We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing value and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We booked to stay as a couple for just one night but, less than 24 hours before our arrival, our daughter decided to join us. "No problem" was the instant response when we rang Haley's and a third bed was provided in our huge double bedroom - it was Leeds University graduation week and there seemed to be an extra bed in several bedrooms!

The room was immaculate, the service efficient and cheerful, and the price (£62.95 for three of us, excluding breakfast) just exceptional for the overall standard. As others have said, this is not a "boutique" hotel, nor a branded bed factory, but that extremely rare find, a classic family-style hotel with modern facilities and efficiency but old-school charm and service.

We arrived late, and left early, so can't comment on the food, but otherwise this was a perfect night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandSKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
I'm glad you found us, please call back again. Thank you. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    167
    63
    23
    16
See reviews for
107
150
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I've stayed at Haley's on several occasions through work, and have always found it to be a delightful, if a little quirky, hotel.

The negative reviews speak of it being dated, and it's true that many of the mod-cons you might associate with chain hotels don't exist...for example, you have a key with a huge keyring rather than a key card, you have don't have internet in all the rooms (though excellent coverage throughout the lobby and conference rooms) and some of the decor is a little old fashioned. That said, you don't get any of the cold corporatness of the chains; I had an iron and iorning board in my room, receptionists who recognised me and there was always some staff on hand, who always did their best to help.

I was a little alarmed that, on several visits, the vegetarian options offered have included fish dishes (there's really no excuse for not understanding vegetarianism these days) but, that aside, the actual vegetarian options have always been delicious and food is, I believe, of an excellent standard. At meetings it is served in a hot buffet style, and staff have gone out of their way to accommodate our needs. The breakfast is also delicious and plentyful.

The beds have always been comfortable, the rooms a decent temperature, everything clean though, on one occasion, an older room was a bit stuffy - but then, you're staying in a beautiful old building, what does one expect? The bar closes earlier than in many hotels, but then it doesn't charge you a fortune either. Besides, the student nightlife of Headingly is less than a five minute walk, but those few metres block out any of the noise and trouble associated with it.

I've read the negative reviews of this place, and am utterly surprised at the tales of bad service...while problems do occur, I have never found the staff anything other than uberkeen to help out.

So, if you're after a corporate show, cold receptionists with fake smiles, trendy cuisine and carefully co-ordinated furniture, avoid this place like the plague. If you're after a bit of family warmth, some decent home-cooked grub, a very comfortable and clean meeting space in an amazing location, this is your number one choice.

Room Tip: The annexed rooms require you to go outside to get to reception, but are huge and delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin_cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for your review. I can't understand fish being offered as a vegetarian option. Our most popular vegetarian dish is roasted mediterranean vegetable wellington sitting on a tomato and basil sauce with a selection of fresh vegetables, we can always offer other vegetarian options on request. Thanks. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just returned from Haleys hotel. The location, room, staff and food was excellent. Great value that comes with a quality service. Thanks Haleys. Most recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lounphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
My staff always read trip advisor and feel rewarded when they read comments like this. Thank you. Regards. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We booked Haley's for my mother's 90th birthday, so we had friends and relatives arriving from all over the globe. We took over most of the hotel for the day and many people stayed over for 2/3 more nights. It was excellent. We can't praise it enough. They catered for all ages and the staff were friendly and flexible. The food was fine and the facilities were perfect.
It is a wonderful location in Headingly, close to the action, easy to get to the city centre yet quiet and calm for those of us wanting a good night's sleep. If you want trendy modern this is not it, It is traditional staff who are respectful and have good manners, good service and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deemeanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
I had to smile at a 90th birthday being close to the acrtion as you say. Thank you for your kind comments. Its always nice looking after nice people, as most of our guests are. Best wishes. Gordon. P.S. please come back for your mothers 91st birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were married at Haley's Hotel on 26th May 2012. After a relaxed first meeting with Sophie, the events co ordinator, we tailored the wedding package to suit our requirements. It is easy to tell the hotel is a family run business from the atmosphere and the attitude of staff members.
Guests booked out all the rooms in the hotel, giving us free reign of the hotel and garden which was a lovely extra, especially at breakfast the morning after the wedding.
We had sixty guests for the wedding breakfast, this was a little snug in the main room but the staff were, as always obliging and hard working. The chefs did a fantastic job of the food, the chicken and creme brule were amazing.
We were lucky with the weather so guests could make use of the outside areas while the band set up and staff turned down the room. You could bring a cover for the carpet to create a dance floor but we managed fine without one.
The resident dj, Bob played from 9pm until mid night when he had to stop with the hotel situated in a residential area. The staff did keep the bar open until 1am which gave everyone plenty of time to wind down after.
The evening buffet was a selection of carved meats and other hot savoury foods which seemed very popular with the guests.
To sum up, I would highly recommend Haley's Hotel as a wedding venue, the location is central yet set back on a leafy, quiet road. The management and staff were keen to make sure everything ran smoothly leading up to and on the day. The accommodation was comfortable and they even have a self contained flat and disabled suite which were great for guests with children.
An amazing day!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you for your review, so pleased you had a fab day, your kind comments about Sophie and the chef has been passed on and was appreciated.

Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Restaurant only for a 2 course special. Very good value and remarkably good quality food. Waiters were attentive without being obsequious

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Since taking over Haley's two and a half years ago we brought the restaurant menu and prices into the real world, we do offer value for money and the highest standards. Thank you for this review.

Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Haley's and we were very, very impressed. Our double room was in the annex building on the first floor and it was beautifully decorated and very spacious. It even had a king size bed. The bathroom was equally impressive, it was well decorated with bath and shower. We had 2 good nights sleep - very quiet and just the right temperature. The room had lovely high ceilings and there were 2 armchairs, good size flat screen TV and tea/coffee facilities. We had breakfast just 1 morning - it was self service and adequate; decent for the price of £6.95 but not enticing enough to get up for the 2nd morning. The location of the hotel s brilliant for Headingley - a 3 minute walk. Staff were very friendly and the reception area is very impressive. All in all, highly recommended - we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a good room when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelineroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Weetwood Hall
#28 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 6-10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haley's Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing