all over!!!!

All of the rooms were gorgeous, the breakfast was amazing, I want to do it all over again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had our son and daughter_in_laws wedding on 24,5,14, absolutely fabulous from start to finish
would highly recommend, the food was outstanding ,the staff were very helpful, the hotel was spotless, just what you need on such a special day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipster1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gildersome
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,153 reviews
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel Leeds

Property: Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Address: 79 Gelderd Road, Gildersome, Leeds LS27 7LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Gildersome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gildersome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is a stylish contemporary hotel and restaurant set in beautiful landscaped grounds. Consisting of 23 individually designed bedrooms, alongside a popular restaurant and bar and a range of beautiful bespoke meeting rooms and private dining rooms. The hotel is only 3 miles from the vibrant cosmopolitan city centre of Leeds with its superb nightlife, unrivaled shopping and easy access to all motorway links. The entire building can be hired for exclusive use parties and celebrations and whether you visit with friends and colleagues or arrive alone you will enjoy the chic yet comfortable atmosphere of this excellent luxury hotel. Woodlands also offer Free WiFi Internet in all bedrooms and public areas with no restrictions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Leeds Gildersome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing