We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time and it hasn't improved!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds North
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd time and it hasn't improved!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We came here when it first opened, the food wasn't value for money, the service was bad but we put this down to teething problems. We came back 6 months later and things haven't improved, service was bad, expensive and poor quality of food/ cooking, how can you cook a £13.50 burger wrong! Would not return if it wasn't for the fact it was attached to the hotel we were staying in.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freakybabe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    657
    557
    311
    187
See reviews for
460
852
93
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Booked a 2 night deal through the de Vere site with dinner on the first night - 2 couples looking for a pre Christmas weekend away. Conscious of the parties likely to be going on we asked for & got 2 quiet rooms on the first floor (rooms 178 & 179). Rooms were very spacious with king sized beds - very comfortable although can be a bit warm! Breakfast was first class - no faults at all - hot, tasty & the staff although young were first class - very attentive without getting in the way. Dinner was off the Christmas menu - not out of this world but hot & very enjoyable. Plenty going on in the hotel however didn't find all the party activities a problem at all. Didn't use the pool but it looked very inviting. Used the local bus service to get to & from Leeds centre - request a friends & family ticket that allows 5 people a return trip for a total of £7.80. Very pleased with this hotel & would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Watch the bar prices - hotel charges can catch you out - for example a medium sauvignon blanc cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilLDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Used booking.com to reserve room in this hotel and asked for a room in a quiet part of the hotel! Well room 228 was at the front of the hotel directly above the bar and external smoking area. What made matters worse was that the hotel had organised a Christmas function which went on until 3 am. The noise with people chatting, arguing etc etc was unbelievable and had it beemn a premier inn we would not have had to pay!

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep ask for a room away from the bar, function room and lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

First of all I should say that for the price we paid for the room we can't really complain much.....but the room wasn't of the standard I would expect from a Village hotel.
We stayed in room 214, a standard room. The room, and especially the bathroom, were incredibly dated (see photos). One of the towels had a gaping hole in it. When I got in the shower on the first morning, the shower gel dispenser was completely empty. I took the empty pouch out and left it on the side of the bath so the maid would know it needed replacing. She removed the empty pouch but didn't replace it! So no shower gel at all for two days (there were no other toiletries provided). Having said this, the room was fairly clean, the staff were lovely and the breakfast was good. The rooms just need bringing up to the standard of the reception and restaurant areas.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocketqueen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here n October for few days. Friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant food was amazing but not so keen on the bar food. Room cleaned every day fresh towels also. Only disappointment was ones using the gym, pool etc... facilities should have a separate door to enter too many people coming and going plus taking up alot of the seats.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as hubby on business in the area. Room a very good size for a standard hotel room, great sofa/seating bit & desk. Excellent wi-fi (which was very important for us both). Good en-suite. Breakfast actually for a hotel of this sort was quite good...fresh fruits, compotes, yoghurts, pastry & a cooked selection that was all (apart from the scrambled egg) really good. Bread for toast could be better but hey ho the pots of coffee made it up for that! Evening food a little mixed....Vintage Pub has changed since the last time we'd eaten there and after two nights we went to Vinny & Vito instead...not completely sure about what they are trying to achieve there but the Help Your Self Table was good. Reception desk staff very helpful and efficient...however issue with the shaver charger reported to House Keeping was not fixed. Quite nice having a Starbucks on the premises but there was a great independent cafe over the road that did much better coffee so went there late afternoon instead. If we need to stay in North Leeds again I'd book there no doubt

Room Tip: Our room 181 seemed to be quite a distance/route march from the stairs/lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

At last ! Everything all in one place, decent coffee, a nice meal, a spa and great health club. I've stayed a couple of times as a hotel guest in the chain at Elstree and Cardiff. Both great, the pool area is particularly good, a proper 25m pool where you can swim! The breakfast was as good as I've had anywhere. I'd highly recommend, well worth the bit extra cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
7.0 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds South
0.3 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
7.2 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#49 of 87 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Leeds
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds North

Property: Village Hotel Leeds North
Address: Hotel Leeds North 186 Otley Road | Headingly, Headingley, Leeds LS16 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds North is situated only a short drive from the city centre and 3 miles from the train station. Leeds is an all-round vibrant city and offers the perfect base to explore some of the best theatres, music and shopping in the country. You will also be drawn to attractions out of town, like the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Village Hotel Leeds North has 134 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Leeds North
Village Hotel And Leisure Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds North Headingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing