We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“credit card rip off at village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds North
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I recently stayed at the village hotel in leeds. The room and stay in general was ok, but I had problems after checking out. When I arrived there was just £25.00 left to pay for the room (deposit had been paid) I was told I had to give credit card details for my stay, presumably for room service etc. When I left the bill was just £25.00 which I paid cash.Two days later I was at a supermarket checkout with my weekly shop and my card would not authorise payment. On further investigation I found I had enough funds in (£90.00) but available balance was only £20.00 this was because the hotel had kept a reserve of £70.00 which took a week to clear. I had no money for food until the following week. The village hotel offered no apology, explanation or compensation, in light of this I will never visit a village hotel again and urge everyone to do the same

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
Thank tommo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,619 - 2,625 of 2,677 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for my son's graduation.
Good free wi-fi, good TV with sports channels, good comfy bed
The room was basic but clean but it was terribly hot. There was no air conditioning and the windows were in a recess. They had obviously once been fixed to open only a crack but a previous guest must have been desperate enough to force the catch, so fortunately for us, we were able to open one window wide enough to get a little ventilation. Not enough though and when we turned on the electric fan (which was provided), all we succeeded in doing was circulating more hot air which just made it even hotter. Fortunately, the bed was super comfortable which was just as well as we lay sleepless on it all night. Torrential rains and gail force winds the following day made the second night marginally better. We had room 102 which was over the kitchens - maybe this was the cause?? We didn't say anything as we spent as little time in it as possible and the hotel was full so we couldn't have moved but be warned - it is HOT and there is nothing you can do about it!
The room was also very highly perfumed when we arrived. I wondered what the perfume was masking. But it was very strong and combined with the heat, made me feel as if i was being roasted in a pot pourri - not nice

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by the level of accommodation and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.Rooms are clean and well laid out. We asked for a quiet room which we seemed to get although the fan was inefficient for the size of room, so it was too hot and humid. The leisure facilities, although obviously well used, were clean and well laid out, the pool was a good size and the jacuzzi very relaxing, as were the sauna and steam room, just what we needed for a relaxing break.We did not eat in the restaurant but the sunday lunch looked good value for money and the breakfast was good with lots of choice and was well cooked , good quality and hot! All staff were pleasant and hard working. We will definately use this chain of hotels again

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piglet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

A three night stay was a very pleasant suprise. The accomodation was comfortable and the staff were excellent. What made our stay was the food! We were going to eat out but the food in the bar area and restaurant was 5 star in a three star hotel. There was a good atmosphere in the pub and the had chef should be praised for the food presentation and quaility. All the staff were professional and friendly.
Location busy but if you want to enjoy Leeds without having to be in the centre consider this hotel. A unexpected gem. Only parking could be improved but that is because it is popular.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinehurstgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Stayed on a Friday night for a late rate of £59 incl breakfast, as we were attending a Spring Ball in one of the largest function rooms. At that price it was only a little more expensive than the taxi fare to and from our home.

Our 'standard' double room was beginning to look a little dated, (particularly the bathroom), but was a decent size, clean and comfortable. At the price we paid, there were no frills, ie no biscuits (a cardinal sin!), no minibar and no aircon. There are 'superior' rooms available at higher rates. The hotel really scores on:

Convenience - it has a large car park and Headingley is midway between Leeds city centre and Leeds / Bradford airport plus Headingley has a number of good restaurants as well as the Rugby and Cricket grounds.
Amenities - there is a good pool and gym which lift the hotel above the others available at similar late rates.
Value - again for the rate paid, it was hard to fault the accommodation or service, the breakfast buffet was as good as any of the city's 4 star hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

This was the ideal location for a weekend family get-together in Yorkshire. The combination of comfortable rooms, great breakfasts and superb leisure facilities made it excellent value for money. We only wish we'd had more time to spend in the pool and gym. We mistakenly left a few clothes behind at the end of our stay but they were speedily returned to us free of charge - what service! We'll definitely be trying more Village Hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Situated in Headingley, very much student district of Leeds - very lively and bars and restaurants nearby if you want to get out and about. 3 or 4 regular buses take you into Leeds if you don't want to taxi for £3.20 return. Leisure facilities spot on - if you are visiting without children, avoid mornings and afternoons as quite noisy at weekend with children and swimming lessons. Also, only 4 miles from Golden Acre Park which has a nature reserve and is ideal for a family outing and free!!! Excellent facilities there including tea rooms etc..... Overall a really great stay. Rooms are nice and clean and the breakfast is great - the restaurant manager was more than helpful at getting us seated.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveandAliOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#34 of 87 in Leeds
865 reviews
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#51 of 87 in Leeds
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds North

Address: Hotel Leeds North 186 Otley Road | Headingly, Headingley, Leeds LS16 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range: £38 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds North is situated only a short drive from the city centre and 3 miles from the train station. Leeds is an all-round vibrant city and offers the perfect base to explore some of the best theatres, music and shopping in the country. You will also be drawn to attractions out of town, like the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Village Hotel Leeds North has 134 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Leeds North
Village Hotel And Leisure Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds North Headingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing