We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - a real treasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - a real treasure!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Haley's and we were very, very impressed. Our double room was in the annex building on the first floor and it was beautifully decorated and very spacious. It even had a king size bed. The bathroom was equally impressive, it was well decorated with bath and shower. We had 2 good nights sleep - very quiet and just the right temperature. The room had lovely high ceilings and there were 2 armchairs, good size flat screen TV and tea/coffee facilities. We had breakfast just 1 morning - it was self service and adequate; decent for the price of £6.95 but not enticing enough to get up for the 2nd morning. The location of the hotel s brilliant for Headingley - a 3 minute walk. Staff were very friendly and the reception area is very impressive. All in all, highly recommended - we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a good room when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelineroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    170
    66
    23
    16
See reviews for
108
153
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had an excellent time at Haleys Hotel for a 65th Birthday dinner on 2nd June. The food was delicious and the serving staff courteous and efficient. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and the room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was modern with bath and separate shower and plenty of hot water. The breakfast was great with a good choice of everything from cereals, yogurts, fresh croissants, fresh coffee and tea, eggs, bacon, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns and sausages and as it was served buffet style you could have as much as you wanted. The staff were polite and friendly and we would definitely stay there again. Free parking is a bonus and being close to the city centre, Headingly Cricket Ground and the University it is a great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 28 which was on the second floor (top). Very spacious, overlooking the front gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lylabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Your comments about the breakfast are better than i could have wrote myself. Look forward to you staying with us again.

Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

I wanted a hotel slightly out of the city centre as i wanted parking on site. Normally when I book a single room it's tucked away at the back of the hotel but that wasn't the case here, it was huge and bigger than a lot of double rooms I have booked. Breakfast was great and all in all if I stay in Leeds again without question I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Our four single rooms are very adequate in size which have a small double bed (4ft), we do sometimes upgrade guests if we have no singles left, i wonder if this was the case. Thank you for your review.

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding in Leeds town hall. The hotel location was perfect for this and was a welcome calm retreat after the hustle and bustle of Leeds. We stayed in the house adjacent to the main building where rooms were very grand but also very homely and welcoming. The room was a little cold but an electric heater was provided. The breakfast was the best bit, a warm and cosy but also grand looking breakfast room with everything you could imagine you could want for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaomiLilSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel recently for two nights and found it to be very nice the staff were very friendly and polite and the food very tastie and reasonably priced would certainly stay again.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cropton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for one night as we were visiting our daughter who had moved to Leeds for Uni. It was lovely. It is situated down a quiet, tree lined street and is a short walk from the very lively (especially on a Saturday night) Headingly main student area with shops, bars, coffee shops etc. Having previously stayed in a large, one of chain hotel, in the middle of Leeds we loved the homely and comfortable feel of this hotel. The fact that we could walk our daughter back to halls after our evening out was a bonus. It is brisk 30 min walk to the centre of Leeds but there are buses passing by the main road all day and into the early hours. We stayed for the carvery on Sunday lunch and it was extremely good value and very good food with extremely fresh vegetables. They had a big party in a separate room and made sure they delayed our entry into the dining room to avoid being caught up with the big party getting their meals. Our daughter who is vegetarian said it was the best vegetarian option she has ever had. We are definitely returning before our daughter leaves Halls!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Look forward to seeing you again, thanks for your good review. Regards. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East england
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have now stayed at Haleys for a number of nights. The first time was in room 7 for one night and it seemed to be still undergoing rework (mentioned elsewhere) , with holes where lights should have been and the bed was one that dropped down out of a wardrobe and therefore had no bedside tables, which I found inconvenient for cups, specs, TV remote etc. Not recommended. However on departure, the friendly receptionist explained that other rooms with more 'conventional' bed arrangements were available, and have since stayed several times in the annexe and found a much better room and intend to stay again next month.

The building is old and therefore somewhat characterful and tired, which is being addressed. For the price, I would far rather stay here than one of the large chains and is set in private grounds and therefore very quiet with plenty of parking

Reception staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the general standards were reasonable overall with only a couple of minor housekeeping issues.

The English breakfast was freshly prepared, tasty and reasonable. Overall good value for money despite room 7.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
I will look into your comments, as we do take notice of the reviews. Thank you for taking the trouble. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
1.4 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
2.7 mi away
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#45 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 6-10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haley's Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing