We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Reviewed 31 October 2012

we have stayed at hayleys about six times now sometimes for 2 or 3 days. It is idealy placed to visit our daughter in Hyde Park. We love the building, the location and general warmth and cozy feeling there. However the place is a little tired. We have stayed in 4 different rooms and the furniture in all is past its use by date. On our first stay the room was adequate but very small. Next time as our daughter was also joining us we had a larger room, there were faults such as not being able to draw the curtains fully and the shower pressure and temp was very poor. despite reporting this the next time we stayed and asked for the same room nothing had been done! Again we booked the same room and things were better...except the TV came on very loud on its own at 3am! reported this at reception and low and behold it did the same again the next morning again at 3am. Wether someone set the timer as a joke i dont know but it wasnt delt wtih. Moved to another room for our last day which had a usless shower. Our last stay on 26th and 27th Oct saw us in room 7. The room is usually rented as a single and as such the bed dipped badly in the middle we had an awful nights sleep. It also had a strange wooden edge sticking out of the bottom sides (visible in the review pics) which is idealy plased to catch you foot on! Some of the paintwork needed attention. We stayed one weekend including the Sunday and after going out for a meal returned to have a drink only to be told the bar wasnt open Sunday evenings!!
The staff on our first couple of stays were fantastic, but the Girl on reception girl on our next few visits was abrupt unfriendly and unhelpful. The girl this time also had a very basic approach to customer relations. Bob who is night porter and breakfast concierge is a really nice bloke! very helpful and a fantastic tourist information centre all on his own. Breakfast is excellent!
We are likely to try another hotel we looked at now as Hayleys seem to be getting more complacent and are not bothered if you have had any problems despite being relatively frequent customers. Its a shame to have to write this, its dissapointing.

Room Tip: dont choose room 7 if your a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blokefromherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

I am sorry to hear the details about your disapointments. We are constantly updating things and have recently re-decorated and re-carpeted all the public areas. It does sound as though somebody had set the alarm system on the Tv either by mistake or to be mischeivous. Rest assured we are no complacent as you can see from our replies to Trip advisor reviews. Gordon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

My wife and I went here for our anniversary (25 years). we were very impressed with the food, both quality and quantity and the 3 course deal was really good value. In fact deinks at the bar on arrival, 3 courses, bottle wine and coffee les than £53 for us both! The staff too were friendly and efficient, though it was very quiet so they weren't tested under pressure!

A couple of tiny points that knocked the star off - the dessert cheescake supposedly came with whipped cream but it was that awful stuff from an aerosol! Why oh why in such an upper class place serve this awful chemical concoction?! The atmosphere and surroundings were good but it would have been even better if the lighting had not been so bright and maybe add a candle on the table. otherwise excellent and extremely good value!

Room Tip: We only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear your dislike of the whipped cream runny double cream can always be served as an alternative and of course at no extra cost. Gordon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We chose Haleys as our daughter is at Leeds Met and it was near to her house in Headingley. We are so glad we did as we really loved our short time there. We were given room 28 (we think!) which was one of the "turret" rooms and was spacious and quirky and had possibly the best bathroom of any hotel we have stayed in!
Friendly welcome from the receptionist and the bar man was really chatty and friendly on Saturday night. We put the drinks on our room and were dreading the bill on Sunday but they were better prices than any bar in the village!
Excellent breakfast in a nice dining room.
We love the surroundings and found the age and decor of the hotel and its neighbours really charming - we will definitely be back.
And the weekend was possibly the loveliest of the autumn for weather!

Room Tip: the "turret" rooms are spacious and attractive with an amazing bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loucarb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

It is so nice to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Thank you. Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is without a doubt the best hotel I have stayed at for many a year

Stayed here 2 nights ( 16th & 17th Oct 2012 )

Room (5) was spacious and well provisioned , staff were exceptionally polite and helpful, food was excellent. ( breakfast and dinner )

The Bad points ? Yes , no hotel is perfect --

The Iron had a broken base and would not stand upright
the TV had a feature to auto switch off all too frequently
If you want to work at the Table/desk the arm chairs do not provide the most comfortable working position
~~ but these are the only bad points I found - nothing really

One word of warning for those less mobile, this is another hotel with out a lift ( atleast I did not see one )

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

The hotel is a Grade 2 listed building and has many of the original charming features the bedrooms are situated on the first and second floor and unfortunatley does not have a lift servicing these floors. If you need a ground floor bedroom please mention when booking as these can be provided in our annex which we call Bedford House. Hope you visit us again in the near future. Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Booked this hotel as it was one of the closest to our son who is at Leeds University.

Read the great reviews and decided to book.

The hotel is in a residential area of Headingley, so quiet and relaxing.

Welcome was rather despondent ...no 'welcome' as such from the young lady. Not a huge problem to us, but might very well be to some guests.

Our room (room 6) was rather disappointing. It was in dire need of repainting and carpet cleaning, and as mentioned before the curtains at the top were covered in a layer of dust. None of these things were major, but just off putting. The rest of the hotel seemed in better shape, but the bar area is quite dark and in need of a sprucing up. The tables very rickety!

Dinner at the hotel was beautiful, and good value for a 2 or 3 course meal. The young man looking after us did a great job and was very attentive and friendly.

Breakfast was the usual fare and was pleasant enough, overseen by a lovely gentleman on a Sunday morning.

Summing up....at £69 including breakfast for two people I think it was good value, and for that reason (and the great food) we would return, but perhaps asked for an upgraded room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

I read your review with interest and take on board your comments. The majority of bedrooms at Haley's have already been re-decorated but i will look at room 6 and just see what needs to be done. Thank you for your review. Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

If you are looking for a Hotel with helpful staff, no frills, close to the activities in Leeds yet in a quiet settling then this is for you.
Stayed there last week in a single room no complaints.
Our group had a nice buffet meal.
would like to see more selection of wines.
good selection of food at Breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you for your comments our bar meals are very popular but we also offer a good selection of food on our menu at reasonable prices. Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We arrived on a wet and windy day and instantly fell in love with this hotel.We had a family room (24 I think), which had a double and two singles and was certainly big and comfortable enough for the 3 of us. The bathroom was excellent, lovely bath and separate shower, and looked like it had been refurbished. The room was quiet and the location is excellent, able to catch the bus into the city centre and leave the car at the hotel with free parking. Tired, we decided to eat in on our first night and the food was delicious and the waitress very friendly. The breakfasts were also excellent, large range to choose from including cooked options. I have to agree with other reviews that the welcoming staff were not welcoming, nor helpful with directions or other questions, but the other staff, including another person on the desk at another time, were terrific.There's no lift so luggage might be a struggle for some. The wifi was a bit unreliable, but everything else was fabulous and we found it to be good value and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Family room, 24(I think) was quiet, roomy and comfortable and surrounded by trees. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelpools46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Sorry to hear your comments about the welcome offered by some of our reception staff rest assured i shall be having words with them, apart from that I am glad you enoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#47 of 87 in Leeds
525 reviews
Headingley Lodge
#2 of 9 in Headingley
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
439 reviews
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#51 of 87 in Leeds
993 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 6-10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haley's Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing