We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for anyone wanting a lie in ! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds North
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice enough and has a great gym but the rooms are basic for the price (especially the bathrooms).

The most annoying thing was the room attendants who moved up and down the corridors slamming the room doors repeatedly for hours. When the rooms being cleaned were close to ours the slamming made our door shake and was incredibly annoying when trying to have a lie in on a weekend away. (This was all before 11am and whilst i understand they have a job to do would it be so hard to close the doors properly rather than slamming them over and over?!)

Other than that a nice break

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank amzell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7931Linda, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds North, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback
I am please to here you had a nice break & I have noted your comments regarding being woken up by the housekeeping staff, this id now being further reviewed with our Housekeeping Manager. The Team and I hope to look forward to welcoming you back to the Village Leeds North in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,354 - 2,360 of 2,825 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Village urban resort last weekend and although far from perfect, we really felt that it didn't deserve the bad press that it has had on Tripadvisor.

First the bad bits:

The other reviews are quite right that the rooms are hot and airless. Something definitely needs to be done about this. The weather was hot and close but the rooms were far more stuffy than that. To make matters worse, the hotel have thoughtfully fitted restrictors to prevent you from opening the windows by more than a crack. With a little ingenuity and the use of a Leatherman tool, we managed to overcome these. Although we were upstairs at the back of the hotel, the noise from outside went on pretty late into the Friday evening.

The place seems popular for wedding parties. We arrived during one and the atmosphere was raucous, noisy and somewhat chavvy.

Although fullsome, the organisation for breakfast lacked attention to detail. We were served tea and coffee but we had to ask for milk and glasses for juice. These are trivial in our view and not really a problem.

The hotel room telly was not well served and the picture quality was awful. They seemingly use and old UHF analogue distribution system. There were only a few TV channels available. This needs updating.

They have a surcharge of £2.50 if you use a credit card to pay the bill. This fact is hidden in the Ts and Cs on the booking form. It was not made immediately obvious.

On the plus side:

If you're a sporty type, you will be well served at this hotel. In the basement, there is a superb pool.and gym complex that is available for residents.

Generally service is friendly although it felt inefficient. Although we had to wait a few times to get attention, we did not feel that it was seriously lacking.

We had intended to stay at the nearby Weetwood Hall hotel but we chose Village Urban Resort instead on the basis of price. Having read the Treipadvisor reviews, we booked with some trepidation but were pleasantly surprised. Although far from perfect, we really felt that it did not deserve some of the bad reviews it had received.

All in all, it's a formulaic commercial hotel with a good gym and pool. It is well located in a quiet residential area on the Northern outskirts of Leeds. It is well connected with Headingley and the City Centre. Would we stay there again? Very certainly yes, probably in preference to the Weetwood Hall hotel.

Room Tip: Take a Leatherman tool to overcome the window locks and try to get an 'upper deck' room if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gastropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7931Linda, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent visit to Village Leeds North & your kind remarks.
I am please you found the Leisure Facilities superb; which are offered complimentary to our guests; and hope you will be able to take further advantage on a future stay. I am pleased that our location was well suited for you; like yourself, many of our guests do choose us based on our location and accessibility. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

here for a short conference. rooms comfortable.

they charged a £3.50 (??) or thereabouts charge for the tray you get room service meals on. do that many trays get stolen??

for all the fuss about the restaurant, it's essentially just a pizza joint. as pizza goes, it wasn't bad, but you'd expect a more varied menu from a place that aspires to this level.

when we ate in the restaurant, the staff looked lost when I tried to order a glass of wine and a coffee. it took an age to come and there clearly needed to be some sort of management intervention to work out how to charge it correctly.

the breakfast buffet was frankly, awful. I sat down at my table and tried two of the items then decided not to bother attempting the rest. i had a big day to get through and didn't want to start off on such a dodgy foundation.

i do not know whether they did the catered food but that was the cheapest and most dried out sandwiches i'd had for some time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank benscanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7931Linda, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds North, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your valuable Tripadvisor feedback; We apologise that you did not enjoy your restaurant experience, the restaurant is no longer a Italian Ninny & Vito, it’s now called Verve bar & grill with a new menu packed full of British favourites, We have reviewed your breakfast feedback; with the breakfast & kitchen team to make the Necessary changes. I hope that you will provide the Team the opportunity to provide you with a more favourable experience in the future.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I regularly use the village hotels across the country. most are equipped with Starbucks and have fantastic gyms. the only downside is there's not enough of them around the uk. The food quality is great with good serving times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SimonWN1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7931Linda, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds North, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

“Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here for almost a week for work. The staff are helpful and friendly which is great. The layout and lifts are absolutely bizarre, this is apparently due to a recent extension, even so my room was in the 200's and I had to hike from the ground floor around the building to find it. Breakfast is pretty good and again the serving staff are nice, however the coffee was awful. It was nice being able to use the gym/pool on site. My room was cleaned a few times very well and once really poorly, I think all the cleaner did was pop in and make the bed. I wouldn't be opposed to going back here (for work) however I feel like because there is a pool and an in house Starbucks, they charge above average prices for something which aside from the staff is fairly average. Also to note if you are sharing a room the sofa bed is awful to sleep on, to the point that colleagues were sleeping on mattresses on the floor. The hotel were aware of this and provided a complementary room for one night for a colleague when it became available.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7931Linda, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds North, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks, which I have shared with our staff. ”

We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.

You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we have implemented the changes with room allocation so that sofa beds are not being used and that we are redoing our bedroom signage.

We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations in all aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions in the past couple of years (our son is at Leeds Uni) and our experience has been fairly good until now... but something has gone very wrong! The first room we were booked into had a broken window with the snapped handle lying next to the window. We asked to be moved and were offered the room next door... a room we shared with a motley collection of spiders and other insects. I doubt the room has had a proper clean for months. The shower gel dispenser was empty and the hairdryer was broken. The breakfast was poor - the fruit salad was definitely past its best and the two remaining fried eggs looked like they had been sitting there for some time. The scrambled eggs were swimming in "water" and the coffee was see-through. The overall feel was that the hotel needs an urgent review of the management. When we informed the front desk we were given a voucher for £25 off our next stay, but I very much doubt we will be using it...

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front of the hotel catch the sun and are dreadfully hot in the afternoon. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busterdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7931Linda, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds North, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are disappointed to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.”

You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we have implemented the following changes to our room checking procedure so that our guest standards are met.

Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards for breakfast, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our restaurant manager.

We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have stayed here before and the spa facilities are excellent, the rooms are a good size with comfortable beds. The TV's in the room don't have much to offer other than sport channels (not even BBC News) and the picture quality was terrible so you are better going for a swim.

The layout of the hotel mean you have to be very fit to get to your room as it will involve a long trek through endless narrow corridors to find the right staircase/lift to find your room. I would recommend taking water with you for this trek as the hotel is heated to such an extent you will need to hydrate at least twice before you get to your room. But at least you won't need to warm up for the gym.

When I arrived the hotel informed me the restaurant was closed that night but the bar and room service was available. I checked out the bar but since it has large screen TVs showing Sky sports everywhere I thought I would go for room service. Unfortunately the bar and room service menu is the same and is utterly abysmal. I decided to eat out and find somewhere that had a better selection than pizza or burgers (strange given the health orientation of their business model).

Breakfast the next morning was in the restaurant which was a buffet arrangement which I don't mind but the quality of everything was very poor including the coffee and the bread for toast. You will be better going to the StarSmucks in the hotel entrance for a coffee and a cake than attempt the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRantingScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7931Linda, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds North, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

“We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.”

“You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we have implemented an area in the pub where you can change the TV channel to one of your choice. We are also redoing the bedroom signage for our guests.

Our restaurant is changing this week from Vinny and Vito to Verve with a brand new menu which has plenty of choice for our guests including healthy options.

“We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#32 of 87 in Leeds
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Leeds Centre
#33 of 87 in Leeds
1,265 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds North

Address: 186 Otley Road | Headingly, Headingley, Leeds LS16 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range: £34 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds North is situated only a short drive from the city centre and 3 miles from the train station. Leeds is an all-round vibrant city and offers the perfect base to explore some of the best theatres, music and shopping in the country. You will also be drawn to attractions out of town, like the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Village Hotel Leeds North has 134 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Leeds North
Village Hotel And Leisure Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds North Headingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing