We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Boundary Hotel(Headingley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Butlers Hotel(Headingley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broomhurst Hotel(Headingley)
View Hotel
Headingley Lodge(Headingley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel(Headingley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
161
195
78
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
195
78
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet roadthe main hoteltree lined roadno liftfour poster bedsingle roomnight portergarden roomcity centreseparate showerfamily weddingbuffet stylelovely hotelbit datedsunday lunchpubs and restaurantsfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012

If you are looking for a Hotel with helpful staff, no frills, close to the activities in Leeds yet in a quiet settling then this is for you.
Stayed there last week in a single room no complaints.
Our group had a nice buffet meal.
would like to see more selection of wines.
good selection of food at Breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you for your comments our bar meals are very popular but we also offer a good selection of food on our menu at reasonable prices. Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We arrived on a wet and windy day and instantly fell in love with this hotel.We had a family room (24 I think), which had a double and two singles and was certainly big and comfortable enough for the 3 of us. The bathroom was excellent, lovely bath and separate shower, and looked like it had been refurbished. The room was quiet and the location is excellent, able to catch the bus into the city centre and leave the car at the hotel with free parking. Tired, we decided to eat in on our first night and the food was delicious and the waitress very friendly. The breakfasts were also excellent, large range to choose from including cooked options. I have to agree with other reviews that the welcoming staff were not welcoming, nor helpful with directions or other questions, but the other staff, including another person on the desk at another time, were terrific.There's no lift so luggage might be a struggle for some. The wifi was a bit unreliable, but everything else was fabulous and we found it to be good value and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Family room, 24(I think) was quiet, roomy and comfortable and surrounded by trees. Beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelpools46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Sorry to hear your comments about the welcome offered by some of our reception staff rest assured i shall be having words with them, apart from that I am glad you enoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in a 'de luxe double' (room 2) which was spacious, clean, and featured a wide-screen TV. The bathroom was small but big enough. Overall, our stay was good value at £79 per night for two with B&B (and the bonus of free parking). Didn't try the restaurant for dinner, but there was a well-stocked breakfast bar and the option of a 'full English'. We were told that the restaurant wouldn't be open on Sunday, but not that the bar would be closed as well - which came a a bit of shock after a hard day visiting relatives!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, Sunday night being one of our quietest nights you are right we do not open the restaurant, however i am sorry to hear that the receptionist on durty didn't offer to get you drinks from the bar. The night porter who takes over at 11 is authorised to serve from the bar.

Hope you come to see us again in the near future.

Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Currently lying on bed in room 5, distinctly underwhelmed by Haley's which is a real disappointment after reading some of the reviews.

In summary:-
Positives...
Great location close to Headingley's shops and restaurants etc. good links into city centre.
Very polite and helpful young barman.
Free parking.
Plenty of hot water, good water pressure.
Opening windows.

Negative...
Very abrupt and scruffy receptionist, didn't even greet us, just waited for us to speak.
Bar area very dated and very limited selection of draught, bottled beers and no cocktails etc.
Room 5 was a decent size but very dated with mismatched soft furnishings/curtains etc.
Uncomfortable bed.
Ridiculously dusty curtains, carpets and upholstery on chairs - we were sneezing within 10 minutes of arrival.
Small towels.

We would not stay here again that's for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSmiths2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

This booking was rather odd, it was booked through an agency and made by a third party.
\the details on the booking were to pay for a standard double bedroom,but requested a de-luxe room.I can only yhink the Smiths have stayed before

The receptionist made a comment on the n stem that the Smiths were rude when booking on arrival, (no love lost there). They were offered a cot for the young child but declined the offer.

As for the bar which is newly decorated (4 months ago) and all the public areas have been re-carpeted at the same time. We have three draught beersi.e. Fosters, Kronenbourg and John Smiths also a selection of bottles at draught prices, Old Speckled Hen, Bombardier, Theakstons Old Peculier, Newcastle Brown Ale and a special draught style Guinness.

In addition a choice of bottle lagers and that is not to mention 4 Whisky blends and 6 single malts, not bad for a small hotel. As for cocktails we are possibly not the best, although our barman did offer to do his best but this was turned and a bottle of cider was requested instead.

I did check the bedroom in question and found it to be clean and tidy and not dusty.

The building dates back to the 1800's and the furniture is a mix of victorian and more modern.
If you are booking for a Travellodge it could be that Haley's Hotel is not for you.

We feel that this review is misleading and unfair.

Regards
Gordon (proprieter)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We returned here with an elderly relative in May 2012 having stayed the previous November. We booked a double room and a single room for our relative which as per our request were adjacent to each other. Our relative's single room was spacious and very comfortable. Unfortunately the double room we were given was room 7 which has received less favourable reviews on here. We have to concur with other reviewers - it is not their best room and is a shame as we really like this hotel. The bed is slotted between an abundance of fitted wardrobes, and is rather small. There were still holes in the ceiling where we assume spot lights should be and the bedside lights didn't work. This room would be better served as a large single room in our opinion. However we were only there for two nights and were very busy so it didn't detract from our stay, but would have should we have been staying longer.

The breakfast was delicious and again we had the sunday carvery which we cannot fault. We would definitely stay again but would ask not to be put in room 7.

Room Tip: Room 7 isn't their best.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Room 7 is a small double and maybe we need to look at how we could make it bigger. Nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and sunday carvery. Thanks. Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews