We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing exceptional - rather dull place to spend one night of my life” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Leeds North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds North
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Cheshire
Level Contributor
225 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nothing exceptional - rather dull place to spend one night of my life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We didn't get to use the pool. The family room was ok. The wifi was free. Breakfast not served until 8 am which is a downer if you have to leave early! I would recommend it for a stop over except for the breakfast time. I mean, why can't they open it a bit earlier?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caustonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    616
    530
    291
    178
See reviews for
421
784
86
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

ive stayed here a few times on my visits to leeds and the quality is always good. Rooms are comfortable, food is good and the service is top notch. The staff are friendly and seem to go out of their way to help. Its just outside the city centre but not too far, location is perfect

Room Tip: i prefer as high as possible (better views ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asilver33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

On arriving the reception were excellent. Polite and friendly. The area was drab and in need of re carpeting though. Bedroom was clean but not enough pillows and no spare in the cupboard. Pool was clean and refreshing. Breakfast was overcooked and disappointing. Overall £89 for a family room was a bit much really

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Rooms were comfortable although a little tired. The food was nice, good Internet access and the Gym is the real plus for this venue, guests can do classes and great facilities. Would stay again if I needed to be by airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It fit the requirements for an overnight stay for business, but I really wouldn't choose it personally.

PROS:
- Free WiFi - not very strong in the rooms, but okay
- Hot breakfast
- Friendly staff
- Starbuck in house
- Towel warmer in the bathroom

CONS:
- I got to breakfast a half hour after opening time and all the fruit had already been picked through!
- No A/C!! You have to open your window and use the tiny little desk fan that is in the room. I'm glad it wasn't too hot, but it was a bit muggy
- The place is like a labyrinth and not very handicap friendly. If you have large bags or many of them, don't expect to get to your room very easily! It took me three trips to the front desk before I stopped getting lost to and from my room! The signs are very confusing on how to get around. I had to go up and down three different staircases and two elevators to get to and from my room!
- The bar has TERRIBLE service. It is fine if you are near the bar itself and are only ordering drinks. Not so much when you are sitting at a table. The food was not that good, and it literally took over an hour (over an hour and a half, actually) for us to get our food! At least it was still hot when we got it, but it makes wonder when they got our order. We must have had a different chef than some of the other reviewers. It was not too crowded when we sat down, but by the time we got our food, it was packed and it was well past our bed time!

The people are very nice, but not really convenient for a weary traveler!

Room Tip: I wish I could tell you which rooms are good - just try to get one that doesn't require you to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divegirl122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Headingley hotels

Cumbria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and usually have no complaints, this is the first time I have stayed since I joined trip advisor. As normal the staff were lovely, friendly and efficient. When we walked in the room it was so hot and here was no fan. The room was clean apart from a bit of mould in the tiles in the bathroom. The bed was uncomfortable and seemed to sink where the pillows were! Also when we got back to the room after going to the rugby match I sat on the bed leaning against the headboard to watch tv the bed rolled away leaving a gap! However this did not happen when we were asleep. We were at the front of the hotel and we could hear people shouting, laughing and screaming outside until the early hours as unfortunately we couldn't shut the window due to how hot the room was. Breakfast was lovely and have no complaints at all.
I would deffinatley stay here again as I know this not so good stay is just a one off!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xmisssunshinex89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Paid £90 for B and B on a deal when staying for a wedding.

The room was shabby and needed to be modernised. There was no air conditioning, and it was stuffy - I'm glad we didn't stay here during the heat wave!

The spa, however, was excellent.

Overall, this hotel is overpriced, and even though it looks modern on the outside, it is very dated inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T1tch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
6.9 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds South
0.3 mi away
Weetwood Hall
Weetwood Hall
#28 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
7.2 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#45 of 87 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Leeds
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#15 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds North

Property: Village Hotel Leeds North
Address: Hotel Leeds North 186 Otley Road | Headingly, Headingley, Leeds LS16 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds North is situated only a short drive from the city centre and 3 miles from the train station. Leeds is an all-round vibrant city and offers the perfect base to explore some of the best theatres, music and shopping in the country. You will also be drawn to attractions out of town, like the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Village Hotel Leeds North has 134 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Leeds North
Village Hotel And Leisure Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds North Headingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing