We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
167
206
83
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
206
83
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet road no lift single room four poster bed tree lined road the main hotel night porter city centre garden room separate shower lovely hotel buffet style visiting friends pubs and restaurants sunday lunch self service the location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A short break in Leeds, and having spent years up there I chose to stay in Headingley - good choice, plenty going on around and about, and loads of buses to/from the city.

The hotel is a nice building, nice reception area and adequate rooms, but our room was VERY warm all night long which was somewhat uncomfortable at times, but bearable.

We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel, as plenty of places nearby offer breakfasts at much better prices, especially if one person if only having a sausage sandwich!

Room Tip: Maybe ask if any rooms have air con, or if a fan is available if you feel the heat.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear reviewer, I am rather puzzeled at why the room should be so warm as the radiators can be easily turned off, I will investigate to see if any of the radiator valves are seized but I am not aware of this.

We do offer a good all round breakfast the usual continental dishes accompanied with the traditional english breakfast at £6.95. I think this is the best value of the day.

Thank you for this review. G.J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night in February. The deluxe room was spacious and very comfortable and the hotel also has a homely and comfortable feel to it. Shower arther feeble but otherwise room good.Good breakfast all self service dirty dishes could be removed more quickly.

We had the evening 3 course meal one night. In general it was of a very good standard with good portions. However, my husband and I had the lamb shank which we both found our portuons distinclty cool and more effort needs to be put in to heat the food through. Also we had studied the menu beforehand as our daughter is vegetarian. We then found the menu had just changed and the only veggie options contained goats cheese or mushrooms both of which lots of folk, including our daughter, don't like.Fortunatlety the restaurant still had a vegetable welolington from the old menu which our daugther thought was excellent.

We wrere visiting our daughter in university Halls of Residence andd the hotel is well situated for this.We would be very happy to stay in this hotel again but cautious about using the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 883sallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear guest, we have taken on board your comments about the food and menu. The food and plates should always be hot and a extra choice for vegetarians are being made available. Thank you. Gordon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Upon arrival we checked in to the hotel, We had booked a Deluxe Room.

We were given our key and went up to the room. When we opened the door, it was damp, Smelt funny. The King size bed was 2 single mattress put together on a base! The bedding was ripped .
The Bathroom had mould in it, and was dirty.

I went to reception and complained. I asked for my money back, because i would not expect anyone to stay in this room. It put me right off so ended up staying elsewhere.

I dont normally complain but this hotel needs to be updated, and a though deep clean carried out.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

This room in question had not been used for a while and it was cold rather than smelly. The dark mark mentioned in the bath sealant was the size of a finger nail and has now been dealt with. The room doubles as a twin or a large double which is known as a zip and link bed and not unusual with other hotels. This bedroom in question is currently in the process of being redecorated.

We asked the head house keeper from a neighbouring hotel for her honest opinion which was that this review did not represent a fair reflection on that room.

We did as stated refund the money in total without any fuss as we do not like people staying who are dissatisfied with the hotel.

G. J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

First stayed here in 2009, and it was relatively good. Unfortunately, it seems to be in decline. Found the reception staff unprofessional. One of the low points was coming back at the end of the day to find the cleaning staff had left our room door unlocked.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andez34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

We are currently under going a total refurbishment in Haley's Hotel and Bedford house, which is our annex that has already been completed. Gordon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay in Leeds at a weekend. Headingley is a vibrant area to stay and the hotel is convenient for all Headingley's facilities - including the most wonderful yarn shop, only five minutes' walk away and the wonderful Salvo's restaurant only ten minutes away - and buses into central Leeds. So there's no need to use the car, or you could stay here if travelling by train or coach. We were comfortable in a warm room with a front view over the lovely Victoria houses and gardens in Shire Oak Road.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms, but it was good to have the view over the garden. It's such a quiet location I don't imagine there's much difference where the room is.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MmeCastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you for this review. It is true that you do feel in the country yet only 5 minutes walk into Headingly centre and 10 minutes walk to the Headingly cricket and rugby ground, why not stay for a test match. Gordon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews